We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review- MUST READ!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Honest Review- MUST READ!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2009

SERVICE-
I cannot fault the service we received from the hotel staff, the only place we've experienced great service in terms of a holiday. Everyone was so lovely and helpful and do believe what you read because 'they really can’t do enough for you'. The staff in the restaurants along the main strip are very nice and again I cannot fault anyone.

HOTEL/ROOM-
The room was very dark on arrival and I was quite disappointed because it was not very clean. Despite knowing how basic the rooms would be; I still didn’t quite expect it to be like that but this issue was resolved by the hotel without any fuss whatsoever. Although we were on a bed & breakfast basis it is still pretty much self catering so on those terms we both thought it would have been ideal to have cutlery in the rooms etc. The only items available were: kettle, 2 glasses, 2 cups, a spoon and a fridge (which you have to pay something like £55 Euros for 2 weeks) so there’s not even a toaster to say the least. For reference the air con will cost you approx 90euros for 2 weeks that’s if you haven’t booked through the hotel direct. Average room overall, more than happy though.

LOCATION-
The best location, plenty of supermarkets to hand, restaurants, bars and even the beach. Mini golf is just around the corner also. Beach is quite rubbish personally but that’s my own opinion, didn’t like it much although the sea water is crystal clear but also very cold. The restrictions on the beach just ruined the point of going but you have to think about the turtles. If you love the beach than go to St Nicholas beach...the water is warm and it’s a lovely beach and they also do lots of water sports there if that’s any interest to you but its a little taxi journey away.

ZANTE TOWN-
Nice place to go if you want to walk along the harbour or want to do a bit of shopping, I enjoyed it and have got nice photos from it. 8 Euros for a taxi there. A few nice places to eat here also...soo so cheap.

EXCURSIONS-
I noticed when I looked at the reviews once I had booked this holiday nobody really mentioned excursions etc so I’ll give you as much info as I can. We booked our excursions with Thomson because it seemed the safe option, which in all honesty it was. Now, Thomson did not charge too much more than the stand alone companies along the strip (and believe me there are so many to choose from-huge competition out there). The reason we did choose Thomson was because they set out on the trips way before any of those other companies, for example the shipwreck island, we set out about 9am/10am in the morning....we managed to get to the shipwreck an hour earlier than all the other boats (yes, BOATS) which meant we had it all to ourselves etc, but don’t forget to check the weather reports/updates before booking because weather determines everything.

Break down of the trips,
Shipwreck island- really nice place to visit but what you don’t see in the thousands of images is that there’s actually no sand on that island in actual fact its all stones, small and large pure white stones.....so bring decent footwear because it took me about 10 minutes to walk back to my towel from the sea =D seriously painful. Such a nice place and spot for amazing photos. Shame an hour is just not long enough, that’s the down side. You spend more time travelling.

Turtle island- In my opinion, not worth a penny unless your idea of a great day out is sitting on a boat, all day. Sooo boring and time wasting. Good point, we saw 1 turtle, which is just luck if you do. Ignore the descriptions for this trip...really not worth it, we we're told we get to see the lighthouse-we didn’t, we got told we'll have a BBQ on the beach- we didn’t. We were served up food at St Nicholas beach in the snack bar which was far from a BBQ...cold chicken, rice and extra sugary drinks. This really is an honest review don’t waste your money, we went back starving =(


WHAT THEY DONT TELL YOU-
All hotels are open to every and anyone so that means anybody can use the swimming pools, now this is great BUT when you do pay to be at the Venus hotel and you cannot get a sun lounger around the side of the pool this becomes a bit of an issue if people are using it for free. We did not go in peak season (we went in June ‘09) so I dread to think what August is like. There were other hotels to choose from when the Venus was full. I do not agree with the fact that most people at the hotel reserved sun loungers at around 8am and they were left until evening, that’s ridiculous.

PLACES TO EAT/RESTUARANTS-
You have to visit the Italian restaurant opposite Denis supermarket (called Buon Amici), the food is so fresh it’s just amazing I wanted to go every night…don’t be put off by the guy outside…he’s pushy but if I didn’t give in I would never have discovered the food. If you want Greek cuisine which of course you would, visit Michaelo’s to find the best food and amazing service. Must visit the taverna right at the end of the strip also, called ‘VAKHOS’ we discovered this place on the last day (typical) but it was the best Greek food we had on the whole island and I wish we had known about it previously, visit this place first it really is a must, such lovely people that own it. If you visit Argassi you must go to ‘peppermint’ lovely restaurant but always so busy that you have to wait for a table, worth it. It’s located off the strip down a side road opposite the church. You must try the bakery on the main Kalamaki strip, 2 min walk from the hotel....best baklava on the whole island, the ones in the restaurants just aren’t the same. If you want to try the best chocolate cake go to the time out bar just opposite Denis supermarket, we always went there for lunch because the guy was lovely and looked after us....cheap but very nice food (approx 15euros for both lunch time meals with drinks).

OVERALL-
I would rate this holiday an 8/10 on the terms that it was extremely cheap as we usually go on long haul holidays, places which always tend to be much more luxurious. Kalamaki is a very enjoyable place to spend your holiday. Recommend you avoid breakfast if you can, boring by the end of the first week because it’s the same everyday. Just not worth an early morning start especially if you can save money from it for your own benefit.

LOVED BEST-
Cheap food, cheap place to visit, the people/staff, the restaurants, the pool...list goes on.


Hope this review helps you decide on your holiday, I would agree that 90% of the reviews posted are honest and fairly accurate which is why we made our decision on this particular holiday/place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkypic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    122
    39
    3
    1
See reviews for
332
702
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Re review by JOS74 Taunton. My Husband has poor health and walks with a stick, he has absolutely no problem withe the stairs, and if he had, the lovely staff would rush to help. We are going in September for the 4th time, wouldn't stay anywhere else, hotel is spotless,food great and Nick and his staff are second to none.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safeoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonehouse scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Chose the Venus because of all the reports we had read on trip advisor. We have been to Greece many times and by 'Greek' standards this was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. NIck, who runs the Venus, his family and every memeber of staff we met were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We would return if for no other reason than to see them all again. The Hotel is ideally located and central, without being too close to the bars on the strip. There are many excellent restaurants to sample, but the best of all was the newly opened terrace at the Venus, the food here is wonderful, of a very high standard and superb value for money. We were priveleged to be their very first customers.

We tried many restaurants in the resort, the best were Stani, Heaven's Kitchen, Gastronomy {much more expensive but worth finding just past the Rainbow}. For really good home from home we would recommend YoYo.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serendipidy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead Tyne and Wear
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The Venus Hotel is immaculate and the Staff can,t do enough for you>
My wife and I stayed there in May for 14 nights.We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have already booked to go back next year.
The snackbar by the pool serves a wide range of delicious snacks at a very reasonable price.
The hotel is situated halfway between the beach and the main strip in Kalamaki which has many excellent restaurants and bars.
Laganas is only a twenty minute walk along the beach .
The hotel had a Greek night on the wednesday and entertainment on most nights.
A special Thank You (Efkaristo) to all the Staff .See you again next May.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Okay we had high expectations and I wouldn't say the stay there was unenjoyable in the least but it was nothing special.
Firstly, hats off to the staff, particularly the cleaning and waiting on staff. They work so hard and never stop. The maid came every day and spent about 20mins on each room, very dedicated and also very friendly. The breakfast was plentiful and very delicious and the ladies serving were very friendly and kept our 4 year old son entertained with lots of kisses every morning!
Great location also. Nice walk to the beach (not that any of the guests moved from the pool to go there) and all the local bars and shops just a 3 minute walk away. There is also the crazy golf just down the road which I highly recommend, especially at night when it is all lit up. Beautiful and very fun!
The pool is very small. The management have tried to accomodate everyone by squeezing sunbeds very close together but it is far too crowded. The guests put their towels on beds from about 7am when some guests don't even emerge from their rooms until 11am. Pathetic. However, there are plenty of bigger, better pools in kalamaki in other hotels which are free to use provided you don't mind the short walk there. We did this every day.
The exterior of the hotel is beautful though, especially at night and it is always very clean. Venus club members never leave the hotel but we hired a car and explored the island.

Overall a lovely holiday and a nice enough hotel. We would come back again but next time we would probably stay somewhere different perhaps more authentic and geared towards children.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EeveeHavok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venusnick, manager at Venus Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2009
New guests that arrive for the first time to our hotel have very high expectations due to our rating on trip advisor. This makes my job allot harder and we all try our best to meet those expectations.

If I can fix something that is not right I will do so in a heartbeat! I cannot expand the pool area and we cannot accommodate all guests in the hotel around the pool area due to the reason we do not have enough sunbeds.

Nevertheless we try our best to accommodate the majority but we do not “squeeze” the sun loungers in any way!
All guests that arrive in our hotel get a little flyer which states a few swimming pool rules and one of those rules say “Please do not place your towels or mattresses on the sunbeds before 8:00 am”, but some do not respect this and it causes problems.

The reason why other hotels have plenty of space around their pool area is because they are not full and it’s easy to find a sunbed. On the other hand we are always full and finding an available sunbed around 11:00 am is difficult, which in turn makes our pool area look small.

If my previous guest can find a more “authentic” hotel in Kalamaki or Zakynthos please let me know so I can look into it.

We try to give a good service based on our authentic Greek Hospitality and from what I can see the majority of guests that visit us love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Just returned from holiday at the Hotel Venus in Kalamaki.We have been to Kalamaki many times but this was the first time at the Venus.In previous years we have booked a package holiday,staying in studios,but the flights for 2009 were awful,so we decided to book the hotel and flights direct.The hotel rates were very good,but the flights were a little expensive,probably because it's a small airport with not that many flights.If the low cost airlines were to fly to Zante,then the fares may come down,however we've already booked our flights for 2010 at about £140 cheaper than last year.
The hotel was excellent,the staff were brilliant and we were up every morning for breakfast,something of a first !!!!.
By booking direct we became members of the Venus club,which gave us 10% off all purchases in the hotel,food drinks etc. The prices anyway were good.We also had a safe,fridge air conditioning and transfers thrown in. We booked for next year before we left and received a 15% discount off the cost.I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouse44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I found this hotel great, like many other reviews its spotless, has a friendly atmosphere and comfortable. It's in a great location, the bars and restaurants being two miutes away, and the beach 5min, although dont expect a large golden sand beach...
I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone, aswell as kalamaki,
The only dissapointed is that we booked through Thomson, so we didnt get the aircon, fridge and safe free, but if you book direct you do, which is fair enough, but this is a great selling point to book direct! yet not a mention on the website (maybe it is somewhere, but it should be in big bold letters!) if we knew this we would have been more inclined to book direct which im sure the hotel would prefer....
However all in all its a charming little hotel in the heart of a busy little town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rushy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Property: Venus Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing