We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star first choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cradley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not 4 star first choice”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

we arrived was pleased with what we saw . Shown to lunch straight away and must say food was excellent . Then we were told we got room 148 a "quiet " room . Oh boy it felt like a basement room over looking the bins .
First choice rated this as four star I must say we have stayed in 2star and had a better room . The room was BASIC there was tea coffee for 2 cups a kettle fridge Tv no water to make a drink . We were told you get that from supermarket . We explained thought was all inclusive and we're told it it but not in your room . Air con blew out warm damp air and you have to balance in the bath to have a shower.
We did tell reception and the rep we didn't like the room they did offer to move us but we were concerned we may get a room that was worse . We were told the free air on kicked in at 11 pm we asked if we could pay so we could put it on earlier . That was not possible but they did give us a fan . The mattress has a plastic cover on and the pillows . Every night the room was hot and damp very uncomfortable . There are a lot of Mosquitos so opening the doors are not an option . There was no entertainment you had to go to the sister hotel for that .This wasn't a cheap holiday so we were disappointed .
Plus side the staff are brilliant at reception . In the restaurant Constantina was very helpful and gave us tips on places to visit . Tim was always cheerful and polite , George was also very nice .
We will go to zante again but may be self catering apartment .
If you are elderly or want a very quiet holiday by a pool then this is for you .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jayneNpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    186
    49
    13
    3
See reviews for
135
378
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited the Bitzaro Palace on Sept 27th for one week. Weather was beautiful for the whole week. This is my second visit to the Bitzaro Palace, never thought I'd end up as a serial returner but it's like a magnet. This hotel does not pretend to be anything more than it is and what it lacks in finesse it makes up for with its friendliness, cleanliness and home grown charm. The food, once again, was excellent and they even catered for a friend who didn't like sauces with her meat. Special mention to all the staff especially Dennis, Petra, Konstantina and of course George. We declined the option this year to get the bus from the airport and got a taxi for 13 euros directly outside the airport doors. Have a look at some of my pictures as I've tried to give a different perspective of the hotel showing the relaxed lifestyle. Don't forget something for the Mosquitoes!

Room Tip: Last year we had room 308 above the pool, this year we had 211 which in my opinion is better. Both h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We came home yesterday and can't praise this hotel enough. The staff are so friendly and helpful and enjoy sharing a joke.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, Our towels were changed 4 times in one week and the sheets were changed 3 times.
The food was excellent and very varied with 5/6 choices of main meals plus loads of cold buffet.
My one suggestion would be not to get private transfer from the airport as it's only 3k and our taxi cost 13 Euros. Travel company asked £48 each.There is some airport noise but I promise this was for about 10 seceonds a time and didn't bother any of the guests in the week we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a welcome autumn break. The hotel is a family run one with great staff. 10minute transfer, although you do hear the planes, but not a distraction, max 6 a day. The stay was nice and relaxing and really quite, bliss to be fair. Food was great selection no complaints. Room was good, cleaned everyday. Beach 10minutes walk, sandy and shallow water

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really lovely and peaceful. We travelled 10th sept for 2 weeks. I can honestly say that this is the most relaxed I have every been holiday all I had to worry about was what to choose to eat. The weather was exceptionally warm for September so the air cons were still free to use. As in previous reviews the bath is very small and the shower did not have a lot of strength and we must agree with the fact that the alcohol was weak. But ALL the fabulous staff made up for any shortfalls. A special mention for George in the restaurant who made my evening meal enjoyable with his lovely smile when he served our soup. The First Choice rep Melissa worked very hard but the same trips are cheaper if purchased from the travel shop by Euro Hire just on the Strip.
Well done Bitzaro Palace. Xx

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here 17/9/13-1/10/13 what a great hotel,very clean, superb staff and fantastic food.We found the hotel very relaxing nice not having blaring music everywhere, having no entertainment meant people actually got to know other people and we met some lovely people. The staff are all great from Petra in reception to Dennis in the bar and not forgetting George in the dining room serving soup every night, Konstantina,Anna,Eleni,Tim the waiting staff were brilliant and efficient. We could not fault this hotel BUT this hotel is for anyone who wants to chill out and to go and find entertainment when they want to !! Would highly recommend a stay here !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 302 very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Returned yesterday 24/9 after a great holiday. Rooms were clean and have all you need, just don't expect a power shower! The air con was still free as the temperatures were very high. Pool was clean and loungers comfy. Food was great, choice of Greek or more English style - even roast pork for Sunday lunch. Staff very friendly and polite. Entertainment was at the Grande next door, but this meant we could relax and not have problems with noise. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and they surprised us with a bottle of champagne brought to our room. It's close to the beach where the turtles are still hatching, but you need to be up about 6am to see them. You can walk across the beach to Lagana, about 40mins, lots more to do there and very lively. We had a great and time and certainly hope to return there again to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,580 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
639 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Palace Hotel

Property: Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Address: Kalamaki 2 9100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by its gorgeous gardens and within easy reach of the sands, Bitzaro Palace Hotel in Zakynthos combines elegance and comfort with respect to the traditional Ionian style. The outdoor pool and the hot tub are surrounded by a unique wooden deck, where relaxation is inevitable. The loosening experience can only be enhanced by the all-inclusive buffets with Mediterranean flavors made by fresh local products. All the hotel rooms are overlooking the pool and the garden and are elegantly decorated, offering all the facilities for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bitzaro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Palace
Bitzaro Palace Kalamaki
Bitzaro Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing