We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“simply the best !!!!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This holiday was chosen very carefully as it was our honeymoon and we wanted it to be extra special, i contacted the hotel with a view to booking the honeymoon suite ,unfortunately the room had been already booked and we were told by the owner Nick that they would give us a lovely room suitable for a honeymoon couple and thats excactly what they did ,we were welcomed to the venus with a lovely bottle of wine and a card congratulating us on our wedding ,from the front door to reception ,to bar ,pool, this place is simply magic ,hospitality is second to none ,everyone ready to help in any way Do not take notice of any negative feedback you read about this hotel ,its pretty obvious that the problem seems to be people who either didnt choose their holiday carefully enough or who are never happy anyway ,the venus doesnt need those kind of customers ,when we were there 5th - 19th aug ,everyone was so friendly and all seem to be having a ball, special thanks to Andreas "olympi olympi olympiakai !!! "we loved it so much were comin back next year so please have my pina colada waiting 27th june 2013

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grace m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    115
    38
    3
    1
See reviews for
326
671
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just arrived back from my stay at the Venus. As a first-timer there I was amazed by how many people I met who were 'regulars'. I always thought that life is too short and the world too large for return holidays but I am converted....why risk an 'average' holiday when you've found somewhere that seems to not only provide excellent service but does it with such warmth. From the manager (Nick) to our wonderful chambermaid (Marina) nothing was too much trouble. As a vegetarian I was a little worried I would have to live on ice cream all week but there was plenty to choose from - I recommend the grilled vegetable and haloumi salad at the hotel.......and they make an excellent Singapore Sling at the bar! If you want the best deal, booking direct with the hotel gets you more included as 'standard'....and at this time of year the air con is bliss! I was also pleasantly surprised by the hairdryer, fridge and kettle provided - talking to people from other hotels, these certainly aren't 'standard' in many hotels in Zakynthos. Thanks to all at the Venus - I hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelensMommaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Venus 12 times over the years, firstly as a couple then as a family from 2005. If you are looking for good value for money in a nice relaxed safe environment the Venus is for you.

The rooms are adequately sized for a family of 3 with and oversized extremely comfortable double bed and a single. As a 3 star rated hotel it definitely ticks all the boxes. Nothing is too much trouble for Nick or any of the staff, they are all more than accommodating in every way. The rooms are cleaned well on a daily basis and the food served in the hotel throughout the day is of excellent standard, Breakfast has a good varied selection to cater for all tastes, the Snack Bar provides good value snacks all day and then when the sun goes down the Venus Kitchen is a lovely pool side setting for your evening meal.

The Venus Hotel & Suites is not ranked number 1 in Kalamaki without good reason!!

Looking forward to seeing you all next Summer...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samgrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Firstly The Resort of Kalamaki
This is definitley a family resort or a place for older couples. If you want the nightlife and glamour then go down the road to Laganas. We found the area perfect for what we were looking for - quiet, relaxed with an ample supply of restaurants and bars varying in what they offer.

Secondly Me
40 ish having done Ibiza in the 80's , Magaluf, Malia and Playa De Las Americas in the 90's and gradually settled into family life in the 00's so I know the difference bewtween the chaos of your first teenage holiday, lads holidays, couples holidays and family holidays - I have done them all!

So the Venus Hotel
recommended to us by friends who have been many times as we were looking for a relaxing holiday with a good friendly reputation, good quality at the right price for a family of 4 (not budget but not 5 star either). Its position was excellent being 5 minutes from the high street so even when the late bars were in full swing you couldnt hear them from the hotel. We booked direct as this includes a host of extras that the package holidays bookers get charged extra for. The room was large and spacious (family Suite), cleaned every day no matter what time you left the room and the only 'fault' was that we were next to the maids storage cupboard and we were woken some mornings although I have to say it was obvious the maids were doing there best to be quiet. We didnt mind as we didnt really want to lie in and waste the day. The toilet facilities were a little noisy but knowing Greece from previous years it was clear that this hotel provided bathroom facilities at the higher end of Greek standards.
Breakfast was better than average with a good selection, starting with a cold selection of Juice, Cereal, Fresh fruit and yoguhrt, honey, Ham and cheese, bread and pastries follwoed by a hot selection of eggs, hash brown, bacon, waffles, ham and chees toasties, baked beans toast tea and coffee with daily variations on these. Some would say 0930 was a little early to finish and indeed on the odd morning we missed a breakfast, however we were more annoyed at not getting out of bed than missing breakfast.
The pool side varied in attendance from quiet at the begining and end to packed for most days. Annoyancies such as idiots who claim beds and then leave them empty for hours did occur but this happens all over the world and I am yet to see a solution that doesnt result in a good punch up. The pool side was always clean and the selection of food at the snack bar was varied with a good selection of Greek food but with a British twist to make sure the kids didnt turn their noses up. When the poolside was busy we always opted for the beach, 15 minutes walk with crystal clear water, nearly no tide and shallow for long distances out to sea making it ideal for the kids. On one day we had some really big waves and even then it only called for a moderate level of control on the kids activities.

The bar and restaurant area was extremely friendly with most bar staff knowing you on first name terms within days. We ate in the restaurant possibly 6 out of 14 nights choosing to vary our nights by eating out more (one of the reasons I never go all inclusive). When we did eat in house the service and qulaity was excellent.

This hotel certainly gets very close to our ideal family holiday and we will certainly be returning next year. If I have complaints (more like ideas for improvement) then there would probably only be 1 - If the hotel employed a 'Kids activities' co ordinator it might encourage the kids to be a bit more independant rather than having to introduce themselves over a couple of days in the pool. It would have avoided my kids having to put up with each others company as this only ever seems to end in an argument - sisters eh!

Room Tip: We were a family suite for 2 adults and 2 kids - more expenxive but then bigger with its own small g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wookie-PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Just leaving after our third stay in as many years. The best hotel in zakynthos never mind kalamaki. From the moment you arrive until you leave nothing is too much trouble for all staff. Ignore the average reviews as I promise you you will be made to feel very welcome at the hotel. Thanks to Nick, Spiro, Andreas, Barbara, Maria and most of all Dr Pete the Missile

See you next year guys

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridgy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I organised a trip to Zakynthos for a large group of family and friends. Further to seeing such impressive reviews on Trip Advisor for the resort and this particular hotel I booked up and mentioned this to my group. The vast majority of the group were equally impressed and also based themselves at The Venus. I was so pleased that the trip was a complete success. Much of this success is due to the level of comfort, facilities and attentiveness offered at the hotel and by the staff. Our group was made up a variety of people (very young through to retired ages) and varying requirements and all enjoyed their stay. If possible try and book direct with the hotel as this will enable them to provide the full comfort options in your room w/o extra charge. I am grateful to all at the hotel who delivered a great experience for the whole party and know I will return here on future trips to the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After reading the reviews from people on here i was expecting quite alot when staying at the venus, when getting there i was slightly disappointed, it was very average definatly wouldnt rate it over a 3*. The room we stayed in was big i must say but the garden view was awful and then the sprinklers are on so soak all the things youve put out to dry and if you have the door open it will flood your room, the guests were very loud on a night all you could hear was people banging their doors all night and then could hear the staff early getting ready for breakfast. The prices of air con/safe/fridges were disgusting! And then we had to pay to keep our room on for a extra day due to flight times which cost us another 60euros! And on the last night they asked if we enjoyed it and we said no so they gave us the aircon/safe and fridge free for a night which wasnt really worth it. It was clean, the bathrooms were tiny for the size of the bedroom you had to walk in squeeze in to shut the door to get to the toilet. Breakfast was nice although i dont understand why there is only ever one toaster between all the guests. The food round the pool was average not great but eatable, but didnt eat at the hotel on a night. Most people that stay there are people that return year after year but said it was really quiet this year, i didnt enjoy staying at kalamaki at all, there was absolutely no night life i knew it was a quiet resort but all their was to do on a night was eat your dinner! The beach is preserved for the turtles and people mainly lay on their towels there are a few number of sunbeds which were always taken, the journey to st.nicolas beach for the water sports is worth it but it is half an hour away but lovely scenery on the way. Would defiantly recommend Heavens Kitchen for dinner, by far the best, ambrosia and yamas was great too, Olive tree was disgusting food and had to wait nearly a hour when it was a empty restaurant near enough. Overall Kalamaki/ Venus is great for people who just want nothing to do through the day and nothing to do on a night, but for me and my partner it was just so boring! we are not clubbers at all but just the odd show would have been enough but iam being serious when i say the bars had 2 people in and no shows, nothing. Wouldnt go back

Room Tip: Dont get a garden view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beckycraig51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venusnick, Manager at Venus Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Another situation when receiving positive feedback on two occasions and then finding out via TA that this is not the case.

We ask our entire guests after they check in if they are satisfied with their room and depending on the feedback we ask them if they want to change rooms. In this case we’ve received a positive feedback. The only thing you have to do is to ask.

On the second occasion it was upon departure and we also got a positive feedback that they had a nice time and thus this was not the case.

As for our gardens...we had two major heat waves in August and our lawn couldn’t cope with the extreme heat and as a result the grass has gone a little yellow.

On all of the travel agent brochures that sell our hotel do mention about the extra cost for the extra room facilities and before booking you can also find out the prices so it shouldn’t be a surprise when arriving. As for the extra charge to keep the room at night this comes down to the early morning flights that the tour operators arrange and this is expected as well.

I cannot control the habits of other guests and if they are not courteous enough to consider others when they are sleeping, it’s just bad manners!

Kalamaki and Greece in general and due to the bad publicity is a little quiet this year but our hotel has been very busy in August and I cannot understand on why our hotel was considered quiet when the pool area was packed?

If a potential guest likes it more lively then Lagana is the place to stay since Kalamaki is a resort for couples and families that want a nice quiet relaxing holiday.

As for the over rated comment...we try our best to give the best possible service to our guests if given the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
615 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 50 in Tsilivi
418 reviews
2.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Property: Venus Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing