We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveler rating
533
243
64
15
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
243
64
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelsoup manpool arearelaxing holidayair conquiet hotelclub sandwichice creamplenty of sunbedszante townplenty of choicesky newswedding partypool towelsshallow endpacked lunchturtle nesting
Filter
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 858 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Bitzaro Palace from 27th July until 10th August. On arrival first impressions of the hotel were very good.
We arrived around 11.30am and were quickly checked in and advised where our room was. We were in room 342 which was at the front of the hotel so we didn't have a pool view but did have a double bed (which I did have to request by email prior to arriving). The room was OK and clean but quite dated and dull and the bathroom was very small, especially the bath which was quite difficult to stand and have a shower without falling over!
The air conditioning in the room was not the best and at times only felt like a fan rather than proper air con. For an all inclusive hotel it would have been nice to have the fridge stocked with refreshments but this wasn't the case. The room is also supplied with a kettle and tea cups but no tea bags or sugar etc. These are not complaints but just suggestions and little things that could make a very good all inclusive hotel excellent!
The room was always cleaned everyday and we had fresh towels every other day.

The hotel has lovely grounds with nice flowers and plants which are very well kept. The staff are all excellent and very friendly, speak good English and are always happy to help. Our favorite was Dennis the evening barman. He works very hard in the bar working on his own serving drinks and collecting glasses all night long! At times the bar got quite busy and poor Dennis was always on his own. Having another person on the bar in the evening would be a good idea, even if just for an hour when it got busy!

The buffet restaurant was excellent and the food was very good. Always lots of choice and different things to eat each night and the staff and service was very good, however like the other evening bar there was only ever one person serving the drinks for the whole buffet restaurant so would sometimes have to wait 10 - 15 minutes for our drinks to arrive. Again they could do with another person serving the drinks to speed things up a little.

Although there is no evening entertainment this suited us fine as we just wanted to chill out by the pool/beach in the day and have a meal a few quiet drinks in the evening. But if you wanted entertainment then you can go to the sister hotel (Bitzaro Grande) which is 2 hotels down (2 mins walk). We didn't actually go there but were told they have bingo nights, live music etc and can get your all inclusive drinks, use the pool and other facilities and could also have a meal there if it was booked in advance.

The pool at the Bitzaro Palace is nice and big. We never had a problem getting a sun bed every morning when we were up at 8am for breakfast but there were quite a few towels already out but still lots of sun beds available. One side of the pool appeared to be shaded all day by the trees. This may appeal to some but we wanted to be in the sun so tried to get on the other side each morning which has the sun all day!
The beach is a 5 - 10 minute walk and is very nice. The water is shallow and is lovely and warm.

Other than the few minor things (that could easily be improved) our holiday was excellent and I would recommend the Bitzaro Palace to anyone wanting a nice chilled and relaxing break.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Bitzaro Palace for 1 week in rooms 305 and 306. The staff were all friendly. The food was really tasty, always a variety to choose from and never repetitive. The snacks were also good - paninis, burgers, toasties, chips, greek salad, biscuits. Drinks were good and included a choice of about 7 cocktails. The pool was always clean and you can take inflatables in. Didn't have a problem getting a sunbed. Rooms were cleaned every day and well equipped with a fridge.

One night we had our evening meal at the Bitzaro Grande next door (you need to book 24 hours before), and went there for the evening entertainment and bingo. Kalamaki is nice with lots of shops and restaurants. Laganas is a short taxi ride away which costs 8euros. You can cut through the Roseland hotel next door to get to the beach.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank holidayyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights, from 24th to 31st July 2012. We arrived at 8.30pm, greeted with a warm welcome. left our cases in the reception and went for a evening meal. A lovely lady called Fofi showed us to our table. The restaurant was due to close at 9pm, but they stayed open for us, meal selection was very good, loads of choice (as always). George the soup man was also very pleasant. We left with full and contented and went to check in. The air con certainly could have been better in the restaurant, at times, it was rather too hot. Especially during evening meals. Breakfast time, the big glass window/ doors, were opened up (Quite amusing to watch the local Sparrows fly in and pick at the crumbs left on tables!!), but not during evening meals.

After a delicious fried breakfast (had one every day!), we decided that a relaxing day by the pool was needed. There was never any fights for sunbeds, no need to get out of bed early, to have to reserve one with your towel!! Chillin' by the pool was easy, as there was no loud music blasting from the bar, as with the sister hotel, Bitzaro Grande.

We have never stayed in a small hotel (90 rooms) before, but this turned out to be an advantage. There are no lifts but this was not a problem for us. Rooms were standard size, clean and tidy, a few problems with ants but after a call to the reception this was sorted out. Nice to have a fridge (enclosed in a cabinet with very little ventilation, I used the TV remote to prop door open!!). Bathroom was small but adequate. The air con was available 24/7, not the most effect I have come across, but it did keep the room at a bearable temperature. Good maid service each and every day. We had requested 2 rooms together (as our 2 teenagers came with us), pool view & double bed. All requests were fulfilled. It was nice and quiet, never any noise disturbance.

There was no entertainment, daytime or evening, but we did not miss this anyway, as we went every evening for a walk up to the local shops & bars. Had cocktails at the Black Pearl, a great guy called captain Jack made us feel very welcome!!! If we had wanted to, the entertainment at the sister hotel was available.

The reception staff were really nice & friendly, always greeted us with smiles. Petra and Vivee were lovely, nothing seemed like to much trouble.

We went two excursions with Thompson, Turtle Island boat trip and scuba diving at St Nicks beach. They were expensive, but good, scuba diving was amazing!!!! If you have never done this before, I really really recommend it :-) You will see in the resort, lots of others people offering similar trips, they are cheaper yes, but beware, as they cram a lot more people on smaller boats!

We had a late flight home and requested our room for a little longer, but this was not available, as they were fully booked. However, Vivee said she could arranged for us to have another room in the sister hotel (12 - 6pm), for 40 Euros extra. Should also mention here that Nicky the receptionist at the Bitzaro Grande was friendly & very helpful too. Unlike the woman serving at the Grande bar. Think she may have cracked her face if she smiled!

A great family holiday hotel, with a huge amount of choice of food throughout the day. It would have been nice if there had been slush drinks and ice creams available on demand for kids, but there wasn't. Staff worked really hard in very hot conditions.

The only thing is watch you weight of your suitcases when you come home. We were 6kg over, this costs us 73 Euros :-(

If a quiet and relaxing family holiday is what you are after, then a stay at the Bitzaro Palace is just what you need!!!

Room Tip: Would be a good idea to ask for a pool view, as rooms at the back of the hotel lookout onto the road up to the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My fiancee and I have just returned from a week at the Bitzaro Palace. Before going into details, I should stress that we were looking for "cheap and cheerful", and therefore I might be being a little over-zealous in my comments, but here we go...

Overall, the hotel is decent. It's pretty clean, the pool is nice, the rooms are a decent size. The staff are the best part of the experience - friendly, happy to help, excellent English speakers mainly which is useful as my Greek is awful!

We were, however, somewhat disappointed with certain aspects...
* The air conditioning was worse than useless... 40 degree heat was hardly tempered by the loud but ineffective air con in our room.
* The all inclusive food and drink was NOT great. The salads etc were really good, but dinners were let down by their poor quality. I don't expect premium brand drinks in a place like this, and the beer was very decent, but it wasn't on a par with similar places we have been to. If I were to stay again, I wouldn't bother with the all inclusive option.
* Bar service was slow, but this was simply due to the fact that there was only ever one barman on duty! Poor man...

On the plus side, it's a five minute walk to the beach, where you can hire sunbeds and a brolly for a reasonable price, and the sea is lovely. There's also a couple of good options for food, a restaurant and a sandwich van which both offer really good food for great value.

It's also a short walk to the strip which offers loads of bars and restaurants.

The hotel is quiet, with no entertainment, and this suited us, but you can nip next door to the sister hotel, Bitzaro Grande, and there's plenty there!

All in all... you could stay in places far worse, and to be hones with a little tweaking this could be a very good "value" hotel, but if you are going keep your expectations limited, and just enjoy the fact that it's a decent hotel, in a good location (10 mins from airport) with lovely staff who are happy to help!

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor had a lovely, large balcony. I think most do.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just returned from bizarro palace following a family wedding on cameo island. First impressions is very good of a smaller, quiet hotel with very friendly staff and good standards. Value for money for all inclusive is very competitive compared to elsewhere in kalamaki and please check that other hotels include such as fridge, air con etc which can be as much as £70 per week payable to hotel but this is not the case here. Minor issue is the air con is underpowered and can be hit and miss and even the reception/bar area does not normally have air con working which considering temperatures of 40+ did seem rather petty to save a few pounds and would certainly prevent us from visiting again in such hot conditions. Food is good standard and although not five star is well presented and more than adequate although would suggest you try a few of the local tavernas (try yamas or ambrosia). Beach is excellent and very safe and well worth trying for a day or two. No problems around the pool with plenty of sun loungers and reasonably quiet although there is always one family! Rooms are nice and yes bathrooms are on the small side with shower above bath but for a week or two is fine. Although supplied with kettle and cups no tea or coffee or even a spoon!
Overall a good hotel in a very nice resort (local price of food etc very good and not expensive). At this price range one of the better and although you can always find something to moan about there wont be too much to really complain above.
PS say hi to vivee behind reception and buy the barman a drink - both really nice but I think that's the greek people for you

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philshopfitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews