We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booking Direct”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Booking Direct”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Reading the recent review "Have you got a discount card - No I haven't!!!" - all we can say is - book direct with the Venus Hotel, get your discount card and then you can say with confidence - "Yes we have!!". Simple as that.

We also booked with a travel agent first time round (in 2006), which is how we discovered this gem of a place (thank you so much Thomsons), but were made to feel extremely welcome right from the start, and not treated any differently to anyone else. In fact in our opinion, everyone (whatever the age) is given that ‘extra special’ treatment, which is why the Hotel Venus and Kalamaki stands out from the rest.
It must be remembered this is only a 3 star plus hotel, but certainly has a 5 star heart!!

We are lucky to have two or three holidays a year (generally the Greek Islands) but have stayed at the Venus early summer for the last six years - and we are returning yet again this June.
It's so relaxing and the staff and owners are the most friendly and courteous people you could wish to meet.
Nick and ALL of the team really go out of their way to ensure you have a great holiday, and if you have any issue at all (such as non-functioning fridge), you only have to say and it will be sorted. The point is, sometimes things do go wrong on holiday, it’s inevitable, but you can rest assured that at the Hotel Venus they will be put right, and as quickly as possible.
This is why so many of us return year after year, and are compelled to rate as No.1 on TA with so many excellent reviews.

P.S. The Venus bar still makes the best cocktails ever!

See you all soon
C & J Cubbin

Room Tip: Pay extra for Pool view - great to soak up the atmosphere at night while you're getting ready to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cnkluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    111
    37
    3
    1
See reviews for
322
652
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I have been going to Kalamaki since 1997 sometimes three times a year.Even if I have a holiday in a different country I still have to have at least one holiday a year at the Venus.I feel so at home there everyone is so friendly & helpful.I have lost count of the times I have been there.We always meet up with regulars every year ,looking forward to seeing the family & staff at the Venus again this year!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank byjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I find this previous review very odd. Why write a review 5 months after your stay. Plus if you have nothing bad or good to say why write one - What a waste of time.!
We first stayed at this hotel in May 2005 and went with a large UK travel operator. We then booked direct with the hotel for our September 2005 holiday and all our holidays since; and have got the excellent benefits of being "Venus Club Members"
The review on 14 January is very unfair. The Venus Hotel is a great place to stay for couples, families, groups and all.
The Manager,family and staff of this very well run 3 star Greek hotel are always very friendly, take pride in thier hotel and the jobs they do, and nothing is too much trouble.
You are not just a guest you become a welcomed friend and a member of the family.
Finally - remember that fridges in the UK can't cope when we have the odd heatwave, when the temperatures are like they are in Zante in July.
We will be going back to the Venus ASAP. Their loss our gain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiem186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I have just read the review "Have you got a discount card?? and just had to comment. We stayed at the Venus for a week in September, it was our first time and we also hadnt booked direct with them, but with Thomas Cook. We have been on lots of holidays and have returned to certain hotels many times. Of course you have to pay for air conditiong and a fridge (the fridge is absolutely fine by the way) Ive not been on many holidays where it was included in the price, this is always stated when booking! So how nice to find out that if you do return and book direct you get some added extras. I really feel that this was a nice touch. Our whole holiday was more than value for money! We havent booked our holiday for this year yet but if we do decide to return to Kalamaki then we will be staying at The Venus. A great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

There is nothing bad we can say about this hotel but having only been there once, we don't think it is as great as the reviews, it is certainly clean and tidy and the staff seem friendly enough but not to the extent that the reviews suggest. If you do not book direct with the hotel (we booked through Thomson) then you will not get a discount card and if you are like us, you will very quickly get sick of all the staff asking you if you have one. The fridges certainly are not to the standard that you would expect in England (they are more chillers than fridges) and when you book through a travel agent you have to pay for this and the air con separately which doesnt work out cheap!!. That said, we had a nice time in the two weeks we were there but if it helps we are going back to Kalamaki in 2012 and we are not staying at the Venus!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MmmMythos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venusnick, Manager at Venus Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
I will like to wish everyone a Very Happy New Year to start off with.

We treat all of our guests the same regardless how they book with us and nobody gets differential treatment. We are accommodating and friendly to all not because we have to it’s because we treat everyone with respect and we offer true Greek hospitality.

Anything that is sold in any market or industry it’s usually comes with an offer...we offer a discount card if you book directly, Thomson’s and Thomas Cook offer a discount when you book the holiday via their website etc. When my staff ask if you have a discount card it’s because they want to make sure you get one if you are eligible, they are not trying to make you sick they are just courteous and don’t want you to miss out.

When booking our hotel via a tour operator it clearly states in their brochure that there are charges for some non-mandatory extra room facilities so it shouldn’t come with a surprise. I would suggest reading and understanding carefully the description before booking so all can be aware what to expect. If you book directly, all room facilities are included in the price of the holiday and this is another offer that we include just like Thomson’s and Thomas Cook offer free luggage boarding if you book a package deal.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Been going to the family run Venus Hotel since 2002 and it just gets better and better each and every year. The welcome received each time you return is second to none and it is always fantastic to see everyone. Nick cannot do enough for you and his attention to detail is superb!! We are already booked for this Summer and cannot wait to return. If you are a regular visitor Nick offers discounts on future bookings and also by booking direct you receive discounts and additional benefits that you would not if you went with a holiday company. Air conditioning, fridge, safe, and discount of all food and drink purchased is a great incentive to book direct!

The hotel is spotlessly clean, modern and very comfortable for all ages. Each year, you can see that the hotel has been maintained and usually updated in some way during the winter months. The rooms are simple but perfect and the suites are fantastic for families because you have two separate bedrooms giving more privacy and space. The pool is a great place to spend your days - we find it hard to drag ourselves to the beach as it is just so nice. Food and drink at the snackbar is very reasonable and the food itself is fantastic (as are the girls working there!).

At night there is usually some form of entertainment should you want to remain at the hotel and the bar staff make it a great place to be for the evening. We have had some great nights back at the hotel bar and the atmosphere is always buzzing.

All in all - the Venus is a fantastic, family run hotel (which are very rare these days). For us, it is like 'going home' each year and it is great to get back there with friends who look after us for 2 weeks giving us the perfect chill out holiday we love.

Thanks Nick for making our holidays as amazing as they are - we'll see you in August as husband and wife!!!

Joanne, Steve & Sophie
xxxxx

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are great. However the suites are perfect for families giving the adults...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have been a few times with my family to the Venus and we always have a great time (Parents in late 50's, kids in early 20's). The staff are all really nice and willing to help you with anything. The rooms are nice with nice balcony views. The entertainment put on by the hotel is worth checking out. We always really enjoy the BBQ and the quiz. This is a great hotel for kids in the school hols but also a good hotel for adults all year round.
The pool area is nice, although the last time we went by 9am pretty much all the sun beds had been 'saved' with towels so it can be a struggle to find them at times. I always spout that you should just remove them when people do that but I never do!
I would strongly recommend eating in the restaurant at least once as the food was fantastic and really well presented.
The pool bar is really good, I love their Greek salads.
My only slight down sides would be the lack a garden around the pool area. Not that this would be possible with the space but just something I really like in a hotel, and that the breakfast is served indoors in a small room with very high backed chairs so it makes it difficult to manoeuvre. It would be lovely to sit outside in the morning to eat breakfast.
All in all, definitely book this hotel, you'll probably be coming back again as so many other reviewers have.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Property: Venus Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing