We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this great hotel and have nothing but good to say about it. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home, with all the staff making us feel really welcome. We booked with Thomas Cook last October for a great price and were quite concerned by other reviewers who felt that the high number of direct booking holiday makers were given better treatment than those of us on a package deal. If you also have this concern I can assure you it doesn't happen. We were given the quiet room we requested and no aspect of the service was any different. Yes, we had to pay an extra 185 euros for the air con, safe and fridge (this is included if you book direct) but we knew this before we went. Our room was a triple and was fairly spacious and airy, nicely decorated and very clean. The maid did a great job every day and towels and bedding were changed just about every other day. Breakfast was very good with a choice of cereals, breads, cakes, hams and cheese. There was also scrambled eggs, bacon etc if you wanted a cooked meal (at no extra cost). The pool is excellent , although we did find the layout of the sun-beds to be a bit cramped at the one end of the pool area. However, there were plenty of beds and rarely did we find it difficult to get one. The poolside snack-bar serves food and drink all day and the prices are fairly reasonable, and the quality very good. Evening entertainment is available most nights (Greek night, bingo, karaoke etc). We spent most evenings in the numerous bars and tavernas in Kalamaki, but the events we did attend in the hotel bar were very good. Overall, we would rate this hotel as excellent and we will definitely use it when we holiday in Kalamaki again (hopefully next year!)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sharpie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2008

we had a bril time at the venus hotel, nick and his staff very great and nothing was to much trouble for them.the rooms were very clean , and the pool area was fab you didnt have to put towles on beds to reserve them which is a bonus. breakfast was the best we have had abroad. will be going back next year. well done nick and staff at the venus hotel

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank solihulljed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We have just returned from our first ever visit to the Venus Hotel, we booked through Thomsons for 10 days but would definately book direct next time. Having read all the reviews before booking we were dubious that the Venus could really live up to all the excellent comments from previous visitors however we were certainly not disappointed. We were allocated a room which was very nice but slightly tight on space for the 3 of us, I asked if we could move and within 2 days we were given a wider room in a quieter part of the hotel. The buffet breakfast was superb, always a full selection and the ladies were always stocking up before things ran out. The snack bar has a great selection of food, and the whole hotel is immaculately clean, thanks to the fab cleaners. As we forgot to write in the visitors book before leaving we would like to thank Nick for his professionalism and for arranging us a room to shower in before leaving at 6pm, The reception staff for all their help, Spiros, Danny & Donna for great evenings around the bar, our lovely cleaner and all the staff and guests who contributed to a great holiday. Our son Jim said it was his best holiday ever. The Chapman Ricketts family.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PooleWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Just returned from our holiday at the Venus for the third time. We had a great holiday there. Nick and the team are so friendly and they all remembers us from our previous two holidays there. The hotel has had a fantastic make over since our stay there two years ago. New bar, extended dining room and the rooms have been upgraded. The power shower is a welcome addition to the room facilities. Breakfast was good so much choice, and the waitresses Maria and Violetta are so pleasant with a smile for everybody in the morning. Louisa and Mary on reception we very friendly always found time to speak to you even though they were very busy, ensuring that the guests need were always met. A wide variety of meal at the pool bar were always served freshly made and always to a high standard. Pleanty of sunbeds available by the pool and always cleaned ready for use in the morning. The pool was very well maintained and very clean. Various activities were available at night - quiz night, bingo, disco night and a Greek night with barbeque and Greek dancers. Bar staff were great Spiro Donna and Danny were alway chatting to customer and even though they work long hours were alway cheerful. The hotel is ideally situated not far from the beach and also the restaurants and bars. All in all a very good choice of hotel and I would recommend it to anyone who wants an enjoyable holiday. Will definately return in the future

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nina_turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Returned to the Venus Hotel for the third time and found that it had undergone an extensive refurbishment. In our honest opinion it wasn't needed.

The venus hotel would out shine other five star hotels that we have stayed at in other resorts in Zakinthos in the past.

Once at the Venus you find yourself part of one large happy family. You will be warmly welcomed by Nick and his staff, fed and watered by Lynne and the poolside snack bar gang. In the evening Spiro, Donna and Denny will be happy to shake you a coctail or two or three into the wee hours.

Enjoy your stay at this highly recommended hotel, we might meet you as we have booked again for 2009.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from 10 days at the Venus Hotel, and we had a lovely time!
The hotel is a nice size, very clean and modern, and in a very good location for both the town and the beach. Kalamaki town is very small, pretty much centred around one main road (which the Venus is just a 2min walk from), and certainly not a place you'd go to for the culture/history, but the tavernas are all very good, and it has everything you need in the way of shops, a travel agent & pharmacy etc. On an evening there are plenty of bars to pass the time in, but we tended not to bother. It's not a rowdy sort of place, the hardcore stag-do types are more likely to be down the road at laganas, so kalamaki had a very pleasant laid back atmosphere.
The beach (10mins walk) is lovely, nice clean sand and not at all crowded - great for kids & snokelling because the water is very shallow for a long way out & very clear. There's not many sunbeds for hire, so head down earlish to get one, because there's no shade, expect to pay 6-7 euros.
We booked directly with the hotel back in October having read the reviews here, and it is far & away the best way to do things. We were picked up by the manager Nick at the airport who was very friendy and happy to show us to our rooms and let us know what tavernas etc were best. Although we had no cause to ask for anything in particular, Nick was a very visible presence in the hotel should we have needed anything, and the rest of the staff were polite & helpful. We saved around 140 euros by booking direct on air-con, fridge & safety deposit box, as well as getting a 'Venus Club' card which gave us 10% off all purchases at the bar which we could charge to the room. Obviously with availability it can't always be possible for people to go direct to the hotel, but I'd highly recommend it - you pay a 50% deposit thru Paypal, and I gave Nick a ring first just to check that the hotel was really there (I know - paranoid or what?!), and he was very helpful with answering my questions. The only downside is that we paid in euros - so with the recent rise in price, we paid effectively 20% more for the balance of the holiday when we got there! The savings elsewhere more than outweighed this though.
The hotel itself was very good indeed, above par by greek standards, the rooms are very clean with lots of storage space & a good bath with power shower. TV in the room had a Sky News, a music channel, and a channel that showed american stuff (house/csi etc), not that you go on hols to watch tv, but it's nice to have it. My only issue was the the bed was rock hard! Pillows were fine, the the mattress was solid. The air-con is very necessary for a comfy nights sleep, an absolute blessing!
The breakfast was ample but unexciting - it's almost like they're catering for so many different tastes that nothing is that fabulous, but everything was fresh and there was plenty of it. On the cooked side they have beans, hash brown & scrambled egg every day, and they alternate between egg-bread and greek sausages one day, and pancakes & bacon the other day. There was breads, cake, toast and croissants everyday, and greek bits as well.
The pool is lovely, a good size & not too crowded, although it is annoying that so many people come down to put their towels out at the crack of dawn - there's enough for everyone so there's really no need! The snack bar was well priced with a good variety - I can recommend the omelettes and the Gyros pitta (mmm... gyros...*drool*)! It does close at 7 though, so no good for a cheap evening meal as we thought we'd do one night. The taverna opposite the hotel 'Escape' was lovely, yummy moussaka, and there's a place called 'Milos' on the main strip that was delicious & very friendly.
The entertainment was mostly good, although it felt a little tired in places - some of the nights really need an MC to get things going a bit & drum up interest with the guests especially the 70's disco and the Greek Night. The kareoke was good fun though, and we enjoyed the quiz, and the Greek Night is worth it for the food alone - 12 euro for a grand spread of lamb on the bone, sausage, potatos, greek salad, bread & tzatziki!
I've rated the Venus just short of excellent for personal likes & dislikes more than any problem with the hotel in particular... my main issue was probably that we felt a bit like outsiders in the hotel with there only being the two of us - there were a few largish groups there (one gang of 14 girls!) who monopololise the pool a bit, and also a lot of repeat visitors, so you feel a bit when you go up to the bar as if you're interrupting their conversation with the bar staff to be served! Hee hee, maybe that's the paranoia again!
As a few people have said, I think too many excellent reviews can be damaging in a way, becuse you expect too much, but the Venus came very close to ticking all the boxes with us, and we would certainly consider returning as it was excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank philevil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

The Venus is a firs class hotel, very well run by Nick, his family and his staff. Everything is done to ensure a marvelous holiday. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and varied and the bacon is excellent. The location is central. For best value, booking direct with the hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Barry37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
768 reviews
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
587 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
2.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: $53 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing