We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Louros Beach Hotel Spa
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the best yet!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

stayed here last year had a fab holiday would strongly reccomend this hotel and have done! staff are friendly and the hotel is so clean! a very enjoyable holiday!! close to the beach and the main strip in kalamaki with very good restaurants we reccomend the olive tree and for the best mojito in town go to old kalamaki to mojito bar! great place for all ages.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    95
    21
    14
    2
See reviews for
76
186
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a late booking for my wife and I, and not necessarily a hotel we would have chosen. For this reason I have given it the benefit of any doubt and scored it a generous average.
Having travelled to Zakynthos on four previous occasions with my family (twice to Kalamaki) we know what to expect from hotels on the island and base the review on realistic expectations.
The general LOCATION of the hotel is very good, being situated only a two to three minute walk to the main beach (Kalamaki Beach) and The Strip (shops and restaurants), and only a ten minute drive to the airport.
We requested a quiet room on a high floor in advance of our arrival and although the hotel arguably attempted to meet this request the room was far from quiet. It was located facing the end of the airport runway which was hidden from view by trees but literally only a few hundred metres away (take a look on the satellite shot). We have previously stayed at a hotel only the next road along from the airport and were not bothered by aircraft noise, and travelling during late September thought this wouldn't pose a problem. However, when you're asleep the noise can be quite deafening. The shutters on the windows even rattled as planes came in to land and if 4.45am isn't classed as a night flight I don't know what the official definition is! On two nights/mornings planes kicked off at this time and on one occasion three had gone past our window by 5.10am. Still great to watch in the day though!
The interior PUBLIC AREAS are not too bad. They are clean and bright but not very welcoming - not the sort of place you'd want to hang about in. The breakfast room flows in to the main reception area and there is no internal bar area. The outside BAR and POOL area are very tired and clearly need a bit of TLC. We chose to leave the bar out of our itinerary (would usually have been included) and we're not pool people anyway so that didn't bother us. To be quite blunt the bar area needs some serious attention. If you have a late departure flight the hotel has a shower and changing room in the basement which is offered with free towels - a nice touch! The gardens are also a nice feature, with a spectacular little church sculpted out of trees and bushes and other fascinating pieces of topiary.
THE BREAKFAST is very basic. Some will make excuses saying that it is 'typically Greek', but in total we have stayed in seven Greek island hotels now and this was easily the worst. I'm not saying it wasn't fresh and of a reasonable quality, it was, but it was simply a sub-standard selection. Expect plain and simple and you will be ok.
As for the ROOMS - and from what we saw of others they were all the same - where do I start. In summary they were basic and very tired. On the positive side I can only say that there was a reasonable view across to the mountains in the distance. I will briefly list some of the negatives and you can make up your own mind. Depending on how far you've read back to you'll probably note that some of the themes are repeated:
AIR CON comes at a price. We paid 42 euros for the week. Not too bad if the remote wasn't totally pre-set by the receptionist. You can use it as and when you like but it's set at 22C and at a specific fan speed. If it's anything in the late 20's outside then allow at least ten minutes for it to bring the room to a bearable temperature. Ours had to be reset several times before it worked correctly.
SAFE. This cost 14 euros if I remember correctly. Quite a fair price you might think but it only takes a key.
FRIDGE. Also comes at a price which we weren't prepared to pay.
BEDS. The worst we've ever had - even on caravan holidays. They were extremely hard and one mattress was particularly uncomfortable. We asked for it to be replaced but they only placed a thin duvet on top and then left the sheets on top for us to make the bed. The beds were only ever straightened on top and not made. The sheets themselves were untouched - never come across this before! You should get the sheets (and towels) changed every three days. We placed ours on the floor to make sure.
SOUNDPROOFING. Disregarding the aircraft noise this was probably the noisiest place we've ever stayed at. You could hear every external room door being closed for within several rooms around us, TV's, music, people talking etc. Not a problem during the daytime but can be annoying after midnight. There were quite a few young couples at the hotel during our visit. Take some earplugs.
CLEANING. The floors were never touched, otherwise this was generally just about acceptable albeit superficial. Of the thirty or so hotels I have stayed at outside the UK this is the first time I haven't left the cleaning staff a tip.
TOILET. We were left with very little toilet paper on one occasion (just made it in case you were wondering) and no liner in the toilet paper bin on another (could have been messy) - pretty basic stuff really!
ANTS. It might be different in 2013 but if travelling this year take some ant killer with you. Our first 'ant attack' was dealt with promptly by the hotel but when the second one came along a couple of days later I was ready for the little blighters. They appear to be quite partial to anything remotely sweet that you leave lying around and half a dozen soon become a hundred.
We reported several of our complaints to the reception and only met two ladies. Rita was always very pleasant and helpful and probably did what she could (Ant and mattress problem). The other lady who was always on the late shift (dealt with air con issue) - no comment! We didn't feel it worth our while to report the other issues because we thought we'd just be wasting our time.
In fairness to the hotel though we are aware that 'one size does not fit all' and we spoke to many repeat visitors (all middle aged to elderly) who absolutely love the place and return year after year.
We may well return to Kalamaki again because we love the beach (particularly Stani's and Crystal Beach), the sea and some of the restaurants BUT we will definately give The Louros Beach a wide berth. Might book up earlier and try The Venus next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186378Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Its a lovely, quieter hotel, but still only a few minutes from both the beach & the strip, (bars & resturants). Very few children, what a bonus!!

The rooms are well adequate for the hotels rating, cleaned every day, towels replaced on the standard hotel principle, 'if you want fresh towels. leave them on the floor of the shower' The whole hotel was clean & well presented.

Breakfast is typically a Greek breakfast, lots of freash melon, Greek yoghurt (lovely with honey), toast, boiled eggs. Learn to eat Greek. If you want Full English there are a couple of resturants on the strip that do them.

The staff are its real plus, none of them could be more helpful!!! Christina & Gogo run the pool bar & do daytime snacks. The two receptionists are great, I need cotton & thread one day, they didnt have one at reception so the receptionist scurried off to her own room & came back with some of her own for me to use, that is service,

The Spa... Didnt try it myself, "old fashioned bloke" but my partner had a massage & manicure, she thought it was worth the trip to Zante, just for those, she loved it.

Sunbeds, more than enough & not on top of each other. Pool, pleasant and big enough for what is a small hotel. Pool bar, casual & friendly, try the 'special ice cream' & the cocktails!!
Resturants, loads on the strip, try as many diferent ones as you can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is mine and my husbands fourth stay at this hotel. It's fantastic ! Cannot fault anything with it. The staff are really friendly the hotel is clean and spacious and located near to the beach and the main strip where there are lovely tavernas to eat in. The hotel has a pool bar with fantastic food to offer and good priced drinks.
We recently got married in the gardens of this hotel and it was stunning ! The whole day from beginning to end was like a fairy tale for us. The staff worked so hard to make our day so special and they all succeeded and are a credit to them selfs for sure.
Our wedding was organised with Zante dream weddings and was stress less from beginning to end.
This hotel is very reasonable to stay in and we will be returning here for many years to come especially for our first anniversary next September

I would defiantly recommend this hotel and Zante dream weddings to anybody :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea_MDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

lovely, peaceful, friendly prefect for my boyfriend and i as our first holiday together. breakfest we miss after having it a few times wasnt very nice, very cheap english dishes on the main road, on kalamaki main road are favourite restaurant Pandesia staff brilliant food the best we went back there on our last night and they welcomed us again.. only really bad thing about this hotel is thta you have to pay for air-con when you get there!!! very annoying and it costs 60eruos a week,, but its well needed.. spa at hotel was amazing too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

+ VERY nice garden / environment
+ Nice morning receptionist
+ Close to the beach, Laganas, restaurants, clubs, well everything!
+ Quiet place! (except aircraft in the morning and evening).
+ The pool was nice and clean!
+ The spa was great and the girl who worked there was really nice and gave good massages!
+ The food in the bar was surprisingly good

- Ants in the rooms! (Not just a few,more like 100! They were everywhere! Even in our toothbrush)
- Boring breakfast (same for two weeks, they should be able to change some things u think!)
- Aircraft (not at night! So happy for that!)
- The bartender in the evening could not mix drinks, too strong even though we told her not to have so much alcohol! We are young and we like to drink, but she made them distasteful!
- They didn't change the towels and bedding every day, and when they did some of the things didn't look clean..I hope they were! =P
- They never swept the floor clean, so you had to live with the sand.
- The beds are really hard and the pillows as well! I'm used to sleeping on a firm bed at home but this one was to much! Especially the pillow!
- Our room was good size but our friends that payed as much as we did got smaller rooms...

Overall we are happy with our stay, but that's because we didn't spend the whole days there! ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattyy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

first time staying at louros beach hotel, was there from 27/08/2012 - 09/09/2012 .
very friendly hotel with clean and well maintained rooms, the pool is private and big enough the hotel.
the pool bar is probably the best you can find catering for food and and surprisingly cheap drinks.
and the staff are nothing but helpful, there is a lovely garden at the hotel and the beach is at most a 5 minute walk away from the hotel.
i will be going back and i would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: rooms on the south are less affected by the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louros Beach Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louros Beach Hotel Spa

Property: Louros Beach Hotel Spa
Address: P.O. Box: 102, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
#10 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Louros Beach Hotel Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Louros Beach Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louros Beach Hotel Kalamaki
Hotel Louros Beach
Louros Beach Hotel Spa Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing