We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing family holiday!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carreta Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just got back from the Caretta Beach hotel after a weeks stay (5th-13th Aug)with my husband and 2 sons (14 & 11). I can honestly say that we had a lovely relaxing time!
The staff were polite and friendly and always made you feel welcome !
The restaurant- The food was good there was always a wide variety of salads, meats , potatoes etc...even for those who are fussy! Any one who has been on All inclusive holidays will know that yes it can become a bit repetitive and people should not complain about the fact that yes the pork fillets may then reappear the next day as stroganoff as isn't that what you would do at home instead of wasting food? The desserts were amazing too.
We stayed in F block in a lovely large room, it was kept clean floor moped and swept daily, towels changed every other day you only had to ask the maid if you needed anything such as an extra pillow/ sheet etc. yes we heard the mentioned cockerel and the dog but they were not a nuisance and I feel that giving a bad review because of these things is ludicrous ( do these people live in some kind of a bubble?)
The water park - You could always find a subbed no matter what time you decided to go, the Life Guards were very attentive which was reassuring and the slides were good, the Lazy river was very relaxing!
All in all it was an enjoyable holiday, we didn't do any of the organised trips, or use the kids club but those who did said they had enjoyed them! The entertainment was ok - if you go with a realistic expectation then you will have a lovely time!

Room Tip: Advisable to try and see if you can have your room for an extra night for 40 euros if you have an ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Caretta Beach. Pool area and Water park were brilliant. Kids really enjoyed. Life guards & First aid were brilliant (we did have to use the first aid on our last day). Cleanliness was excellent. Food was good with a great choice for adults and kids. However the drinks were poor, and not all inclusive. Very watered down!!

We were in J block and the rooms were tired. Air con was very poor and noisy, so rooms were too hot and only cooled down by 3am. Kids club and day entertainment got better at the week went on but thought the evening entertaining could have been better. They worked hard, but was lacking. On the whole I thought it wasn't a 4 start hotel with "All Inclusive".

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SJD9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned back from Caretta beach today after 10 days with my husband and 4yr old daughter. Lovely hotel all in all. We stayed in F block which had received bad reviews previously but we had no problems- the cockerel wasn't as loud as made out and the dog disappeared after a few days(!!). Food was excellent and staff there were lovely even though some holiday makers can be so rude! (how hard is it to say thanks to those who clean up your mess?!) found the big "chef" to be a bit too creepy for my liking though. Rooms comfy but housekeeping was poor- they only seemed to sweep visible floor area and under beds/in corners etc was disgraceful. Entertainment was great- very friendly and they put up with alot in the heat etc- although they are not 'kids club' even though they are CRB checked/qualified first aiders and some parents thought it was fine to just dump their kids on them for the day! If you want kids club then use the Thomas Cook one!! The entertainment team are there for all not just kids!! Max and Tash great and really made holiday. Bar staff could have been friendlier but they had their favourites in my opinion. Pools and water park fab!! All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gayle1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

wow best holiday ever should be 5 stars my son who has autism was looked after amazingly even got one to one by kids rep clair leanne toni and sam thanks girls you worked hard with Luke. The rep Sarah thanks with helping my dad you made his holiday happy. Jay and Maxine fantastic hard workers great with the kids so much fun with the entetainment MR and MRS so funny entertainment every night greek night great. And the food i had something different every night amazing food to much chioce all made fresh and to the highest of standard all very pretty amazing deserts clean and very well presented and Ayman a amazing chef hes great walking around loving the kids and so good at high fives. Overall waterpark fantastic entertainers fantastic bar starff fantastic REPS the best fast understanding and very quick at sorting you out. I cant fault this place it was a dream holiday if you dont go and have the best holiday EVER then maybe you should stay at home. clean tidy gardens beautiful love the pretty flowers growing up the walls. We stayed in Bblock over looking the main pool fantastic wouldnt recomend Dblock tho dogs bark all night and rooster all morning but its farm land not the hotels fault hope you all have as much fun as we did we will come back for sure thank you Thomas manager of caretta beach for a wonderful hotel and comfort x

Room Tip: Bblock or Ablock is in the main area so you get good views of the main pool and entertainment and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elaine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just returned from 2 wonderful weeks at caretta beach. The hotel is excellent, the waterpark is amazing and kept all of us (my husband and I and our 2 children fully entertained!). The food is good and there is always a good range. The staff are wonderful, so friendly and brilliant with the children. The entertainment team work very hard.
The rooms are very clean, we stayed in b block which was excellent. However, storage space for 4 is very limited so travel lightly!
Please do not book the Jolly Roger trip through Thomas Cook it was awful! A waste of 75 euros! The boat was crammed full of people, we had nowhere to sit and ended up being perched on a wooden box! We booked 2 further trips (speedboat turtle spotting which was amazing and waterpark- brilliant) with Mythos travel. They were excellent, very friendly and much better value for money! I would definitely recommend these people for trips.
Anyone holidaying at Caretta Beach is in for a wonderful holiday -enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Fantastic holiday. Stayed 26th July - 2nd August in A block. Spotlessly clean room.
Food great - lots of choices & various theme nights.
Water park is excellent & plenty of sun beds around the various other swimming pools.
Hope to be back again next year.

Room Tip: A block modern. Room 202 plenty big enough for couple with 14 yr old
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sue19677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just got back from Caretta Beach today after a really fab two weeks there, with my partner and our 7 year old daughter. We were in J Block which was literally a one minute walk to the main reception area and was close enough to everything and also quiet enough as it was away from the main bar and entertainment area.
The pools were brilliant and as there are so many of them they don't appear to be crowded at all, even though the hotel was fully booked throughout our time there. The water park is fantastic!
There was always plenty for the kids to do and our daughter made some really good friends. Jay, the entertainment manager was fab with the kids and didn't even mind our daughter and her friend following him around and singing songs about him- he presented them a with a certificate on Saturday night for being 'smelly' as their songs involved them mainly singing 'Jay is very smelly'!! His evening games were good- you could involve yourself as much or as little as you liked and he always tried his best to entertain. Goran was a fab magician and Maxine was really friendly too.
Taz, at the pool bar was really friendly and always chatty and happy.
Snacks were mainly pizza,burgers,hot dogs, toasties etc and were ok and the food in the main restaurant was good- always a huge salad selection too and plenty of fresh fruit. We did eat out a few times, as it can become a little repetitive after a while but generally the standard of food was very high.
There is a free bus from the hotel to the local beach which is lovely and only a few minutes away and also a free coach from the main road to St Nicholas beach which is brilliant for water sports.
We went to Laganas beach which isn't the nicest beach I've ever been to, but we hired a pedalo which was brilliant as we got within a few feet of a turtle and then jumped in the sea and touched it and swam along with it. The kids absolutely loved it!!
If you want to book a trip, my advice would be NOT to book through Thomas Cook but to take a walk up the road (a few minutes away) and book something there. Friends of ours booked the Jolly Roger trip through Thomas Cook- it cost them 70 euros and it was disasterous!! There were 400 people crammed onto the boat with only 4 toilets and as the sea was very rought that day, people were very sick! It was advertised as being great for children, but the entertainment on board was virtually non existent. Quite a number of people on the trip wrote letters of complaint to Thomas Cook. We booked a one hour turtle spotting trip from one of the places on the main road and it was brilliant. It cost 13 euros per adult and the kids were free- Thomas Cook wanted 17 euros for adults and 9 euros for children for exactly the same thing. We were taken from the place we booked it by minibus up to Laganas and then put on a yellow turtle spotting boat which has an underwater viewing area where you are guaranteed to see the turtles.
All in all, I would definitely recommend Caretta Beach Hotel. We had a fabulous time, met some really great people and would have loved to have stayed another week!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gailhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exotica Hotel & Spa by Zante Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carreta Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carreta Beach Holiday Village

Address: Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: $121 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carreta Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caretta Beach is a modern hotel situated in Kalamaki on the south coast of the most beautiful island in the Ionian Sea, Zakynthos. The hotel is in a private, picturesque area by the main road of Kalamaki, only 4km from the capital city Zakynthos Town and 2km from the International airport of the island. The soft sandy beach is only a 5 minute walk away and is the home of the famous loggerhead turtles, Caretta-Caretta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Kalamaki
Hotel Caretta Beach
Carreta Beach Holiday Village Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing