We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best 1st family holiday we could have asked for”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carreta Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Reviewed May 10, 2013

lovely hotel with fab staff making you feel very welcome from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave

WEATHER: we stayed from may 2-9 and it was an unusually hot may according to locals and staff so feel we got more than our moneys worth there, on our 2nd day the temp went from 41- 42 luckily we were on a coach at the time we did have a few showers during the week but they were welcomed with my son having a bad ezcema outbreak so had to keep him in the shade or covered up most of our holiday
never the less this didn't ruin our holiday.... we were booked into room a217 nice room which was cleaned and beds made daily room was big enough for the 4 of us

ENTERTAINMENT: was great for the kids but does go on until 11:30, not an issue if like me you can sleep with a little bit of noise but block A wouldn't be suitable if your not as lucky
the lift did break on the 2nd day we got there and didn't work again till the morn we left so not too good if you have a double buggy or a heavy 1... we was great full for the work out up and down the stairs to work off the food we scoffed

FOOD: excellent could not fault the adults selection but found the kids to be a little disappointing always the same choice but to be fair the kids are more than happy with it so no biggy and the head chef was more than happy to offer to make the kids something else when he noticed they wasn't eating
be warned tho pudding is available at breakfast, lunch and dinner... not good for the waistline :)
the bf who is a fussy eater was well happy with choice of food and didn't want to leave hotel... in fact none of us did

WATER PARK: loads of choice for kids all sizes old and young :)
the zebra stripped slide stole my bikini top so be advised to hold on to it tight
and the orange 1 was by far the best in my opinion but i didn't go on them all

TRIPS: we did the turtle trip costing us 18 euro each for adults and kids went free... we booked this through a local travel company if you come out of the hotel and turn right at pandesia on the opposite side of the road just by the euro car hire place is where she is located
we shopped around and this was the cheapest we found
we did see the blue caves and shipwreck but that was from hiring a car and driving around the whole island which doesn't take long
the blue caves we had to get a boat to and paid 30 euros for the 2 adults and 2 kids at some random side road seller who drove the boat
we got some excellent pictures as his smaller boat took us inside the caves themselves
we drove to the shipwreck and looked down which i think is better than being stuck on a boat for hrs with a screaming 1 year old

CAR HIRE: shop around for this although wasn't many good offers to be found we got ours from the euro hire place for 60 euros for the 2days and petrol cost us 20 and we did the whole island plus a little extra on that

all in all we had a fab holiday and would go back in a heartbeat.... was that good we almost rang thomas cook half way through to see about extending our holiday
had we not had work commitments we would have done so
would recommend this hotel and island for anyone wanting a holiday where u are made to feel more than welcome and relaxed
will defo be going back in the future

Room Tip: don't stay in blocks around pool if you need silence to get to sleep at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank madsleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest thank you for your post, we do hope to see u all again soon , much love caretta beach xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 928 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Literally just got back to the uk after an amazing week at the caretta, from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome, me and my friend went and I'm definitely booking up for next year! The staff are so friendly,I actually welled up a little when I left! Taz,Aris and Craig in the main bar are the friendliest people you could meet ever! Then there's the kids entertainers (orange shirts) I didn't take my children this year but we still made friends with them all theyre a great bunch Jamie, jasmin,jay, evhan, and ryan They keep the kids and adults entertained all day and night, the food is amazing, lots of variety and fresh meals in a very clean restaurant once again the staff are friendly and will chat and have a laugh and joke with you, the water park caters for all ages there's lots of pools and plenty of sun loungers. Free wifi in reception area too, I honestly can't think of anything bad about this place it's just perfect I can't wait to go back :) amazing hotel and amazing staff there thanks for the best holiday ever and see you all next year :) xxx

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Hello, thank you very much, we hope to see you soon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

How i will start and how i will finish? From the reception to restaurant from rooms to the pool everywhere was really great! I talked with many people from the staff and they did everything to complete that amazing trip. I am really happy to have people like them in Greece because anyone thinks that Greeks aren't friendly . This is wrong! If someone go to this hotel again he will see many friendly people like Σηφης(restaurant) Στεφανια (restaurant) Νικος (reception) Tomas (everywhere) Σταυρος (manager) Αλεξανδρος/Αλεξ (outdoor bar) Γιαννης (outdoor bar) Jasmin (orange team) and many others ..
Something about the food now.. Delicious!!
Great job from Chefs ( they learned that things in Corfu that's why) i 've been in many hotels in many countries all over the world and in Greece but like this ? Nowhere! Thanks and i hope we will speak soon

(I will say something again, the food was fantastic)

Σηφης Στεφανια and Tomas are the best of the best

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGreekFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to meet your family, we thank you and hope to see you soon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Been to Caretta 3 times now, and lovely every moment of it, the hotel is spotless and soooo amazing, it has 9 pools, including 2 jacuzzis, a waterpark ionsite which is free to residents, the bars are wonderful, there is one in the hotel which is the main bar, then 1 at the waterpark,(wave pool, lazy river, childrens pool and crazy slides ect, and adult mixture of slides and flumes) and another our favourite at another pool, this was run by Taz and Maro two really lovely people..the food which was produced by Ayman and his team was the best selection and taste ever, and so colourful..there was a shuttle to the beach, i would advise if there is more than one person it was easier to get a cab rather thena transfer as the cab was only 15 euros, (2012) Their motto is arrive as a guest and leave as a friend, which is apsolutely true...can`t say enough about this place..and i have kept in touch with the many friends i made at this wonderful place..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank crestawaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Hi and thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Going back for 11 nights with my family (boy aged 7, daughter aged 5) this time between June 16th-27th as a week just flies!

Really looking forward to going there with this being our 3rd trip in the last 3 years.

Cant fault the place, always enough sun loungers around the pools or the joined on aqua park (which is outstanding for all age groups).

Food is really good in the restraunt, and there are plenty of snacks including chips & pizzas throughout the day and the kids (and adults alike can help themselves to unlimited amounts of ice-cream all day too!).

Plenty of drinks to choose from, and over the last year they`ve made it easier with some cocktails and kids drinks being self-serve so much quicker too.

Appartments can be seen to your right of the plane seconds before landing (can see the aqua park...especially the orange boomarang ride), therefore would advise to get a taxi there as Thomas Cook charge £100 for transfers for a family of 4 when it is literally only about 2 miles away max, (would be about 800m as the crow flies!).

You can watch the planes landing from the aqua park which is nice and they don`t fly in the nights as not to upset the turtles on the beaches with them being sacred!!!

In the nights we mostly enjoyed just chilling by having a few drinks from the bar and watching the kids play in the on-site park, quietly relaxing after a fun day.

If you want to watch the entertainment which is located at the main bar this is very good too!

All the best.....Greg, Llanelli, S.Wales

Room Tip: We`ve stayed in B block as overlooking one of the pools and close to the main bar, restraunt and aqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 661GregC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

went for one week aug 12 , brilliant place took a 10 year old she loved it , brill family place .taz was brill in his bar , on site water park great food plenty and really nice. sad to say it was only a week.a fab relaxing time would do it again tomorrow

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The resort is in a beautiful location, made up of a lovely collection of smaller hotels around a main complex which includes shops, bars, restaurants. Staffed by great, friendly staff, serving great food, the kids loved the whole experience, and they enjoyed the secure kids club and their activities. Complex includes access to the safe water park. not to far to walk to the lovely clean beach, but hotel provides a free bus. Kids never bored, plenty to do. Decent evening entertainment. Hope to come back as it was effortless in respect of keeping the kids busy and entertained. Would be great for both families with small kids and for teenagers. Short transfer from airport was a bonus too!

Room Tip: The resort is a collection of hotels. I stayed in the main complex, but expect all rooms would be of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Bluebell2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest we realy thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exotica Hotel & Spa by Zante Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carreta Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carreta Beach Holiday Village

Address: Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: $163 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carreta Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caretta Beach is a modern hotel situated in Kalamaki on the south coast of the most beautiful island in the Ionian Sea, Zakynthos. The hotel is in a private, picturesque area by the main road of Kalamaki, only 4km from the capital city Zakynthos Town and 2km from the International airport of the island. The soft sandy beach is only a 5 minute walk away and is the home of the famous loggerhead turtles, Caretta-Caretta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Kalamaki
Hotel Caretta Beach
Carreta Beach Holiday Village Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing