We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed for a few nights in August. You're isolated but not too islolated and that's what makes it so perfect. You're right on a huge sandy beach, perfect for kids, and no other hotel next to you. For some reason the immediate area right around the hotel is undeveloped and quite lovely. You really do feel like you're in a little oasis. A five minute stroll and you can visit shops, bars and tavernas. It's all pretty tacky and even the Greek restaurants have "Greek Nights" so you can see it's all for the tourists. If you want real, unspoiled Greece, this isn't it. If you want a great hotel on the beach and just a lot of fun than this is ideal.

  • Liked — Isolated from other hotels and it's on a beautiful beach.
  • Disliked — The grounds/plants outside needed to be taken care of better.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Smyth-Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstantineZante, Owner at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you Very much for your kind words! Hope we see you again!

All the best,

-Constantine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    43
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
weymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

WE ARE THE BEAN FAMILY FROM WEYMOUTH
We have been coming to the CRYSTAL BEACH for years
it is so safe for our 2 girls the people are so friendly and welcoming and the hotel is so clean and the beds are comfy the rooms have air con and the villiage is perfect and the island as a whole has so much to offer.
We have taken lots of friends here all of them have loved it we are taking our neighbours this year roll on june!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — the cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beaniesonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

My boyfriend and I fancied a relaxing week away from the bustleof city life and boy did we get it!
The Hotel Crystal Beach is simply beautiful! Although very basic (as most Greek hotels are) the views that it offers make up for it.
We were very fortunate to have a room with a pool and sea view ...what a way to awake every morning!
Kalamaki itself it good but a little tacky! If you fancy cocktails, loud music etc it's perfect. We were slightly disappointed with the lack of culture, (Greek dancing and plate smashing in a very tourist kind of way is all it offers) but never mind...we drank instead!
Would definitely recommend this hotel - met many people who visit year after year and we can see why.
If it's relaxation and stunning views you're after, then this is the place for you!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlotteManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Me an my wife stayed for 1 week there and it was very nice. We didn't get a seaview room but our was very large. Rooms are ok but nothing fantastic. Hotel staff are kind and helpful.
The area is nice as you got bars, tavernas (Stani is very good), and shops as well as rent-a-car really nearby. The beach is excellent and you can walk to Laganas along the the sandy beach but it's almost 5 km one way! The only thing is that there are some barking dogs in the morning and it just disturb us.
We really enjoy the place and we'll surely go back again there.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JustbackfromZante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

Once again we landed on our feet with a last minute deal! The Crystal Beach Hotel in Kalamaki is nothing short of excellent. The rooms are of the studio sort found throughout Greece - reasonably sized. Ours was kept spotlessly by Athena (one of the maids). All seem to have a balcony (or terrace if you overlook the pool). The pool area and bar are excellent and were never really busy even during the start of the summer hols. The beach is only a short stroll down some steps from the pool terrace and is perfect for young children - you can walk out many yards offshore and the water is still only waist deep with a sandy bottom! Childrens play area. The restaurant and bar in the hotel are very good and there are 2 more good restaurants a short walk down the road. Minimarket and souvenirs nearby. We didn't really feel the need to leave the hotel area for the first few days - when we did finally pull ourselves away, a hire car through Avis gave us the chance to explore (brand new Focus with air conditioning - a must - for 3 days = £100). Recommend the water park near Zakynthos Town for little ones and Blue Caves, Smugglers Cove and Turtle Island in your own motor boat for the sightseers. A beautiful island with incredibly friendly people (especially if you have young children). Special mention to Anna and Dennis in the hotel restaurant and Ilias (not sure of the spelling!) the groundsman - spoilt our 4 year old daughter and made our holiday that much more memorable. Wonderful!! Say "Yassou" for us!

  • Liked — great location and unfailingly friendly staff
  • Disliked — rooms are a little small and it's on the same island as Laganas!!! Don't go there!
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure your air conditioning is included and if travelling with Thomson check if you get 7 nights or just 6. Basically, book it and go - you won't be disappointed unless you expect a palatial room.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank epsilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2006

my partner and i stayed at the crystal beach hotel for a week this june and what can i say apart from ITS AMAZING!
the view from our room was utterly breathtaking, it was clean and well cared for and the staff were fantastic, from anna ( the wonderfully friendly waitress) to ellias (the groundskeeper at the hotel, who spent 20 mins with us out of his break every day to teach us basic words in greek ) the local cuisine is delicious, i would reccomend a lamb kleftico to even the fussiest of eaters ( its a lamb stew cooked gently for hours then covered in feta cheese) and a chicken gyros at marios on the main kalamaki strip ( it is melt in the mouth chicken served on a warm pitta bread with salad, rice and chunky potato scallops)and for you lager drinkers, you must try a mythos, very refreshing and very addictive!!.
we found that speaking even a small amount of greek was very much appreciated by the locals ( good morning in greek is pronounced cally-mare-ah, good afternoon is
cally-spare-ah, thank you is ef-car-isto, hello is yammas) its obviously not spelt like that in greek but we found the easiest way to learn it was to write it as it sounds!!
we were so surprised at how friendly everyone was and made some good friends with many of the local bar and shop owners, in particular, dennis and spiros at InTime , the cocktail and coffee bar at the corner of the main strip, a hot chocolate in there at midnight was the perfect end to a perfect evening!
the beach is right outside the back of the hotel and was very clean and well maintained ( if you get up before 8am, and look over the balcony you can see the cleaners raking the sand out smooth to hide the tracks were the turtles have been up in the night to lay their eggs, watch out for the blue cones, they keep the buried eggs safe!), the only real drawback was that the beach was closed after 8pm til 8 am for the turtles but it really wasnt a major deal.
the rooms were cleaned daily, with fresh towels and sheets and the maids were so friendly.
if you cant face the greek breakfast of cheese,scrambled eggs, bead and jam, then we would suggest giving yo yo's ( a 2 min walk from the hotel) a try, its a english cafe with a wonderful selection of breakfast foods from the usual full english to cereal and fruit salad and they serve the best cup of tea!
we found a little shop next to yo yo's that sold frozen mineral water which really was a life saver as its so hot there.
we took a trip to zante town that was lovely but be wary of the bar and cafe workers as they tend to wait outside and try to force you in to eat or drink,not in a nasty way, but they dont give up! we found the easiest solution was to say we would pop by after doing our shopping!
we can honestly say that this was the best holiday that we have had and are already planning a trip back to the crystal beach hotel for next june, its relaxed and friendly atmosphere just cant be beaten. if you choose to stay there, you wont be disapointed!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Perfect location, the only beach fronted hotel in Kalamaki, a single footstep from terrace to beautiful sandy beach. Be sure to ask for room with a sea view. Always fully booked unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C4thyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.7 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 30 in Kalamaki
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Beach Hotel

Property: Crystal Beach Hotel
Address: Yipsolithos, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#23 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crystal Beach
Crystal Beach Kalamaki
Crystal Beach Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing