We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most enjoyable hotel to be in”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carreta Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
morecambe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“most enjoyable hotel to be in”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spent a week in kalamaki and spent all our time at this hotel,we never bothered with the one we were booked in,All the staff were brilliant and very friendly,spent a lot of time at taz's bar,what a star he is,were made to feel very welcome,nice to meet jay,jamie,ryan,jasmine and last but not least our daughter chloe, will be back soon and booking in here and a big thankyou to thomas and the other managers,if you have children i have not seen anywhere better and we have travelled a lot,thanks again and see you all soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MorecambeCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    423
    199
    66
    55
See reviews for
1,052
115
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hi me and my family have just came back from our holiday and had a great time.i have a 15mth girl and a 4 year old boy and they loved it. There is a lot of things for the kids to do but can cost a bomb as its a euro for most rides if not more. We was there for 2 weeks but only did one trip to see the turtles what was ok. The entertainment at night was not all that but did not stay at the Hotel at night as there was a lot more on offer outside. The people was nice and helpful. The good was nice but but not all that as we eat out sometimes and the kids did not eat much as it was the same all the time. The drinks are not very good all watered down :( but its cheap to eat and drink out. The beach is about a 20mins walk but not good dirty. The rooms are ok for what you need it for clean towers every 2 days but cleaned every day a part from one as its there day off. But it's was a good holiday and you make the most of it and its was very hot. Steph Nottingham

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nottsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just got back from a week at Caretta Beach and it has been one of the best holidays we have had. I have 2 children aged 6 & 9. The pools and water park is fab!! Am surprised my children haven't got webbed feet as they haven't been out of the water for a week. We went all inclusive which I was a little anxious about but the food was excellent and suited all tastes. A very large choice and variety on offer. The restaurant staff are lovely. So welcoming, kind and helpful with a good sense of humour. The entertainment staff always seem in a good mood and nothing ever seems to much trouble for them. The hotel cleanliness is excellent. The water in all the pools is checked regularly and everywhere is kept clean and tidy all the time. I can't comment on the kids club as my children didn't go to them but we will consider it next time we visit because WE ARE definitely going back. The bottom line this ticks all the boxes when you have children. Happy kids - happy holidays!!!!
Thank you.

Room Tip: Wouldn't choose ground floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from Caretta beach my 12th visit there, another fabulous holiday,outstanding food in the restaurant the new chef Andreos and his team were lovely and very welcoming. Jay and his entertainers were great fun, Taz in the pool bar, what can I say, he is absolutely fantastic the place would not be the same without him, he is caring hard working and just fab in every way.Savela and Nikos on reception are so helpful nothing is to much trouble for them, and not forgetting the maintainence team and the maids they work so hard and do a great job.The only negative comment I have is about Kids Club team, I felt that some of them could benefit from more training, and the lack of a supervisor let it down, something Thomas Cook need to address.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
thank you very much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Myself, my husband, and our three kids aged 7, 6 and 3 had a lovely week at the Caretta Beach.

The staff were very nice and welcoming right from the start of the holiday. The holiday / kids club reps were great too.

The hotel is right next to the airport, but aeroplanes were not very frequent and we didn’t really notice any noise. In fact the kids enjoyed seeing the odd plane.

We had an apartment for 5. It was basic but clean and tidy. It suited us as we had a room with a double bed in it and the kids had three single bed in the second floor on the same level as the toilet.

The water park was really good. They have a large splash pool for little children. The only concern we had is that the pool was really cold so the kids didn’t spend has much time has they normally would in there. The water slides are fun for all and are open two or three at a time at various points throughout the day.

The restaurant was clean and tidy and the choice of food for adults was good. There could have been a better choice for kids but being a family of five doing all inclusive with them for the past six years we know this is what to expect.

Our kids love the Thomas Cook kids club and would have done all 4 clubs per day if allowed. We limited them to one 

The entertainment was great. The kids couldn’t wait to get to the mini disco. However, as soon has the kids entertainment had finished the kids wanted to go do the parade at the back of the resort. This had bouncy castles and rides. It was 2 euro to get into the bouncy castles and they could spend has long has they wanted in there (5 great castles, pirate ships etc.) Although the rides and castles weren’t part of the all-inclusive we didn’t mind as there are tables to sit at and you can still use the all-inclusive bar.

We had a trip to the beach. The hotel runs a free mini bus throughout the day. It’s a small beach but really nice and kids enjoyed building castles, turtle spotting (none seen) and playing in the waves.

We had a trip into Zante town which was really enjoyable. We were dropped off at the church along the sea front which is worth a look around. Part of the town looks run down however has we walked up the mariner into the town square it became really nice. We ate in a restaurant in the square which was really nice authentic Greek cuisine and the kids loved chasing the pigeons around the square.

This holiday is suited to families with young children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DellyonHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Caretta Beach from 30 May for 10 days as a family of four with two children aged 8 and 5 and had a fantastic time.

I've been to lovely 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world with my husband but once kids come along you adjust your criteria and expectations. Certain parts of the Caretta Beach are more 3 star than 4, but on the whole the facilities and everything else about this hotel are great, the price is very good compared to other hotels and its totally suited to a family with kids, so I would definitely recommend it.

The hotel is situated close to the airport so the 10 minute transfer is a bonus. You can see the planes taking off when you're sat in the Water Park but it didn't bother us in the slightest and the planes don't fly at night.

The weather wasn't as good as I'd hoped but that's hardly the hotel's fault! We had 2 bad days out of 10 and the rest of the time it was sunny in the day (mid-20's), but cool of an evening.

ROOMS
This is the area that lets the hotel down and for me stopped it being a true 4 star. Accommodation consists of 2 storey blocks spread around the grounds. We had a one bedroom apartment. It was a dated and quite basic but spacious and adequate for the amount of time we spent in it. You have to pay for the safe (we paid 20 Euros for 10 days), but worth doing. It will say in the room you need to pay for air conditioning but it was free. We had a TV showing English channels (BBC, CBeebies, ITV) so useful for catching up with news back home. There was a little kitchen area in one corner with a sink, fridge, microwave and cupboard. Not really much use to self-cater with, but an bonus for all-inclusive. The maids came in 6 days a week and our towels were changed 4 times in 10 days which was ok for us.

FOOD
The restaurant is self-service buffet. Breakfasts were a choice of Continental and Full English. Lunch and dinner had a choice of a fish dish, a couple of meat dishes (usually pork, turkey or chicken), some show cooking and the usual veggies and salads. There was a kids area with chips, pasta and sauce, sausages, chicken nuggets, etc. Lots of cake desserts, jelly, ice cream and fruit. On the whole the food was lovely (the chicken pie was the best I've ever had!). My daughter and I can be quite fussy but we ate well the whole holiday. At the main bar and Water Park bar you can also get snacks all day i.e. toasties, pizza, chips, etc and best of all you can help yourself to ice cream as much as you want which was lovely as in previous hotels you can only have them at set times. All our family came back considerably heavier than when we went!!!

FACILITIES
Lots of swimming pools of various sizes. Note - the hotel don't provide beach towels so you need to bring your own. The most popular pools seemed to be the main pools near the restaurant, one of which had a net across for water volleyball, etc and those in the Water Park. The Water Park is absolutely brilliant and is enclosed to the side of the hotel and is open 10.30-5. There were always sun loungers available but if you want a prime spot I'd suggest queuing up from 10.15. There's large shallow pool with slides and water features suitable for children up to around 10 years old. There was a wave pool which operated at set times of the day. A lazy river and the larger slides, some in a tunnel, some with twists and turns and a multi lane slide, two which you sit in rings to go down and the ultimate kamikaze slide. About half are open at any one time and there were hardly any queues to get on. What I loved was you could position yourself on a sun lounger in the middle of the water park and watch your kids in whichever area they were in, plus there were lots of life guards on duty.

The evening entertainment consisted of a disco at 8pm for young children followed by adult shows, etc but I can't comment on these as we never watched them in full but they didn't look overly impressive. There were organised football matches (which the boys all loved) from 7-9pm and there was a fair type area with bouncy castles, trampolines, go carts, merry-go-round rides, etc but note these are not included and were 1 or 2 Euros each to go on. The best value by far was the bouncy castles as they stamped your hand so you could come and go all evening for 2 Euros.

There was a kids club which operated through the whole day. My kids only went for 2 sessions but had a lovely time.

We found the staff all to be very helpful and friendly.

BAD POINTS

1. There was only one double wardrobe with 2 drawers in our room for 4 people which is totally inadequate!! Some clothes had to stay in the suitcase the whole holiday! There was plenty of space in the main area to put a chest of drawers in and this should be done.

2. The bathroom had no shelf or cupboard for toiletries. We had to balance my husband's shaving gear and our toothbrushes, etc around the edge of the basin!

3. No bottled water was provided anywhere! There were water dispensers but all you could take was a cup at a time. Bottled water should be available around the hotel and in the rooms.

4. The restaurant opening times need some amending. Breakfast started at 8 which was too late. Anyone going on a day trip or an early flight had to miss breakfast. There were also a lot of families with young kids who wake early who wanted to have their breakfast earlier. I would say 7 or 7.30 would be a better time to open. Dinner started at 7 and oh my God, what a bun fight!! There was always a queue at opening time (& much annoyance caused by some people who just went straight to the front - mostly Russians!) Anyone arriving at 7.30 could not find a table. As the evening entertainment started at 8, most people wanted to be in at 7 so they could be out by 8. I would strongly suggest amending the opening time to 6pm so they'd be less of a stampede.

These bad points are definitely outweighed by the good. Its a hotel which keeps kids entertained and as any parent knows, if the kids are happy and occupied, then you get to have a relaxing holiday. We would definitely go bad to his hotel again if the situation arose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

From start to finish apart from hotel entertainers Jamie jay cloe and jasmine Harry and not sure on others names they were fantastic had lots of laughs and fun they gave us all but as for everything else the manager sakis or belilo he is the most nastiest man you would like to meet them poor restaurant workers worked there n ts off and were run ragged everyday don't drink any wine from restaurant manager sakis was pouring what was left on tables into other bottles left by others restaurant not clean went in 3 mornings to find chairs covered in slime eggs not fried whites left still slimy everything covered highly in pepper only had 2 breakfasts and 3 lunches 5 evening meals for the 2 weeks we were there no prices up on board for candy floss waffles ect was charged 2 euros 1st night then put up prices to 3 then 3.50 wouldn't go back to this hotel pools only cleaned 1 during our stay never saw hosepipe swilling floors down ever all inclusive drinks terrible never saw anyone drunk apart from chap with broken arm and finger trying to wee in pool ha ha what a laugh he went home with one lovely white arm

Room Tip: Stay away there must be better and cleaner hotels in Greece
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
im sorry you didnt enjoy your holiday, many of your comments i find hard to understand, however this is your honest review and i respect it and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exotica Hotel & Spa by Zante Plaza
5.5 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carreta Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carreta Beach Holiday Village

Property: Carreta Beach Holiday Village
Address: Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carreta Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caretta Beach is a modern hotel situated in Kalamaki on the south coast of the most beautiful island in the Ionian Sea, Zakynthos. The hotel is in a private, picturesque area by the main road of Kalamaki, only 4km from the capital city Zakynthos Town and 2km from the International airport of the island. The soft sandy beach is only a 5 minute walk away and is the home of the famous loggerhead turtles, Caretta-Caretta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Kalamaki
Hotel Caretta Beach
Carreta Beach Holiday Village Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing