We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveler rating
533
243
64
15
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
243
64
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelsoup manpool arearelaxing holidayair conquiet hotelclub sandwichice creamplenty of sunbedszante townplenty of choicesky newspool towelswedding partyshallow endpacked lunchturtle nesting
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 858 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

As returning customers, Petra had arranged for a room in the semi circle, which is a nice bigger room and had a/c without any additional payment, so a nice touch. The staff remain basically the same and all are very friendly.
Although the hotel has become all inclusive only now, the standard of food doesn't seemed to have altered since last year, still have quail, and rabbitt.
The salads do get a bit bland and tasteless after two weeks, and over use of capers and dill in most foods. Sometimes the mains weren't hot, just warm.
Used the beach this year, (easy access via a short cut thought the roseland hotel next door) loungers were 7 euros. If you use the beach, staff will provide a lunch sandwich to take away if you require it.(three slices of bread with salad.....).
Only downside is WIFI is only available around the pool, and the bar area, via a 2hour voucher obtained from reception.
Property, gardens, and pool are maintained to a high standard.
As AI now bar area was in general a lot busier and they did run out of glasses several times.
The hotel does seem to remain for older couples, but a few families were present, but no entertainment at all, (which is what we prefer) you can always use the sister hotel,bitzaro grande around the corner if you want entertainment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank riw9471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

had a very good stay 2weeks from 8 of may, very relaxing all the staff were brill will go again in september rooms clean food very good nice cooked breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Travelled with my husband on 6 May 2012 and stayed AI for one week. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful, particularly Petra on reception. Room and public areas extremely clean and well maintained. Always plenty of fresh cooked food and salads available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. An abundance of local soft and alcoholic drinks available throughout the day until midnight, the local village wine is well worth trying.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break, is within easy walking distance to Kalamaki beach and village centre.
Residents also have the opportunity to utilise the AI facilities at the sister hotel Bitzaro Grande which has an entertainment programme if this is your thing.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking pool.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My friends and I have just returned from a great relaxing week at this hotel and we are looking forward to going again next year. It is an a really convenient location - not too remote within easy walking distance into town but away from all the noise. The staff were very understanding, friendly and courteous and the hotel was spotlessly clean.
We went all inclusive and I was worried the food might be of a poor quality but it was absolutely delicious. FANTASTIC pool area. No complaints at all!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Second visit to the hotel and the standards have improved.

Starting at reception Petra was on hand for check in and wow she is an absolute credit to the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for this receptionist and she is an absolute credit to the hotel. The room was the same as our last visit as I had emailed the hotel and requested the room and yes it was waiting. Petra is not just the receptionist she is the tour guide taxi booker and she is will go above and beyond her job role to make sure everything you need is available.

The rooms, yes they have been upgraded with key locking doors new furniture and a modern safe in the room 15 euros a week. The rooms themselves are very good for a Greek island please remember you are in Greece, Negatives the bathrooms are small but spotless. We had an ant problem reported and resolved within 2 hours many other hotels around the world could learn from this service.

The hotel is beautiful set in well tendered gardens with a large pool and a good number of sun loungers. The water yes its cold but it is May so understandable. Everything is cleaned as the army of maids work behind the scenes cleaning everything that moves whilst everyone sleeps; the pool was cleaned every day and chemically checked at least 3 times in the seven days we were there.

The dining room is modern and bright the choice is not extensive and very Greek but I have never eaten so well and so healthy for a week in years. I have a strange allergy and the chef came out every night and informed me what was safe to eat and what I should avoid. The hotels chef is new and the food has improved. Try the vegetarian lasagne so fresh and so tasty. The staff in the dining room work so hard im sorry I cannot remember names but the head waitress greeted us every day with a smile a chat and then reappeared to say goodbye despite working away in a busy room she remembers everyone and everyone will remember her.

The all-inclusive ahh a sticking point I cannot fault the service and the drinks are yes bottled with locally produced soft drinks spirits beer and wine. I cannot fault the drinks or the service but this hotel is so much better than a run of the mill all inclusive. There is a water machine for fresh water but what I object to is people filling water bottles with water to take with them to the beach. Its only 30p a bottle in a local shop but some clients thought all inclusive also included providing water for a day at the beach.

The location yes the brochure states 400meters to the beach well if you can climb a 5 ft. wall climb through trees and cross scrubland it is. The beach via the path is about 1000m away a pleasant walk. Other reviews have not been happy with the beach yes it’s not the best in the world but the beach is a wildlife reserve and we use as do nesting loggerhead turtles. I think the turtles are good to allow us to use their breeding ground.

Kalamaki it’s in decline but as is all of Greece but the local shops are very accommodating and if you but anything from them cannot thank you enough for your custom, the bars are good go to the Iguana Bar its signposted and is the best bar in the area and Harris will look after you. The beach bar is great for having a drink and waiting for the next plane to fly over your head to land, yes the aircraft are low and noisy but not intrusive and stop at 11.00pm.

Zante town is full of character for a modern industrial port.
laganus by day is good for present shopping and Tsivili has the best beach.

Overall if you want a great hotel quality food peace quiet in stunning surroundings with a staff that will accommodate everything you need this is the hotel to choose. The all-inclusive is good for 3 meals a day a drink after dinner and then a short stroll into town is best. The hotel does not do nightlife or music it does peace quiet and relaxation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cdave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews