We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My boyfiend and I stayed here 15th - 25th June and thoroughly enjoyed it. Upon arrival at 6:30am we were abruptly informed by the night receptionist that our room would not be ready until after lunch and we would have to wait in the lounge area until then. Although we had a feeling that this might happen we had hoped that we might have been greeted a little better and offered somwehere to freshen up. We managed to get an hours sleep on the sofas and on awakening we were informed by the new receptionist that our room was ready (before 8am!) so this was a nice surprise. This receptionist was so helpful and lovely all holiday, a massive difference from the one that greeted us.
Our room was a decent size, very clean, but very hot at night so we paid the 30 Euros for a week's aircon. Apparently this is free throughout July and August.
The bathroom was spotless but a little tired and the curved bath was a bit uncomfortable for standing in whilst showering.
The hotel as a whole was very clean and the flowers climbing the balconies were so pretty. The outside seating area was also really nice for having an early evening drink.
The food was average with plenty of choice but a little bland. Cannot fault the restaurant staff though - extremely helpful and polite.
The pool and surrounding area was a decent size and never too crowded. There was never a shortage of sunbeds, even in the afternoon.
All inclusive soft drinks weren't the best but we usually just stuck to copious amounts of water in the day and beer in the evening (and the odd 'pina colado').
Kalamaki itself is a really nice resort with a decent beach. The 'strip' was pretty quiet though, we were the only people in some some the bars, obviously due to the current euro uncertainty.
We hired a motorbike and travelled to some gorgeous places that we would never have visited had we stayed within the resort. Would highly recommend Porto Limnionas Bay, Keri Lighthouse Tavern, Keri Caves (tonnes better than the Blue Caves) and swimming with turtles in Laganas bay - amazing experience (don't bother with a turtle spotting trip, just hire a pedalo and swim / snorkel with them.
Overall a great, relaxing holiday and a thoroughly decent hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool would obviously be better but given all the flowers that are climbling up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Honey510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 765 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

hi just returned home from the palace,visited twice last year,the food is great and fresh,if you want a relaxing break you wont be disapointed,and amazing walks along the tracks and they all lead to the beach and little tavernas and friendly locals make you feel safe and welcome,we have visited kalamaki six times and stayed in the grand,marelen,cavodoro,pleased to help you if needed

Room Tip: rooms above the steps leading down to the pool are superior with excelent views,access via a lift,th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week family holiday here & we can't fault it. Although the hotel was filled with mainly older couples, as a family (children are 10 & 8) we didn't feel out of place & the staff made us very welcome. The food was lovely & always piping hot & fresh plus different every day, it was a refreshing change not to have chips at every meal & even the children enjoyed eating there. The bar area was well managed by Dennis ( the new barman for this season) & we didn't experience glasses running out unlike the other reviewer. All staff were lovely & we couldn't choose our favourite. We did experience a minor problem with our room door which didn't lock properly, however this was quickly resolved by the manageress & Petra as they moved us to another room which suited us better anyway! All in all a great holiday. A word of advice though, don't book trips through the tour operator as you can get the same trips for about half the price in the main resort.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
9  Thank Cariad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

As returning customers, Petra had arranged for a room in the semi circle, which is a nice bigger room and had a/c without any additional payment, so a nice touch. The staff remain basically the same and all are very friendly.
Although the hotel has become all inclusive only now, the standard of food doesn't seemed to have altered since last year, still have quail, and rabbitt.
The salads do get a bit bland and tasteless after two weeks, and over use of capers and dill in most foods. Sometimes the mains weren't hot, just warm.
Used the beach this year, (easy access via a short cut thought the roseland hotel next door) loungers were 7 euros. If you use the beach, staff will provide a lunch sandwich to take away if you require it.(three slices of bread with salad.....).
Only downside is WIFI is only available around the pool, and the bar area, via a 2hour voucher obtained from reception.
Property, gardens, and pool are maintained to a high standard.
As AI now bar area was in general a lot busier and they did run out of glasses several times.
The hotel does seem to remain for older couples, but a few families were present, but no entertainment at all, (which is what we prefer) you can always use the sister hotel,bitzaro grande around the corner if you want entertainment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank riw9471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

had a very good stay 2weeks from 8 of may, very relaxing all the staff were brill will go again in september rooms clean food very good nice cooked breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Travelled with my husband on 6 May 2012 and stayed AI for one week. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful, particularly Petra on reception. Room and public areas extremely clean and well maintained. Always plenty of fresh cooked food and salads available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. An abundance of local soft and alcoholic drinks available throughout the day until midnight, the local village wine is well worth trying.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break, is within easy walking distance to Kalamaki beach and village centre.
Residents also have the opportunity to utilise the AI facilities at the sister hotel Bitzaro Grande which has an entertainment programme if this is your thing.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My friends and I have just returned from a great relaxing week at this hotel and we are looking forward to going again next year. It is an a really convenient location - not too remote within easy walking distance into town but away from all the noise. The staff were very understanding, friendly and courteous and the hotel was spotlessly clean.
We went all inclusive and I was worried the food might be of a poor quality but it was absolutely delicious. FANTASTIC pool area. No complaints at all!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Palace Hotel

Address: Kalamaki 2 9100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: $156 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by its gorgeous gardens and within easy reach of the sands, Bitzaro Palace Hotel in Zakynthos combines elegance and comfort with respect to the traditional Ionian style. The outdoor pool and the hot tub are surrounded by a unique wooden deck, where relaxation is inevitable. The loosening experience can only be enhanced by the all-inclusive buffets with Mediterranean flavors made by fresh local products. All the hotel rooms are overlooking the pool and the garden and are elegantly decorated, offering all the facilities for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Bitzaro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Palace
Bitzaro Palace Kalamaki
Bitzaro Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing