We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty hotel, perfectly adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Louros Beach Hotel Spa
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pretty hotel, perfectly adequate.”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Very relaxing stay at this hotel. Staff are professional and friendly, they leave you to get on with your holiday but are around when needed. Hotel is just right, we thought probably the best small hotel in Kalamaki. Rooms are just fine, basic, but thats all you need in Greece.
Pool is lovely, plenty of sunbeds. Bar is great, good food.
Restaurants we recommend, Olive Tree, Mermaids, Heavens Kitchen, Artemis, and definately Buon Amici. The Oasis cocktail bar too. We went 3 years ago and all these places are still there and still serving great Greek food. Kalamaki is a good place to stay, you can get to anywhere on the island quite easily.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkyfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    100
    21
    14
    2
See reviews for
81
197
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

On our first trip to Zakynthos was to Hotel Louros Beach and it couldn't have been better. We were extremely impressed with the island as a whole, Kalamaki as a resort, and Louros Beach in particular. Everyone we met was hugely friendly and accomodating, especially at the hotel. Our Thompson rep was brilliant, helpful and so kind - she arranged for two separate surprises for our 2nd wedding anniversary, and kept her eye on everyone. The resort was packed with places to eat and drink, but was quiet enough to allow reasonable sleep. The Black Pearl is run by a young couple who will greet with kindness and fun. Our favourite restaurants included Michaolos,the Olive Tree, Ambrosia and Artemis. We went on an excursion to Kefelonia, which we really enjoyed despite the ferry trip in a storm. In fact the only issue we had was with the weather, which was mostly windy and occasionally torential! No one can influence the weather and everyone we met said they had never seen such bad weather (not bad in comparisson to UK in early May) in 20 years. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lintilla2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Nice hotel & the staff were friendly & attentive. Rooms basic, as expected when in Greece. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and will play havoc with your back! No tea/coffee making facilities in room either, which is a shame. Remember to budget for "extras" such as fridge, air con, safe, as they arent included. Pool area & gardens are immaculately kept. Breakfast is a simple continental which gets a little boring after a while ( try Yoyos for a full english, its the best!). As for the resort itself, dont go looking for excitement cos there isnt any! Kalamaki is just one main strip containing the usual tavernas & bars, plus a few "tourist" shops. Avoid Mermaids, no matter who recommends it to you. We went on the advice of our rep & got food poisoning on our 1st meal in the resort. Best restaurant in resort is at Crystal Beach Hotel & its the best setting too, being the only place in resort overlooking the sea

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

visited this hotel with family in september and found it more of an apartment block with a reception and pool area than a hotel. Rooms were basic and cleaning was sub standard although our parents room was cleaned a little better than ours. No amenities as far as tea and coffe making facilities were available which would have been if we had booked apartments rather than a hotel. You had to pay extra for your safe which was 2 euros per day, your fridge, 3 euros per day and air conditioning which was 5 euros per day so it was all extra expense, we were lucky we could share the costs but if you were on your own in the height of summer its another £150 to your holiday costs which again, you would probably have included in an apartment. Breakfast provided was very bland and boring with no variation and you were expected to clear away after yourselves (you are not even expected to do that in a B&B in the UK) Much better breakfasts were provided at the local beach bar which was excellent, freshly prepared, clean and very friendly. The pool was a fairly good size and clean with a pool bar area big enough however, there were cloth table covers on all tables which we never saw changed in the 11 days we were there and flies were in abundance so it put us off eating there a little. Good location for the beach approx 5 mins walk and approx 15-20 mins into main town for bars and restaurants of which there were plenty. The olive grove was excellent for food and the oasis bar was relaxing with good clean facilities, unobtrusive service and extremely good measures, especially the liquer coffees!! The cave bar is also worth a visit, beautiful setting, fantastic service and patio heaters for the chillier nights. There were a few other good bars and restaurants and we didn't have a bad meal all holiday. To sum up, if you are looking for authentic Greece, you won't find it here, what you will find is somewhere to watch the football and X factor and catch up with your soaps if that's what you want from your holiday. The hotel is ok but you will find better accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theholidayhunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Have just returned from 2 week Holiday on the 21st September 2009 from the Louros Beach Hotel.
We arrived after a night flight and were warmly received by a very helpfull lady who gave us quick introduction to the hotel and where every thing was located.Then we were taken to our room.
The room we had over looked the pool and had a good size balcony.
The accomodation was basic ,it included TV, Radio, hair dryer small .It also had the facility of a small fridge,air condition and deposit box at additional cost 14 days 155e for all three.
The Hotel and the surrounding areas was spotless and the pool cleaned every day. Plenty of sun loungers and not the problem of the battle of the towells.The gardens were well maintained and were their pride and joy.
Breakfasts were served from 7.30 am to 9.30am - the usual Greek continental offer but was adequate and was constantly being replenished.
The bar offered snack food from10.30am till late in the evening and this was where the evening entertainment was at least 3 night a week.
The beach was a 5 minute walk where you could hire beds and umbrella 7e for the day.You did need to be there before 9.30am or all the beds were taken.The Kalamaki Taverna on the beach is first class - offering a wide range of foods and the staff are very helpfull.This was our second time to Kalamaki and the staff even remebered us from our previous visit.
Yes the aircraft do fly very near but this never bothered us.
In the evening we walked into the town of Kalamaki about 10minute walk were their is plenty of restaurants to choose ranging from Greek, steak houses,Indian and chinese,mexican.Plenty to choose from. We like to try different ones and never had a bad meal.Prices 2 courses bottle of wine between 15 to 20e each.
This year the weather was mixed - which was a first for us as normally at this time of year in the Greek islands it is blue skies every day.Thank goodness we had looked at the 10day weather forecast before we went and stuck in a light weight water proof jacket and umbrella- it was used.
This did not stop us enjoying our holiday a relaxing quiet holiday,and we would go back to the Louros Beach

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McINNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The hotel is lovely to look at from the outside and the gardens are beautiful and well maintained. The pool is much smaller than it looks in the brochure but is still lovely and a great temparature - Cools you down nicely but doesnt freeze you to death.

The staff were mostly very friendly and helpful but leave you to your own devises which was what we prefer anyway.

The beds as mentioned in previous reviews were very uncomfortable. Although it is only bed and breakfast there are no facilities in the rooms at all for making your own food etc. There are little fridges but these are locked away and cost you 3 euros a day to hire. Air con is 6 Euros a day also. We didnt rate the breakfast very highly - Cheese, ham, tomatoes, croissants, cereal and occasionally boiled eggs.

The resturants were great. We really liked Oasis bar for a few cocktails and a game of pool. The Olive tree and Maharaja resturants are great too.

The beach was amazing and the sea was clear. You could walk out quite a way and still only have water up to your knees.

We did the yellow submarine excursion for 20 euros each to see some turtles. We would not recommend this. We hardly saw anything and you could easily hire a pedlo and see turtles yorself for a lot cheaper.

The planes do go over the hotel alot and are very low and of course do make a loud noise as they go over but honestly this did not bother us at all if anything it was cool to watch.

Overall we had a great time of course most of this could be put down to 14 days of pure sunshine at 45 degrees!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNS4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We had a great stay at the Louros Beach Hotel in Kalamaki. It was the perfect location. You can nip to the beach in 5 mins, there's a shop next door, and the main strip of restaurants and bars is only about 8 mins away. Plus taxis to Zante Town and Laganas are under 10 Euros, so it's very convenient.

The hotel itself had lovely gardens and the pool and Jacuzzi were well kept. Slightly bizarre hedge trimmings, but that added some amusement, and we weren't sure having the dead rotting turtle display, with a live turtle swimming next to them, was appropriate!
Breakfast was good, but only if you're willing to be up quite early as they stop serving on the dot of 9.30am. The pool bar served nice salads but the menu was limited. Rooms were quite basic, but had everything you could need. You will have to pay extra for air con, fridge and safe. Air con was essential after a few days as the temperatures went over 40 degrees. The main clientele were couples and young families. Avoid the entertainment - what we could hear was pretty poor!

We read lots of complaints about the aircraft noise, but to be honest, when you're only there a week it was a novelty. It was quite exciting seeing the planes so low, and the bonus is that the transfers from the airport only take 10 mins.

Recommend Pandesia for the Greek nights and good food, Cave Bar at the top of the strip was a great find and well worth going for a few cocktails. In general though, all the restaurants have pretty much the same menu, catering for Brits. Expect the Greek standards (Souvlaki, Kleftiko, Stifado etc) along with steaks, chicken dishes, pizza, pasta and pretty much everything else you could think of.

Also try to do a boat trip while you're there. We picked to do one through one of the many operators on the strip, which turned out to be about 50% cheaper than what our holiday reps were offering. See the cave and shipwreck! We decided to visit Zante Town for shopping, but didn't find much of interest there.

All in all, a lovely holiday and the hotel was great. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 30 in Kalamaki
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louros Beach Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louros Beach Hotel Spa

Property: Louros Beach Hotel Spa
Address: P.O. Box: 102, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
#10 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Louros Beach Hotel Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Louros Beach Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louros Beach Hotel Kalamaki
Hotel Louros Beach
Louros Beach Hotel Spa Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing