We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you want on holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what you want on holiday”
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Bitzaro Palace hotel and we had a lovely time.
The hotel was only a short distance from the airport so there were no long journeys on the bus.
The hotel is in a perfect location. Very close to a selection of bars and restuarants and only a mile and a half from the busier resort of Laganas. The walk along the beach to Laganas is lovely. It is also only a short taxi ride to Zakynthos town. The hotel itself was very clean and the food was wonderful. A large selection of delicious food served every night. The staff are extremely friendly and the hotel is spotless.
We had a fantastic time and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Location, food and friendliness of staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank honeyfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    186
    49
    13
    3
See reviews for
135
378
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We stayed here last year before I found tripadvisor and so no reviews were read prior to the trip.

We loved both the hotel, Kalamaki beach and the Island itself so much we have talked about returning. However with so many places to see in the world we may not get back there!

Rooms great, staff very friendly - especially in the dinning room. A good mix of guests too, not many children at this time of year but some and not all couples so quite a lively atmosphere. There was some etertainment but not every night which I found just about right. The town itself is not far to walk about 5 mins and so the location is great - not right in the middle of a noisy street but not too far to walk. The beach is about 15 mins walk away and just made my trip. Great beach to walk along and swimming good - great views etc.

Local buses and excusions great - we went into Zante town a couple of times and really enjoyed ourselves.

However - I would not recomend the resort just down from kalamaki beach - can't remember it's name but it was full of horrid english pubs and very crowded.

The food at the hotel was varied and well cooked - we were really spoilt with the choice and qualtiy.

A great holiday!

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — views somewhat limited - but can see the mountains
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jan_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

My husband and I wanted to get away to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary (without the kids) and fancied going to Zante. We booked this hotel purely on the reviews on this site and we were not disappointed.

We went for a week on 21st Sept, and apart from a 9 month old baby it was all adults. Which having left 3 kids at home was a bit quiet to begin with, but soon got used to no noise around the pool and thoughly enjoyed our stay here.

As we normally go in school holiday time I can't say whether the following is the norm or becasuse kids were back at school, but anyway, plenty of sunbeds - no need to reserve with towels. Pool was cold though so hardly anyone in it.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, am sure that man on reception with the glasses never went home.

The rooms were cleaned every day, hairdryer, kettle and fridge included. Though only left tea and coffee for first day. Bathroom is small, but hey who cares!

Food was good, didn't see a chip for 3 days! Could of had more choice for desserts or variation, was always ice cream, jelly and a cake. Wasn't always very hot at beginning, but me and hubby used to watch when more food coming out and then go up and get ours - always hot then.

Eating out in the resort was good value and excellent choice. We went to Zakanoh for our anniversary it was lovely. Definately would recommend that one.

Yes you do get some airplanes passing over quite close, but not many and none past about 9.30pm. Only last about 20 seconds when they do and it quite nice seing what plane coming in or going home next. Some days busier than others.

Only entertainment in hotel in the evening was a quiz every night, but there are so many bars and restaurants 10 min walk away you will always find something to your taste.

Loved the resort and island.
Would recommend hiring quad bike, just for something different. I really enjoyed this - didn't think I would.

Would definately go back again without the kids.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank advisernovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We have just arrived back from two glorious weeks in the Bitzaro Palace Hotel. The hotel rooms are spotlessly clean with a fridge, hairdryer and coffee\tea making facilities. The pool and gardens have plenty of sunbeds, The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The evening meals were excellent with a good choice. The only disappointment was that the breakfast eggs, beans, bacon etc could be kept warmer, although there was an excellent choice of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cheeses, meats and cakes. The hotel was in my opinion set in the the perfect place, about 10 minutes from the beach in one direction and 10 minutes from the resort centre in the other direction. Kalamaki is a very laid back resort with a good deal of international eating houses as well as a number of tavernas. We did eat out on a number of occasions and the food was excellent in every establishment. We really enjoyed the greek evening at Stanis bar and Hera's was a favourite with us. We hired a car for three days, just enough to tour the island and see some of the beautiful scenery. Absolutely beautiful island and hope to return again.,

  • Liked — Peaceful, beautiful hotel, high standard of cleanliness
  • Disliked — Cold bacon and eggs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank silversaxoCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

Went as a family of 4 (2 teens) in the last 2 weeks of August and had booked only on reading previous rave reviews. Booked with Direct Holidays and flights were great too.
All lived up to our expectations. Hotel was spotlessly clean everywhere. Maids were meticulous and towels are changed on alternate days without fail. Beds changed at least 3 times in the fortnight . Kettle, hairdryer in room. Previous reviews did mention small bathrooms and that IS the case but, hey !...how long do you spend in there really ? They are clean and functional though.
Beds are kingsize and just prior to departure, we did e-mail the hotel directly to request 2 ajoining rooms with a pool veiw. They did reply quickly ,stating that they were full to capacity but would do their best...and they certainly did ! We were given 2 lovely rooms and more importantly, on checking in, Petra on reception remembered us from the e-mail and said she hoped we were happy with the rooms. Great service on reception. Bar staff lovely too. Restaurant staff ok. Restaurant food and choice...fair to good/ ish ! All in all-Great holiday. Superb weather, lovely island, reasonable prices ,friendly locals, Lovely hotel in good location !!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank time2tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new brighton,wirral
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Stayed at the Bitzaro in June for 2 weeks.It was the start of the heatwave and it was scorching !
The hotel itself is great,the rooms could do with updating but were comfortable.The only downside was that there was no airconditioning.it is only available in July and August.we were told that we had to wait until a certain amount of rooms were prepared to pay for the aircon and then they would switch it on!
Anyway ,eventually we had aircon and it wasnt that expensive and was definately worth it even though it wasn't very efficient.
We didnt have any problems getting a bed near the pool.the loungers in the gardens are ok too.
The food was great , well above average.we didnt mind the location.Kalamaki has enough to offer.Laganas looked rough.Would recommend hiring a car.The east coast is great and the views are fantastic.Would recommend a beach called Gerakas on the south east coast.It was very beautiful.Try a bowl of fresh fruit too !
The airport is something else ! They have run out of money and so the new terminal has not been finished.You stand outside in a canopy and wait..... and wait... and wait ! they only allow a small amount of people in at a time.There were lots of people getting quite angry as it was soooo hot but theres nothing you can do so take plenty of water and grin and bear it !

  • Liked — great pool area
  • Disliked — lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shellyshoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

I just want to let everyone know what a fantastic time we had at the Bitzaro Palace hotel. On arrival we knew immediately we were going to have a wonderful time. I cannot praise the staff enough. Food was excellent and plenty of it. I agree the location is not ideal but you forget about this as you relax at the pool and enjoy the atmosphere. Johan was in charge of entertainment and he certainly provided entertainment to everyone's satisfaction. Darts, pool, waterpool and great craic!! We stayed for two weeks starting July 21st and I cried on our departure. The main strip was about 10 mins walk and the beach the same but in the opposite direction, this is the only drawback I have as I like everything convenient but then again this landscape is authentic greek and I love it. Will definitely be back again.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DublinToddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,580 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
639 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Palace Hotel

Property: Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Address: Kalamaki 2 9100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by its gorgeous gardens and within easy reach of the sands, Bitzaro Palace Hotel in Zakynthos combines elegance and comfort with respect to the traditional Ionian style. The outdoor pool and the hot tub are surrounded by a unique wooden deck, where relaxation is inevitable. The loosening experience can only be enhanced by the all-inclusive buffets with Mediterranean flavors made by fresh local products. All the hotel rooms are overlooking the pool and the garden and are elegantly decorated, offering all the facilities for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bitzaro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Palace
Bitzaro Palace Kalamaki
Bitzaro Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing