We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked this hotel based entirely upon Tripadvisor reviews and were not dissapointed.

The hotel is roughly 10 minutes drive from the airport which saves on time spent crammed in a coach. Situated a couple of minutes walsk off the main Kalamaki "strip", the hotel is one of two on the road leading to the beach. The entrance to the hotel leads you past the pool which is spotless and a good size. The reception area is welcoming and contains the bar/coctail bar. We were greeted, had the facilities explained and were then helped with our bags to our room at the rear of the hotel.
The hotel room was a good size (king sized bed & travel cot (as requested)), TV, fridge, dressing table, 2 side tables and lamps and a bathroom containing a shower/bath. The bathroom was a bit dimly lit - this was the sole downpoint of the hotel (so not too bad!). The balcony was a good size and looked up towards the "strip" and surrounding moutains.
As we arrived at the very beginning of the season the room was a bit too cool of an evening but air conditiong can be paid for (if you havent booked with the hotel directly, the air-cpon, fridge & safe are optional extras with associated cost). As we got towards the end of the holiday, we were glad we had a room at the back to be honest (as other reviewers have stated).
We stayed on a B&B basis, breakfast was served between 8 -10am everday and had a good selection of cereal, cooked food (bacon/sausages), breads, yoghurt, fruit (selection expanded throughout the week), pancakes, meats, cheeses etc etc. The staff would make other things for you on request (omelette/fried egg etc).
My wife and I also tried the hotel restaurant on one occassion and were more than impressed with the food.
The pool, as stated, was maintained to perfection. Slightly cold at the beginning of our week but a lot warmer on the last few days. Plenty of sunbeds and shades are available and the pool bar/cafe is open all day.
Maid service was great, towels changed every day (if needed) and any issues were dealt with promptly. 2 members of our party had an issue with the extractor fan and it was changed within the day - couldnt ask for much more.
The hotel is about 5-10 minutesd walk from the beach. The beach is not developed (i.e. not a lot to do) however does provide a good view of the mountains etc. As stated, the "stip" is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel and contains every restaurant you will ever need. We tried several and settled on 4 (The Olive Tree, Essence (brilliant!), Zakanoh (newly taken over - the ranking on trip advisor is based on the "old" Zakanoh) and Parthenon (best Duros we could find).

We also tried the hotels cocktail bar on several occassions. The house wine (red) was lovely, the drinks selectionw as large as was the cocktail menu. Again, very pleasant, welcoming staff. They couldnt do enough for myself, my wife or my 7 month old son. The vast majority of people at the hotel were repeat visitors which says it all really!

In summary, the hotel was clea, comfortable, welcoming & friendly. We are already looking to return in September!

Room Tip: Pick a room at the rear of the hotel if travelling mid-season. The rooms at the front have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    111
    37
    3
    1
See reviews for
322
652
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Top stay would recommend! Bonus points included excellent staff they are really friendly and we were always greeted with a smile and greeting. Housekeeping excellent-rooms are cleaned every day and cleanliness really good. Nice to have a kettle & fridge in the room -we stayed b&b and it was really nice-great food and service.
The hotel is set back from the main strip but within a 2 second walk of a supermarket and tavernas. The main strip is only up the road if you wanted more action but it means you don't get a lot of noise. 5 minute walk to the local beach.
Only downsides were no sun on balcony and we had a front view room-I'm sure if you get in touch with the hotel and request a view of the mountains you would get a spectacular view.
We arent really joiners so chose to hire a car and explore most of the week which was beautiful. If you arent as antisocial as us there was a good bar and pool with activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains or overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gamecatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very nice, myself and my boyfriend spend a lot of time out of hotel. The only thing was the room we got was average. We could hear dogs barking a lot, obviously not the hotels fault. But great service and value for money. Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jill_2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Did I like this hotel ....yes.. was the pool nice and kept clean...yes exceptionally so...staff are fantastic, especially the young man at lunch and dinner who was very very hard working..so what is the problem, I would say the repeat guests, majority of guests very friendly, but on occassion, some of the old regulars were not approachable and if you tried to strike up conversations at the bar, it would fall on deaf ears. Thank heavens for the nice guys. Not a lot to do in zante except chill and sunbathe...however if you want to do a turtle boat trip, walk down the main strip and on the right is a place doing trips on a very futuristic boat, nice guy runs it, and trip was excellent. Boat was amazing. Please try this hotel, they cant do enough for your, just watch out for some of the Brits that are unhappy you have found this lovely hotel. The secrets out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yarramaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

These ratings for the amazing Hotel Venus do not lie!!

The exceptional service and friendliness received from all the family and staff are what sets it apart from any other holiday destination we've ever been to, and we are still well travelled throughout Europe.

So it is with great excitement we await to return in June for our 9th visit!!

That said, I guess it all depends on what type of holiday each of us seek, because 5 star luxury it ain't !!
This is a pure and honest, heart warming, welcoming hotel which has a special ingredient you have to experience to appreciate. And set in lovely Kalamaki, Zakynthos is an added bonus!

So glad we found this gem of a place!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Just ask for your personal preference and you will get what you want if possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cnkluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in kalamaki, and what a lovely time we had, even to say we are thinking of going back again this year for 10 nights. The hotel was very welcoming, always had someone on hand if you needed anything, it's in a good location, with a small walk to the beach, and a short walk to the night life, but well away from all the noise. A*****

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Joe_2014121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here as a group over celebrating a wedding. The hotel was great and really looked after us at every point of our stay. The staff were great, friendly and obliging. Our room was comfortable with air con and everything you would expect in a holiday hotel. \breakfast was a buffet which was topped up regularly so the food was always hot and fresh. We ate twice in the hotel as a group and both meals were excellent with a great choice in food. We also ate at the snack bar and the servings were huge.

The pool was a good size but we were there at the end of the season so hotel was fairly quiet. It may get a bit busy in the high season.

All in all a nice hotel and a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joeparker1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Property: Venus Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing