We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have just returned from the Venus Hotel and can't think of a bad thing to say about it. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean and in a great location being a short walk from the main strip in Kalamaki and the beach.

We booked directly with the hotel which meant there were no hidden extras and had a lovely family suite which was ideal. Booking direct also entitles you to a discount card that allows a 10% discount on all food and drink. The pool was clean and whatever time of day we went there we never had trouble getting a sunbed.

We ate in the hotel every night and the food was varied and delicious. The snack bar is open all day and again the food was great and reasonably priced. The cocktails at the bar were amazing and actually a lot cheaper than the bars on the strip. The friendly bar staff kept everyone entertained all night whatever your age.

We cannot recommend this hotel enough and would definitely go again. We spoke to many people who keep coming back year after year. If you want a relaxing holiday this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We returned from a 2 week stay at the Venus on 8 July - yes 2 weeks ago but with nothing negative to say about the hotel I thought why rush, well actually I have been waiting for the hotel to come onto the Thomson holidays website - it is there and so we have booked for 2 weeks from 1 September - we usually go the last week in June but will be elsewhere next year.
The hotel does not let itself down on anything - yes it may only have a 3 * rating but I have been in 4*s that were nowhere near as good.A previous comment was along the lines of book it and then look at the reviews - on our visits I would say that about 50% of the guests are return visitors - that says it all. We only visited Zante for the first time in 2009 after 8 visits to Kefalonia and 18 visits to Rhodes - we have been back every year since and now think that a summer not at the Venus is not a real summer at all.
Thanks to Nick and Barbara and al of the staff in the breakfasat room,snack bar,bar and reception.So pleased that Thomson have again picked the Venus - as the alternative with Thomas Cook was a 5am flight!!
We visited Ambrosia for the first time - and went back 3 more times during our stay - free Greek dancing led by Arsene Wenger look alike. Other good restaurants we liked were Dias, Stani by the beach (the steaks are huge) and Olive Tree. Cocktails at the hotel are awesome and the food at the barbecue was one of the best meals we had this year.
Beach is a 10 minute stroll, the main strip about 2-5 minutes depending on which way you go. Stani is a 15 minute stroll and on Sundays they have a Greek night with music and dancing and always a warm welcome.
Can't wait to see the Venus approaching to the right of the plane when we land about 12.30pm on Sunday 1 September 2013.

Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred090108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Was the first holiday me and my boyfriend had been on together. Was absolutely amazing. We were made so welcome from the moment we stepped in the hotel. The staff are so lovely! The entertainment were spot on and if you want a steak that is the same size as your plate then go to BBQ night. Short walk from the beach and a 2 minute walk away from the main strip in Kalamaki. Ideal location, beautiful hotel, pool and snack bar. Amazing, friendly and pleasant staff and the added touch of Nick being there everyday. (normally you don't see the manager of hotels being as involved as he was!)

Thank you for making our stay perfect. Would recommend to anyone of any age as it is suited too all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbyrose26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I are back from a two week stay at the Venus Hotel and would thoroughly recommended this hotel. It is in a very central location a few minutes away from the main strip, although we weren't bothered by noise at night and were able to get a good sleep. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels daily - bliss when its 39 degrees!
The breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread, scones, eggs (fried eggs/omlette on request), bacon/sauasage alternate days and delicious homemade pancakes/waffles, fruit juice; tea & coffee. We also ate lunch there a couple of days - there was a good selection of sandwiches, salads, burgers, omelettes etc.
The staff are very friendly and any problems are sorted out quickly - our fridge wasn't working - we reported it and it was fixed the same day.
There is a good pool area with plenty of sun loungers for everyone. If we had one gripe it would be that you had to pay extra for matresses for the sun loungers. I know this is included if you book direct with the hotel, along with the air-conditioning, fridge and safe, however I personally feel this should be included, regardless of how you book.
One the whole this is an excellent hotel in a good location for exploring the island. It is only 15 minutes (approx) in a taxi to Zakynthos town, which costs 10 euros one way.
We enjoyed visiting Zakynthos town in the evening to have dinner and then a drink on the roof garden of the Strada Marina Hotel on the main road. You can sit here and enjoy an excellent view of the harbour.

Room Tip: If you an get a room on the ground floor it is much cooler and you might not need to pay extra for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If I were you, I'd book now and read the review afterwards!

My partner and I have recently returned from a two week stay at the Venus Hotel in Kalamaki.

To begin with, this hotel is in a fabulous location; it's 2 minutes from the strip and no more than 5 minutes to the beach. Despite being so close to the strip, it's very quiet and you can get a good nights sleep. It's not too far from Lagana (if that kind of thing takes your fancy) and has a few good restaurants in Zakanoh, Mikalos and Essence which are all near by and worth a visit.

The first people you are likely to meet at the hotel are Barbara and her team at the front desk. They couldn't have done more to make or stay more comfortable and enjoyable. Barbara runs two quiz nights per week which are really good fun and give an opportunity to hang out with other visitors. You will also have the opportunity to try one of the many delightful cocktails concocted by Spiros and his team. If you ask Spiros nicely he does a a great Amaretto sour!

The hotel itself is very clean, with a nice size pool and plenty of deckchairs without being too crowded. We aren't particularly eary risers but didn't have any trouble getting a space in the entire two weeks we were there. The pool snack bar is decent with a good selection of hot and cold snacks if you get a bit peckish while lazing around all day!

All in all this is a very good, reasonable priced hotel and well deserves the Trip Advisor no1 hotel in Kalamaki.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel to get a choice of room and free air con/ fridge use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrCurtis_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We visited the Venus two years ago and finally made it back for a short (1 week) break. Although we knew what to expect, our holiday didn't disappoint. This friendly family-run hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. Clean and great value for money - especially the bar and food prices that easily compete with the bars and restaurants in Kalamaki. The week was scorching hot - hitting the 40s on several days - and the air con was an absolute necessity. Must mention Maria - like all the staff she works long hours but remained happy and smiling all day long. Hopefully I'll be back again next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Venus Hotel and Suites. In a word the experience was 'heavenly'. Our previous travels in Greece all took place in the early 80's as back packers and island hoppers. Most of the foggy memories we have are not great - hangovers, heat waves, rotten fish and diesel don't mix too well!!!!!!

Anyway we decided to give Greece another shot - this time with our 2 sons aged 17 and 21. We did a huge amount of research and opted for Zantes - Kalamaki and the Venus Hotel. This decision was based totally on recommendations and Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed.

Venus Suites was the perfect choice for us for the following reasons:

Location.
Could not be better - just 2 mins walk to main strip and about 5 mins to the beach.
It was also an excellent base to explore the island. It was a short taxi ride (€10 to Zakynthos (capital)) for us and to Laganas (€8) for our sons!!!! We also hired cars and quads locally.
Parking at the hotel was free and plentiful.

Staff.
Nicest most genuine people we have come across in a long time. No agendas - just friendly and very helpful. Nick - the Manager was always around the hotel - asking how we were getting on or if we needed anything. Nothing was too much trouble for him. All the staff were exceptionally nice and courteous to us.

Suite.
We had a lovely spacious suite on the ground floor. It consisted of bedroom, lounge/2nd bedroom, bathroom (with full bath) and best of all our own garden - complete with sun loungers, umbrellas and an outdoor shower. Beds were comfy - the room was kept spotlessly clean (we had maid service every day of the holiday). The maid even called back repeatedly to clean our room when our sons found it hard to get up after nights out in Laganas!!!!! Air con was powerful and much needed. We also had a fridge, kettle and some cups etc. which was a lovely touch.


Food.
This was a major problem - as I ate too much of it and I now weigh half a stone more than I did 2 weeks ago!!! Breakfast was an unexpected bonus for us. There was a huge variety to choose from including - bacon, eggs, sausages, hash potatoes, beans, continental meat and cheeses, various breads, toast, cakes, cereals, juices, fruit and the most divine thick Greek yoghurt. They also did gorgeous cappuccinos. The staff will also cook your eggs to order if you like. Spoilt for choice.
The Pool Bar (Snack Bar) had the most amazing food and we just could not believe the prices - they were just ridiculously low. The menu was huge - but the Greek section was our favorite. I would recommend their Gyro Plate or the Venus Chicken. The 4 of us ate here nearly every day for an average of €4-6 each including drinks (there were cheaper options than this too).

Barbeque. Wednesday night is BBQ night. This is a real treat as it gives you an opportunity to meet other holiday makers. You book in advance - and the price depends on what cut of meat/fish you choose. You also get baked potato, corn and coleslaw. We chose 2 fillet steaks which were so tender you didn't need cutlery and 2 T bone steaks - they were enormous - and again ultra tender - obviously really delicious good quality meat. All the BBQ was cooked by Nick. They also do a terrific house wine in little pewter jugs - gorgeous. This is followed by live music with Richy Valdez - a brilliant singer.

The hotel is family run - which I think you can feel - as the atmosphere is so relaxed and friendly.

The pool is not the biggest pool I have ever used - but it is the first time I can ever remember being able to get a sun bed at any time of the day. The usual 7.30am dash to grab a sun bed is a personal vex of mine.

I know this review is quite lengthy but we had such a lovely quality stay here - I really wanted to provide other holiday makers with as much information as I could. Without Tripadvisor we would not have stayed here.

We booked Venus Suites directly and booked our flights Dublin to Zakynthos with Falcon (First Choice). The flights were quite expensive - €450 each. We tried to travel through UK but with air fares to UK and hotel accommodation etc. it worked out very similar. However when we worked out the overall cost per person we paid less that €760 each for accommodation and flights. It s years since we paid so little for a holiday of such quality.

To sum up - a really lovely hotel with great staff, a big welcome and amazing Gyros.

We miss it already!!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite at the rear of the hotel which was great as we were shaded in the afternoons - avoidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
317 reviews
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: $49 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing