We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We loved it and we would love to go back!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"We loved it and we would love to go back!"”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I went to the Venus with my Sister in July 2011 and it was everything I had hoped it would be. I read all the reviews I could before booking and they were spot on. My Sister and I both used mobility scooters while we were there and it was ideal for disabled visitors. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Nick and his family were delightfull and extreemely helpful. Barbara on reception was also very helpfull and so nice. Infact all the staff were lovely and I would highly reconmend this hotel to anyone looking for a great hotel in a fabulous location with stunning views and first class accomodation. The food at the hotel was excellent and the cocktails are a must. Served in pint glasses!!!!!!!!!!!!! Kalamaki is a real treat and the restaurants are all fabulous and the food is lovely with a wide choice. We would just like to thank Denise at the Mini Market for being so helpful.........See you all again.

Room Tip: The rooms are cleaned every day and the views are lovely. Most rooms have views of the mountains or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GildaRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    115
    38
    3
    1
See reviews for
326
671
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Great hotel and staff. If you book through a tour operator you will face an excessive charge for air con, fridge and safety deposit. It cost us 90 euros for air con and 55 euros fot fridge for 2 weeks. There is no warning of the high amount of these extra charges in the brochures. also a mattress for your sunbed is 1.50 euros per day.
Lovely location but book direct and all this will be free

Room Tip: go for 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliacrawford10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at Venus betwen 12th June and 19th June 2011 with another couple (party aged between 28-34). The hotel is pretty much halfway between the beach and the main road, and both are only a few minutes walk away.

The hotel was lovely and clean, staffed by friendly helpful people. One day we didn't have any towels left for us in the room after the maid had been, and my boyfriend popped down to reception to ask for some. Straightaway he was given two towels to be going on with, in case we were waiting to have a shower, and within 5 minutes of him coming back up to our room Barbara from reception was knocking on our door with a full set, and apologising for the problem. Maids always smiled and said hello if we were leaving as they came to clean the room. The guys behind the hotel bar were always friendly and chatty even if they were busy. The staff at Venus are obviously well looked after and valued as employees here, and it shows in their work and attitude.

Room and lobby areas were always clean, and there was a sign on the door as you headed back to your room asking you to be extra quiet after midnight because of sleeping guests, and we never noticed any problem with noise when we were trying to sleep.

The bed in our room was the most comfortable we've ever slept in on holiday, but if it wasn't we were told in our welcome leaflet from the hotel not to hesitate to tell them so they could sort it out. I had e-mailed before we went requesting a double room, and was told they would do this is possible, and when we got there we had been allocated a double room.

The bar at the hotel was excellent - normally we'd have to pay quite a bit more than in town if we drank at a hotel bar, but at Venus it was pretty much the same for a pint of Mythos compared to in town. And the cocktails, well they were amazing! 3.30 euro on average, most of them were in a pint glass and they didn't skimp on the spirits, and there were loads to choose from. The menu was organised so you could easily pick one based on what spirit you like. Even the lads (who would normally stick to Mythos) had a couple of Nutty Coladas at the hotel before we went out because they were so nice. On our last night the barman came over to us and apologised that he'd always been busy whenever we'd been in the hotel bar during our stay, and gave us a shot of sambuca each, on the house.

There was lots of choice at breakfast, and we never needed to order the full english (which would have been at an extra charge) because there was plenty with what was there. There was always eggs and beans, and either sausage or bacon, and either french toast or pancakes, along with cereal, cake, toast, jam, fruit, and my Greek favourite of yoghurt and honey.

Very deserving of its #1 in Kalamaki rating.

Room Tip: E-mail the hotel with any requirements/wants (eg double bed, a particular side of the hotel, or floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helen_gemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We have stayed at the Venus on a number of occasions previously and have always found standards to be excellent in every respect - this occasion was no exception.
We were disappointed with meals we had at a local taverna so we ate at the hotel most evenings where we found the food excellent. There is an increased menu choice this year and the portions are very generous. We did have some lunchtime snacks from the pool bar, these were equally delicious and the choice is immense.
I cannot speak too highly of Nick, his family and team; they work very hard and do a magnificent job. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them.
Looking forward to spending another fortnight with them again in September.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaibachCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed at Venus Hotel for 2 weeks and would just like to say what a lovely hotel it is!
All the staff go out of their way to help you and greet you with a smile from morning to night.
All areas of the hotel are kept spotless with a lovely pool and very nice room and the most comfortable bed that we have ever had in an hotel.

Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank greeceheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Returned yesterday from another excellent 2 week stay at the Venus.
Everybody is very friendly and helpful, as ever, and we'll certainly be back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannymc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

What can i say other than that this was the perfect place to spend our long awaited honeymoon. We got married in Spetember last year but decided to wait for our honeymoon.
The first week we were joined by two friends and had a lovely time realaxing round the pool on the first week and sampling the nightlife in laganas. We also went to a foam party which are starting to be held Most fridays at zeros club.
The four of us also took a trip to see the turtles on the yellow submarine. we took the 2hour tour at 3pm 15euro each and had a lovely swim in the blue waters of turtle island. you only get this on the 2 hour tour. we also visited the water park which is amazing and even better for those with children. In the second week me and my husband went on the shipwreck blue caves tour which is great it is four hours and you get an hour at the shipwreck and get to swim near the blue caves also. If we had done it again we would have gone on a boat that could fit in the caves as they looked so beautiful.
In the second week we stayed around kalamaki and sampled the foods. I can honestly say i did not have a bad meal and neither did my husband. We visited Yamas, Mermaids, Heavens Kitchen, Olive Tree, Artemis and a good few others as well as eating at the hotel. Our favourite place to drink at night was the drunk corner in kalamaki. In laganas was Mad Murphys Irish bar and nightclub Zeros, the foam party was definately worth the 5euro we paid to get in. The staff at drunk corner are lovely and they have a range of enlish TV and Sports on throughout the day. There is an extensive list of cocktails to choose from andthey are served with a smile.
The venus hotel is definately a little piece of heaven on earth. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they are always happy and welcoming. The cocktails that spiros makes are delicious aswell my favourite was the hawaiian punch mmmm yummy!!!! Breakfast was a continental style but lots of choice. I loved the eggs (had them every morning).
The poolside snackbar is very reasonably priced and we enjoyed having the gyros (greek sausage 1 is lovely).
We also went to play the mini golf which is excellent but we went at the wrong time of day. Either go 1st thing in the morning or after 8pm as it gets very hot. The owner is lovely. When booking excursions Pat is the woman too see she is across the kalamaki main road next to oasis bar. She will tell u all about the tours in frank honesty so you know what you are getting. We made the mistake of booking across the road for the water park and nothing went to timings.
If i could sum up the venus in two words it would be Absolutely Outstanding.
I think there is definately a possibilty of us returning in the future as we had such a wonderful time with wonderful people. If i could say 1 thing on your return to the rainy uk make sure youn get to the airport early as queues get very large. But it is definately not worth missing out on this wonderful island and hotel for.
Thankyou So Much Nick and all your staff
especially Barbara for your wonderful hospitality!
Hope to return soon
Carla and Gary
Room 331 12-26th June
xx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carla_Doig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
615 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 50 in Tsilivi
418 reviews
2.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Property: Venus Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing