We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We went to the Venus for 2 wks in June and it was fabulous.
Location fab,staff fab,breakfast fab everything was just fab,fab,fab.
Beach was about 10 mins away but its a nice pleasant walk with shops and bars on the way which is helpful for drinks as it was so hot.
Walked a couple of times to Laganas along the beach and when we got there we definately knew going to kalamaki was the best decision,as you get closer to Laganas the beach starts to change and its more cluttered with rubbish but baywatch bar was great with bargain beer you could go in there with 10 euro and come out a bit tipsy its great.
We went out for food every night and wanted to try different food places everynight.After reviews about mermaids wanted to try there and must say we werent too impressed but there are so many places to eat and drink there your spoilt for choiceService is generally fantastic in all places but dont eat the bread as we learnt you get charged 2 euros each and we didnt realise thought it was a nice gesture till we got the bill we soon learnt our lesson though.
If you do one thing while your there go to Venue bar and karaoke Shay the main man there is fab he kept us entertained till 2am most nights.Didnt want to come away the last night.
Crazy golf round the corner from hotel is fab too with fantastic scenery.
the hastle you got off people outside the restaurants was the only annoying part but you just tell themyou`ve already eaten and they leave you alone.
All the cocktails were yummy and try the venuss own venus flytrap there lovely but lethal so be warned hehe.
Went on 2 excursions which we booked through a lady called denise on the main strip.the waterpark is fantastic the day flew by wish we`d have gone earlier in our stay to be honest would have gone twice thne a great way to top up the tan.We did the all day cruise round the island which was unbelievable.the views were fab,the shipwreck was like a scene from a movie.the sea looked beautiful was a bit of a shock when you got in though as it is freezing and the stoney beach kinda hurts your feet but defiantely worth trying both trips and well worth the money.
overall fab place to stay hotel and resort wise will definately go back but may try booking direct next time for the bargains.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything
  • Disliked — random times of maid service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunn1eSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    114
    38
    3
    1
See reviews for
323
660
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

It's been a good few months since we visited the Venus, but i said that i'd write a review, so here it is ... booked directly with the hotel after reading that they were the no.1 rated with trip advisor in Zante - Nick the hotel manager/owner made the process nice & easy via email, paid 50% up front, then balance at the end of the holiday. As per previous threads, by booking dircect this gave us air con, fridge & safe within the room (these are chargable if accomodation arranged via travel company) Additionally, a 'venus club card' was issued which gave discounts on both all food & drink purchased within the hotel.

Complimentary pick up from the airport was arranged, no delays or additional charges - just a fast efficient service with a clean & new minibus.

The hotel is modern and clean, rooms, breakfast area, bar, outside snackbar, reception and pool are all spotless - they take great pride in this and it shows! However, the greatest asset of this hotel are it's staff - friendly, helpful & pleasant at all times. Nick seems to be the driving force behind everyone, but the staff are mostly family and long serving employees which explains why they all do a wonderful job. After a week or so, you somehow just become 'one of the family'.

Location wise, the hotel is approx 10min drive from the airport. 5mins walk one way takes you to the main strip of Kalamaki, and 10mins walk the other way is the beach. The main strip is fairly lively, good for a family - good selection of restaurants and bars, found the prices very reasonable.

Other than the usual island trips, we did book the water park for a day - booked via one of the ticket agencies on the strip (you can book most trips this way) which was worth the money. Lovely island which we saw during our stay by hiring a jeep. Cheap to hire, and easy to navigate your way round, albeit some of the roads could do with a repair!

Overall, a cracking holiday was had. Faultless weather (don't think we saw a cloud in the two weeks we were there!) Good food & drinks, nice families, helpful staff and great accomodation. Would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone considering visiting the beautiful island of Zante.

  • Liked — Service / Atmosphere / Location of the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing not to like!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank richierich888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Lovely staff, lovely hotel. lovely resort.
Just returned from a two week stay at the Hotel Venus which we found to be much better than many of the 4* Greek hotels that we have stayed at on the islands. We had fantastic weather with temps in the high 70s/ low 80s and were swimming in the sea daily. We booked direct and saved a great deal on the Tour Operators prices. The Hotel is family run and Nick is a really nice guy and very clued up. He made booking the hotel via e-mail very easy. He even met us at the airport and dropped us back for the return flight home.
The Hotel is very well run with good facilities and a very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds and a nice terrace area where you can sit with a beer or cocktail and watch the sunset over the distant mountains. Good size bedrooms which were cleaned daily with bed linen and towels changed frequently. Rooms have balconies with distant sea or pool view, Very good buffet style breakfast with wide range of hot and cold food and the bar snacks were freshly cooked, tasty and reasonably priced ( try their gyros).

Kalamaki beach is a 5 minute walk along a flat, leafy lane. A lovely quiet beach ( no noisy jet skis etc). The beach is part of a protected area where the endangered loggerhead turtles nest. As a plane bluff I really enjoyed watching the approaching aircraft flying low over the sea and making their landing at the nearby airport. Few flights and noise level is low and did not interfere with wifes reading or snoozing. Restrictions prevent night flghts and so sleep is not interrupted.
There is a good range of restaurants within a few minutes walk of Hotel and we ate at several recommended by Nick and other guests but we found Michaelos excellent and well worth the 15 minute walk. Also enjoyed home made house wine and pizzas at the Italian restaurant up the steps from the car hire. Incidently we got a really good deal for car hire at place below,
Many of the guests had stayed at the hotel many times before and from our own very good experiece we can appreciate why this is so.
There aren't many places where we have returned to but this will definitely be one, In fact my wife and I will be returning next May/June as having seen one of the baby turtles make its way to the sea we both want to see the large adults swimming in the bay.
We use Trip Advisor regularly to find good places to stay, Rarely have I found a hotel with so many positive comments. Like many other guests that we chatted to we were not disappointed, This is a really good 3* hotel in a lovely resort. Enjoy!!

Brian and Jackie, Cheddar, Somerset.

  • Liked — Eveything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackiieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

We got last-minute plane tickets for the week september/october. This is the end of the tourist season in Zakynthos. I chose The Venus hotel based on the many positive reviews here at Tripadvisor.

Everything about our reservation was taken care of by Nick. It was obvious that they appreciated that we booked directly, so we got free airconditioning (didn´t need that in the autumn), free safe box, free fridge. And a very nice room. There was some noise from the corridor and the next room - nothing serious. But I use earplugs anyway.

Kalamaki is a very nice place to stay unless you want the disco nightlife of Laganas. The Venus hotel is situated between the main road/"city" and the beach. A short walk in both directions.

The hotel is best suited for adult couples.

We found everything about this hotel to be great. The hotel is pretty and clean, breakfast is much more than we expected, there is a swimming pool (which we didn´t use - we went to the beach), a snack-bar/restaurant and a bar. Our room was nice and the shower was good. But most of all we enjoyed the friendly staff.

Almost all the guest - except us - were British. And some of the staff, too. We like being among Brits and there was a friendly atmosphere among the guests.

There are quite a lot of regular guests there, people coming back year after year. After staying there, I can see why. This was our most relaxing holiday ever - and we needed it.

  • Liked — Nice hotel - friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank erstokke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstall
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

This was our 4th stay at this Hotel and we have booked already for 2 weeks next Sept 09 - says it all really! The Hotel is very clean, rooms done every day. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is even better than last year, lots of choice. Unusual for Greece. The Pool bar/restaurant is very good, food excellent.
I do agree with Lyndylou about the sun bed situation. We too were there at the same time and to get a sun bed by the pool, you had to be up early. Likewise, I noticed towels on the beds with no one on them for most of the day.
I was very pleased to observe the new rules re lilo's and ball games in the pool. Although, at times this rule was not adhered to and the ball took over the pool!
The bars, restaurants are all very good and we were pleased to see that the prices had not gone up.
We would recommend Escape, Dias, Mermaids, Zepo's and lots more places to eat.
WE LL BE BACK ON 20TH SEPTEMBER 09 - CAN'T WAIT

  • Liked — Location cleanliness & staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire,Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

After reading the previous comment i feel i had to write something. I cannot understand how anyone could fault this hotel in any way. We stayed for 2 weeks and by far it was our best holiday to date.

We arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning and there was a friendly face waiting for us. Our room was lovely, fresh and cleaned daily. Every member of the venus team would say hello to you if not always smiled. We felt totally relaxed the whole time we were there.
I had a piece of jewellery go missing, i presumed it got caught up in the sheets. The maids found it after we checked out (which shows how thoroughly the rooms get cleaned on your departure)
We hada veiw of the gardens which was pleasant we had no noise at all.

Paying for the air con etc was expected as we had previously visited the island, and i would rather pay for it than melt in the heat that we experienced.
The breakfasts were fantastic, not what we expected at allbut better. The snakc bar was very handy and the pool was lovely.

We spent most nights of our second week at the hotelbar enjoying cocktails and the company of other guest and spiros and donna. Our favourites being the donna surprise and mojitos.
It was a sad time when it came to an end and after 2 says of returning home we have booked up for the same to weeks next year and cannot wait. Our only request would be to get the same room again (108).

  • Liked — Cannot single anything out it was all fantastic
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottKeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Although I had read the very highly reccommended reviews, I didi't imagine the hotel to be this NICE!


I can honestly say that the Venus is most definately, most probably the nicest hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay in.

It deserves a much better rating than 3 star.

we booked direct, such an easy proccess, the manager, Nick, stayed in touch throughout the whole proccess, ensuring we had everything we needed ready for when we got there.

We were greeted at the airport, and instantly taken to the hotle in a nice cool, airconditioned, clean mini bus, by the manager, Nick. then shown to our room, the heaviest of our bags taken for us, as we had a young child also, in a buggy.

waiting for us in our room with its own private, enclosed Garden and outside shower, was a nice bottle of red wine.

The staff were more than helpful, always polite and courteous, the maid even re sheduled her cleaning duties, which were daily, around our sons afternoon naps!!!

Clean rooms, clean beds every day, and towels also if needed.

Breakfast is buffet style, and endless, it catered for everyone, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns, boiled eggs, croissants, cakes, pancakes, toast, cold meats, cheese, numerous cereals and juices. everything always clean and tidy, no mess, no fuss, no body hasselling you or encrouching your space.

The pool area spotless clean, pool regularly checked throughout the day, always plenty of sunbeds, plenty of shaded areas if the sun gets too much. Main pool is 18" deep at one end, gradually getting to 5'6" at other. plenty of steps to get in. Kids pool is approx 15" deed all over, with small kidde steps into it.

Pool bar is fantatsic, adjoined to main hotel bar, cooking fresh food all day, everyday, serving nice cold beers and drinks., either paid in cash, or booked to the room. Drinks very good price, considering they only use the original drinks, not watered down or cheap immitation drinks, poured into expensive name bottles like most of the other pubs/ hotels.

We booked our flights Though XL.com, who went into administartion whilst out there in Zante...
THE VENUS STAFF WERE GREAT..... they helped us with all the phone numbers we needed, took us to the airport, nick the Manager, even checked on us whilst in the aiport to ensure we were ok, telling us we could have our room for as long as it takes, should we be unable to get off the Island. We cannot thank them all enough.

The beach is very nice, very clean and very warm waters, safe. our 20month old son could walk out over 200ft before it got too deep. there is a small shop there selling drinks, snacks and papers etc.

The area around the hotel is fine, all level, not picturesque, but clean, not very noisey at all, within 200 yards are a pub, a restraunt, vehicle hire, super market. all quiet past 9pm, apart from pub which can go on till midnight, but we didnt hear it much, our son slept through most noise. 5 min walk away is main street of town, full of shops, bubs, tavernas etc.

  • Liked — everything, start to finnish, will be back, definatley!!!
  • Disliked — had to come home
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bolderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#22 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Property: Venus Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing