We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday - would go back!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carreta Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hotel is great. Clean. Rooms were nice. Cleaned every other day. Duplex apartment had upstairs double room with plenty of space but lacked living area so with 3 kids downstairs was a little cramped but you;re never in the room for long! Staff fantastic and really friendly. Top rate! Room was in block B near main bar so bit noisy so if you want a quieter location request different block KL or M. Waterpark in with the hotel. Great for kids and lifeguards were spot on. There were lots of them and didnt let anyone muck around so you felt safe enough to let the kids do their own thing. Food nice, obviously can be repetitive but still lots of choice and always really nice. Weather fab! All inclusive included bottled water at dispensers throughout the hotel and didnt pay for safe or air con which was good. Drinks a plenty. Free pool tables for the kids. The only thing to let it down slightly, and not too much, was the evening entertainment, they could do with a couple of extra shows but was still good. Was a great holiday and I never thought I would say I would go back but I would. Highly recommended. 5 mins from airport too.

Room Tip: Request a quieter room away from main blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tonyt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caretta060, Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

Just a short note , read next review comprehensive and fair, the only thing that could spoil this hotel is the moaning Brits !!.
taz, and the staff do this place proud. The head chef is very approachable and will sort out meals that you fancy, you just have to ask!!
Met some great people,
as a first experience of a Greek island would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shankzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caretta060, Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hotel and the staff do not deserve negative reviews. We travelled with our 2 children 11 and 7 years old. First time for us ALL inclusive as well as the hotel and what a different holiday we have had. We are relaxed and no money stressing while there.

We cannot complain about anything. Our room was clean and fresh. Air conditioning is free with ALL inclusive you have to make sure the balcony door is shut and locked to turn it on ;)
For those moaning about showers, and the bathroom - in Greece they do not use shower curtains they have a wet room but they also gave you a bath or shower option which is not always the case. The maids have a day off once a week so you may find your room not tidy, ours was a Friday but the reception was happy for us to have a fresh bag for our toilet bin when requested.

Some people just cannot help but moan and should remember we are the visitors and each country visited has its own cultures and ways ( ie do not put tissue paper down the toilet in Greece there pipes are not made for it!!)

We arrived at Carretta beach hotel at 6.30am on Monday 25th July and returned home reluctantly yesterday after a fantastic rest in the sunshine.

We were welcomed with a smile and all questions answered and then directed to our room within minutes of arriving. We were in D Block which also backs onto the residential area behind, we were never kept awake by the dogs or cockerel and kept both our bathroom window and small window in main area open at ALL times. These people must be very light sleepers.

We spent the first 3 days at our small pool relaxing and acclimatising ourselves and just popped in to the water park for an hour in the afternoon. This soon changed as the children made friends and we spent every day at the waterpark from it opening at 10.30am - 5pm they used the other pools(7 pools) and a short walk to the beach before and after.

The slides open on a rota time table that is at the bottom of each slide and the wave pool as lifeguards man top and bottom of ALL slides and the children's large fun pool. The children soon got into the rota of the slides and knew what opened first next and last NEVER missing a turn on any slide in any day unless chosen to miss as having fun elsewhere. This also helped you to know what time of day you were at as the children would return to say its wave pool time etc Lifeguards very conscientious of ALL childrens and adults safety and were approachable.

We spent many evenings after the waterpark at the Pool bar relaxing at Taz's bar while the children swam around and played with friends. Taz is one amazing person he works very very hard and always has a smile and knows who is next to be served at his circular bar, he deserves a trophy. Many British people would complain if they had to work 7 days a week opening for customers from 11am till 7pm and also before and after to stock and clean. We learnt alot from Taz about the island and thank him for the advise he gave us for were to visit when we hired our jeep for the day from Hermes on the strip.

The entertainment was available during the day and evening if you wanted to join in or leave it with a very friendly hotel showtime group hosting. And then the Thomas Cook kids club did a few mini discos also. The Greek night on Friday was great fun and the second week was better when more people were willing to join in.

The kids club was available for drop in sessions Mon - Sat which our son only used the drop in twice as the water park and 7 pools were far to much fun. They both did attend 3 of the bookable activities with extra cost and thoroughly enjoyed Choc Attack !!!

Kalamaki beach is a short walk away or the hotel have a free shuttle bus Mon - Fri. The beach is beautiful and quiet enough in spots to put your towel down and not be sat on top of everyone else. We hired a pedalo and went out turtle spotting, we think we saw one shadow but it did not surface while we stopped. We did however see a turtle on our arranged turtle trip ( but the boats do torment the turtles once they are up and about!)

The food and service in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner was fantastic and always warm and fresh with a good variety to choose from. Meat, fish, potato, vegetable, rice, pasta dishes and salad bar, Kids own buffet with chips every day!! for the fussy eater but our two children explored and tried lots of new dishes. The beef stifado was delicious and the Chinese vegetable rissotto was a favourite. The food on Greek night was great with the traditional roast piglet among one of the options.
Working in the catering field back here in the UK in a secondary school kitchen we do not cater for half as many people, we understand how hard it can be at times to keep the food topped up and everything available but the chef and his team did a cracking job and the food was always warm and fresh. All the chefs are approachable and are happy to talk when out in the restaurant and even prepared to provide a fresh chopped lemon when asked as I do not drink tea and coffee but do like a hot drink occasionally.

Although there was queues at the bars it was not continuous it was mainly just after dinner and at 10.30pm a mad rush to get last orders before the end of the free all inclusive. The main bar does turn the lights low and music down at 11pm for the sake of guests who may have already turned in however we sat in the bar till after midnight one evening and people were still being sold drinks.

The children want to know when we can book to go back again. They looked in the brochure for 2012 and said ours still looks better than other aqua mania resorts.

Our flight meant that we should have checked out of our room 18hours before leaving to go to the airport but the hotel were happy for us to have a late check out ( they had said to check 2 days before leaving to see if available) which cost 40€ it would have cost us more for our lunch and dinner on the strip and this kept ALL all inclusive benefits rather than just pool,drinks and snacks.

Our Thomas Cook experience has also been one of the best from Leanne in our local branch who helped us find this holiday in our budget and to all our requirements and to our hotel rep Zara who is full of information and local knowledge.

We have and will and would recommend and return to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank PAGH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caretta060, Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

A great place for a family holiday,The staff could not do more for you(tony was the best).The entertaiment team was crap if you are english.Food and drink was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jas0n72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caretta060, Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We have stayed in kalamaki 5 times before and thought we would try the caretta.
We emailed before our arrival to ask for a room in the new blocks , which we did get.
The rooms are modern and spacious, very clean indeed.
You really can't fault this place , location staff facilities all great.
The only fault is the Walls in the apartment are paper thin and you can hear everything going off next door. Take some earplugs!!! We were kept awake most nights untill 2 or 3 am

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan-clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caretta060, Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and we have taken your comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I pride myself for being very fussy<read allot of comments from other reviews and was quite concerned what i,d find,we were put for a start into block j which is right by barking dogs and cockerals but when informing hotel recectionist of the problems with the noisey neighbours they were very prompt in moving us to a quieter room in block a which was altogether a much better and nicer appartment.Found the hotel to be clean and well run,plenty of sunbeds and brollys,swimming pools aplenty hotel staff very friendly and bar staff excellent (kept me topped up with cocktails ) Food is good thou sometimes did seem alittle on the cool side,did,nt realy like some of the meat dish,s due to all the bones being left in, however never found it difficult to find something good to eat,the puddings were amazing put on almost a stone in two weeks of excessive puddings and cocktails.....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caretta060, Manager at Carreta Beach Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and we have taken your comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We have just returned from Caretta beach hotel. On arrival we were allocated a room in Block F and a little wary from previous reviews. O.K the rooms are a bit small but we had no problems with dogs barking all night and even the cockerill didn start crowing until lunchtimes some days!!!!!!!!!!!!!. How much time do you actually spend in the rooms anyway. They were always clean even if the decor is a little dated. Plenty of sunbeds available by the quieter pools. The waterpark is a great addition. Our only gripe was the queues for the bar some evenings due to not enough bar staff, having said that the staff are very friendly and work very hard. Kalamaki is a lovely place and we wouldnt hesitate to go back. The turtle spotting trip is a must.
Also a mention for Pandesia restaurant -excellent meal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimosaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#23 of 30 in Kalamaki
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carreta Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carreta Beach Holiday Village

Address: Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: $126 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carreta Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caretta Beach is a modern hotel situated in Kalamaki on the south coast of the most beautiful island in the Ionian Sea, Zakynthos. The hotel is in a private, picturesque area by the main road of Kalamaki, only 4km from the capital city Zakynthos Town and 2km from the International airport of the island. The soft sandy beach is only a 5 minute walk away and is the home of the famous loggerhead turtles, Caretta-Caretta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Kalamaki
Hotel Caretta Beach
Carreta Beach Holiday Village Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing