We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Louros Beach Hotel Spa
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Family Trip”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

There were ten of us who travelled from all over the world for a weeks family reunion trip in Zakynthos.
The hotel was great overall - a few things that could have improved our stay, but the hotel is clean and the staff are incredibly friendly.
The hotel is in a great location. A few minutes walk from the beach and a short walk to the main 'strip' of restaurants, bars and shops. The pool is clean with plenty of sunloungers and the bar area is lovely, especially when lit up at night.
The rooms were basic but clean, with small balconies with a table and two chairs. The bathrooms were a little on the small side, and the shower is only a cubicle, with no shower holder which made it a little bit awkward! The breakfast isn't brilliant - a small selection of cereals, cheese, ham, yoghurt and some hot pastries and toast. Not the place to go for a cooked breakfast and the lack of fruit was a bit disappointing. It could also be a bit noisy at times due to the close proximity to the airport!
The air conditioning, fridge and room safe are not included in the room rate, but are relatively cheap (3 euros per day for the fridge and I think 3 or 4 per day for the safe and air con).
We had booked a trip to the water park with the Jet2 rep Jojo, who was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately it was cancelled due to bad weather but there was no problems with getting our money back. Others in the group went on a boat trip which they said was pleasant.
The bar menu is much better, and the food that we ate for lunch was always of good quality. They do fantastic cocktails there too!!
Just down the road is the Kalamaki beach bar and pool where we spent a lot of time as it was so close to the sea - they also do great food. The beach and sea are lovely. There is a spot just into the sea where there is clay on the sea bed - the locals will put the clay on their skin and sit in the sun until it dries, before washing it off in the sea. Very good for the skin! The sea seems a bit rocky if you go out just in front of the main stretch of sunloungers, however if you head out to the left of the loungers, there aren't any stones and you can walk out for quite some distance.
Kalamaki itself is a lovely town with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. The youngsters of the group ventured into Laganas strip on a couple of nights - very lively even out of season and some great bars and clubs.
Had some fantastic meals in both Kalamaki and Laganas - can recommend Buon Amici, The Olive Tree, Paulos, Diaz, Peri Heaven (Greece's answer to Nando's) and Acropolis - a little off the beaten track but well worth the journey!!
All in all, we had a lovely week and for the money we paid we were very pleased.

Room Tip: Request a garden view room on the other side of the hotel from the pool. The pool side also overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunbabe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    98
    21
    14
    2
See reviews for
79
191
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southend on sea
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we have just returned from a fab week at louros beach and this was our 3rd year and we still love it here. after going to other holiday destinations earlier in the year we always have a week at louros in september which we thoroughly enjoy, this hotel is so friendly the staff are so helpful.
we come here as it is so relaxing and chilled out, the hotel is very clean and well kept as is the gardens, the pool area is spotless and no problems of rushing to get beds.
they have a wellness centre which is good value for money , the bar is situated by the pool and jacuzzi which is chilled in the day time and looks so pretty in the evening with candles and lanterns.
there is entertainment a couple of times in the week but there is also plenty going on nearby.
the staff are so hard working and friendly and a big thankyou to georgia ( go go) for all her help.
we did not eat breakfast there as we prefer full english so we walked to yummys 5 min walk away ,very clean friendly 450 euro for full english 2 egg 2 bacon 2 sausage mushroom tomato beans toast jam tea/ coffee and fresh orange and tasted good...
we did try yummys for sunday roast looked small but was very filling and tasty this cost 650 euro and also got free starter and dessert !!
reccomend quading 25 euro for 24 hrs we went and toured half the island went to different beaches views were amazing, the roads are not to busy and quads dont go to fast .
our favourite place to eat was yummy and olive tree large portions good prices and very tasty, look up one of our fav bar free shots free nibbles chill out music great atmosphere lovely staff.
looking foward to next september thanks to all the staff at louros x

Room Tip: poolside better view otherside garden view very pretty back hotel baron land
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purdieSouthendOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

hi ive just returned today from this hotel but before i went i was abit nervous by some of the negative reviews,but the hotel was definatly fantastic lovely,clean and all the staff were lovely we took our 2 children here and they were great with them,the bar staff are fantastic she cooked our lunch everyday and were faultless everytime. Also some evenings they have entertainment which the children loved also you must try there cocktails. The pool was lovely and clean and clean towels in room every day. The breakfast was good for what we wanted it consisted of orange,apple,grapefruit juice,tea,coffee,toast,rolls,ham,cheese,tomatos,cucumber,greek yoghurt,honey all jams,pastries etc what more can you ask for overall a great wonderful hotel will definatly go again also the hotel spa you can use for 10 euro per day and also there are a few treatments to choose from :)one more thing other reviews stated about aircraft noises but i found this great the children loved to see the planes come over and this doesnt affect your stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebeccalewis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice hotel and is well presented. Room was a bit small and shower was quite tiny, not much room to move about. Breakfast was good unless you wanted a cooked breakfast in which case you would need to find somewhere else to eat. Very nice pool area, had no problem getting sunbed no matter what time of day it was. Most of the staff are friendly... Gogo was helpful and pleasant throughout our stay. Kalamaki resort is very nice lots of restaurants to choose from to eat at dinner time. Very quiet in the day and we found the restaurants not so good to eat at for lunch time. All in all a very nice holiday. :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from louros beach hotel after spending a week there.
comments are,the hotel is very nice and is well looked after it is very clean and well kempt as is the pool area,the gardens are in my opinion this hotels outstanding area they are excellent and peacefull area to just chill out,the rooms are ok average really we where invaded by ants and them little sods bite,one area to note is the rooms do not come with any glasses just 2 plastic beakers which begs the question do you want to drink a glass of wine on the balcony out of a plastic cup,come on louros a couple of glasses would not go amiss,the planes do come over very low and loud but I found this nice to watch,watch out for the rusty pin that sticks out of the floor it is part of the locking system for the blinds but is very dodgy I stood on it and it damm near when into my foot very dangerous with children so be warned,all in all though it is a very nice place.
The best restaurant I found was the paolo excellent food and you really are treated like royalty,lorenzo the guy who welcomes you in is a star a top bloke who allways made your stay special,i would stay away from the indian/Chinese restaurant what a rip off,

Kalamki/zante is allways a great place to visit and scores very highly in holiday terms very relaxing and chilled out,best to get some transport and go out and about go to keri as the beach is awesome.
anyway that's it from me go and enjoy yourself,,Yamas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cammy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable 7 day holiday in Kalamaki where we stayed at the Louros Beach hotel. My comments relate to the area (good) and the hotel (not so good)
Firstly on the resort of Kalamaki and the area in general.
Kalamaki has a lovely beach and at this westerly end (towards Laganas) has one taverna, unremarkably called Kalamaki Beach, serving very nice food mainly snacks and breakfasts. (Try the Greek Salad there, it’s the best!) The beach has a limited number of sunbeds priced at €7 per set which we thought were good value, but get there before 10.30 to be sure on getting one. The beach is very close to hotel (3 min walk) with lovely clear warm water (in August) and gently sloping - very safe for children if a little bit stony when you first get in (all sandy after first bit)
Plenty of tavernas to choose on main Kalamaki - Laganas road which is about a 10 - 15 walk up in the other direction. We found Paulos which is closest to hotel to be pretty good, but also liked Yamas taverna further down main strip towards Kalamaki centre. There's a childrens amusement park, just off main strip which looked good for the kids although we don't have any so did not use it. There is a free minibus to the Sarakina taverna, situated in a wonderful hillside area just outside Laganas. If you call them by phone (tel number on billboards which you will see near the Louros Beach) Costas will come and pick you up – and take you back – in their minibus. It’s a family business, nice atmosphere, good food and Greek dancing. It’s something different to do and a nice way to spend an evening.
We went on a couple of trips through the local tour operator also found on main Kalamaki road, which were good value and cheaper than Thomsons.
The operator also runs a freed bus to "Banana Beach" which I would highly recommend (the beach rather than the bus trip)
Although the name sounds a bit naff Banana beach is a wonderful place to go. Great variety of watersports, which they don't have on Kalamki beach (because of Turtles) a truly magnificent sandy beach cheap sunbeds €6 per set, best of all a really stylish "chill out" bar. A little more expensive but worth every cent (IMHO) Only drawback free coach goes too late 11.15 and comes back too early 16.00. We got taxi back (just ask at bar) for €24 well worth it as it gave us an extra 2 hours on the glorious beach.
Now onto Louros Beach itself First the good bits.........
• Clean and presentable public areas especially bar which is quite stylish and nice place for an evening drink.
• Gardens are well kept, the gardener does a great job in a limited space.
• Staff most pleasant and polite, especially "Go Go" who does a great job on reception AND behind the bar!
Now the not so good bits............
• Rooms: Tiny - very cramped, toilet shower room is too small bedroom cramped. They have clearly tried to squeeze in as many letting rooms as possible and in my opinion spoiled things by making both the bedrooms and the whole complex feel very cramped.
• Breakfast: - Very basic offering and poor quality. Again in an effort to minimise cost they have clearly gone for low quality and poor selection. The orange "juice" for example is not juice at all by diluted orange squash very sweet and distinctly non orangey- Yuk! The luncheon meat and cheese slices were alright I suppose, but I really expected better. The (HB) eggs were overcooked with black yokes and metallic taste (threw mine away) the coffee was disgusting - cold and very bitter- possibly the worst coffee I have ever tasted!
• They ask you to clear tables yourselves (who wants to do chores on holiday anyway?)
As a result we had breakfast twice (first and last day) and chose to buy outside for about €5 on other days. What a shame! They put no effort into this at all and we felt a rather cheated as we had deliberately chosen to pick a hotel that offered breakfast, only to be driven away by such a poor offering.
Extra Charges: We paid extra to get room safe, and Air Con and Fridge. At €6 per day the air con is a must and reasonable value, we did not mind this so much but the tiny tiny fridge at €3 PER DAY! is a complete rip off! You really need one to keep water cold but that's over £20 a week!? At that rate they will pay for the entire thing within 3 or 4 hiring’s- extortion on a grand scale! I know their economy is in a mess but really? This takes the biscuit. Something quite essential and which used to be provided FOC!
Maintenance Issues - Very disappointed with response, when we complained on first day that shower doors broken, sink plug jammed (could not empty sink) and shower holder broken. (Meaning that water sprayed all over room and left the room 2 inches deep in water after a shower (not so good when one of the occupants is 83 years of age!)
After being initially told, - because sink was full of water and could not be emptied - to use a plastic cup to shave and brush teeth or use the shower (what! for a whole week?!) they did eventually relent and replaced it after about 3 days. The shower holder was eventually fixed on our last day (well at least the next occupants won’t have the problem) although shower doors went unresolved (Something you have to expect in Greece apparently) All this took 4 separate complaints to the hotel reception, a phone call to the Thomson holiday help line (which certainly made them move a bit faster!) AND a complaint to the local Thomson rep! I took absolutely no pleasure in this and to be honest it took some shine off the holiday. Look at the end of the day you don’t spend much time in your room, so it’s not the end of the world, I do not go on holiday to spend my energy complaining, and is not something I’m inclined to do, but the failure to take the complaint seriously and the fact the room was being used by my 83 year old father, made me all the more determined that they should DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!
None of this is what I expect of a 4 star establishment which they claim or even 3T Thomson rating. 2 star at most.
My issues with the hotel (poor breakfast, cramped rooms, poor maintenance, lack of action) I put would mostly put down to the Greek economy and a general reluctance by this hotel to spend a cent more than they could possibly get away with.
Having said that the holiday was relatively inexpensive (unlike the general cost of living in Greece which is about the same or slightly more than UK) and overall we enjoyed our holiday in Zante and liked Kalamaki. Just a shame that the hotel had a tight fisted approach to the enjoyment of its guests.
At the end of the day you get what you pay for I suppose?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AceHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great little place with beautiful gardens too - the pool / bar area is not intrusive as many are, and the food is of a high quality. The staff were excellent and it was a pleasure to stay there.
The only negative is the plane noise as it is next to the flight path - but rent the air-con and close the doors and it muted enough not to be a problem.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 30 in Kalamaki
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louros Beach Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louros Beach Hotel Spa

Property: Louros Beach Hotel Spa
Address: P.O. Box: 102, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Louros Beach Hotel Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Louros Beach Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louros Beach Hotel Kalamaki
Hotel Louros Beach
Louros Beach Hotel Spa Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing