We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2011

What can i say other than that this was the perfect place to spend our long awaited honeymoon. We got married in Spetember last year but decided to wait for our honeymoon.
The first week we were joined by two friends and had a lovely time realaxing round the pool on the first week and sampling the nightlife in laganas. We also went to a foam party which are starting to be held Most fridays at zeros club.
The four of us also took a trip to see the turtles on the yellow submarine. we took the 2hour tour at 3pm 15euro each and had a lovely swim in the blue waters of turtle island. you only get this on the 2 hour tour. we also visited the water park which is amazing and even better for those with children. In the second week me and my husband went on the shipwreck blue caves tour which is great it is four hours and you get an hour at the shipwreck and get to swim near the blue caves also. If we had done it again we would have gone on a boat that could fit in the caves as they looked so beautiful.
In the second week we stayed around kalamaki and sampled the foods. I can honestly say i did not have a bad meal and neither did my husband. We visited Yamas, Mermaids, Heavens Kitchen, Olive Tree, Artemis and a good few others as well as eating at the hotel. Our favourite place to drink at night was the drunk corner in kalamaki. In laganas was Mad Murphys Irish bar and nightclub Zeros, the foam party was definately worth the 5euro we paid to get in. The staff at drunk corner are lovely and they have a range of enlish TV and Sports on throughout the day. There is an extensive list of cocktails to choose from andthey are served with a smile.
The venus hotel is definately a little piece of heaven on earth. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they are always happy and welcoming. The cocktails that spiros makes are delicious aswell my favourite was the hawaiian punch mmmm yummy!!!! Breakfast was a continental style but lots of choice. I loved the eggs (had them every morning).
The poolside snackbar is very reasonably priced and we enjoyed having the gyros (greek sausage 1 is lovely).
We also went to play the mini golf which is excellent but we went at the wrong time of day. Either go 1st thing in the morning or after 8pm as it gets very hot. The owner is lovely. When booking excursions Pat is the woman too see she is across the kalamaki main road next to oasis bar. She will tell u all about the tours in frank honesty so you know what you are getting. We made the mistake of booking across the road for the water park and nothing went to timings.
If i could sum up the venus in two words it would be Absolutely Outstanding.
I think there is definately a possibilty of us returning in the future as we had such a wonderful time with wonderful people. If i could say 1 thing on your return to the rainy uk make sure youn get to the airport early as queues get very large. But it is definately not worth missing out on this wonderful island and hotel for.
Thankyou So Much Nick and all your staff
especially Barbara for your wonderful hospitality!
Hope to return soon
Carla and Gary
Room 331 12-26th June
xx

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carla_Doig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

We have just returned from the Venus and what a great holiday it was. We are no strangers to this hotel visiting at least once a season. We had not been in June for a couple of years so were pleasantly surprised to see that several of the people we met over the years were still returning.

What can I say that I have not said before except the Venus delivers and maintains year on year exceptional customer service. Our room was very comfortable in our preferred part of the hotel, the public areas were sparkling and the food wonderful. The pool area was so relaxing and the pool itself refreshing when we needed to cool off.

The combination of good accommodation and a great team working very hard to ensure everyone has a good time makes this the perfect base.

For now I shall dream a little and wish the summer away until we return in September!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I was recommended this hotel by a friend and after looking at a few pictures and taking her word for we decided to go for it and book. Once i had booked an read a few reviews on here and saw that there were a few bad reviews i thought oh dear have i made the right desition. After going to the Hotel Venus i can 100% say it is one of the most beautiful hotels i have stayed in, in Greece for a long time and we had a fantastic and time and what a fabulous little hotel this is.

The staff at this hotel are so welcoming and friendly and cannot do enough for you. everyday we were greated with a smile and a genuine good morning, how are you and have a nice day etc. We decided to go half board and were told that this was their first year at doing this. The food was lovely there is wide variety of things to eat to cater for all tastes and you can even order from the lunch menu if you dont fancy anything from the evening menu.

The hotel its self is fantastic and very well kept and learning that the family who own it built it themselves made us appreciate it even more. The pool area is just the right size to cater for all its guests and is very clean. There is some sort of evening entertainment on to keep you entertained from quizes, bingo, BBQs and Greek nights. If you do wish to venture out of the hotel, it is very well situated and is just a short walk from the beach and the main strip, where you can find a different variety of bars, resturants and shops.

I highly recommend that you try this hotel for youselves even after you read the reviews on here, as some people are just too hard to please. I cant recommend this hotel and its staff highly enough. I will defenitly be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AshleighWood-Heard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We have just returned home after a week of bliss at the Venus hotel.
The whole staff team are friendly and attentive, ensuring that you experinece a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.
Thank-you Maria for catering for my dietary requirements, nothing was too much trouble and you served us some wonderful snacks. You work so hard and it was very much appreciated.
The rooms at the Venus are cleaned every day and our room was spacious and kept spotless. Clean sheets and towels were always available. The fridge, kettle, TV, safety deposit box and air conditioning all helped to make our stay a comfortable one.
There were always plenty of sunbeds free regardless of the time of day, I do suggest paying the small fee for a sunbed matress as they really do make a huge difference!
The hotel is ideally situated just of the main stretch and a short walk to both a fantastic beach and numerous bars and restaurants.
Believe what you read this hotel is highly reccommended it's like heaven on earth and we hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank huddy19642016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We went with our two children aged 10 and 12 for a week in half term and had an excellent time. The hotel is superbly clean and the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make your holiday special. Everything about the hotel is first class and great value for money. From the selection of food available at breakfast, to the snacks served round the pool and the superb quality and value of the evening meals. The rooms are more than adequate with everything you need and are cleaned daily. The entertainment laid on is good fun. A true testiment to the success of this hotel is the number of people we spoke to who return to this hotel year after year. Having been once we would definately return again and have already recommended this hotel to friends.

A big thank you to Nick and all his staff for making our holiday so relaxing and enjoyable. We cant wait to meet up with you again.

The Waterhouse Family

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kimewaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Thank you to All the Family and Staff at the Venus for your absoultly brilliant hospitality yet again. This was now my 3rd visit and it simply gets better each time.

May I offer my advice to anybody visiting the Venus. This hotel prides itself on its high standards and it upsets them if it thisnks it has underperformed and have not been given the opertunity to put your issue right. Do speek to reception. They do not bite or argue back only strive to make you holiday better. If you give them respect for the hours and work they put in, they will reward you ten fold.
If the bed is too hard they give you a matress topper, food is not right they happily correct it.
So much so is their compassion for life that a local stray cat was fed over the winter when the hotel was closed, a special trip was made. and a stray puppy has now been homed with one of the family.

I can not wait to come back in September to see them all again, and hope the Wedding garden has come together, It should look beautiful..
All our love B&U

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank meyouyoume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Reviews, believe them!...fabulous break. A family whose pride is their work and the most important person staying in their hotel is you. Impeccable room, service, surroundings and a bar 'wow'...there isn't a drink Spiros can't do for you. Lots of shops, restaurants, excursions, bus stop and beach all within 5 mins.walking distance. For those that like walking you can actually walk along the natural sandy stretch of beach (where the turtles nest) to Laganas which takes half an hour and its one straight road to Zakynthos town (Zante) wich takes about an hour.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GordonandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
586 reviews
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
486 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: $51 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing