We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek heaven”
Review of Denny's Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denny's Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Greek heaven”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from 2 wonderful weeks at dennys inn.This was my 1st time in Greece and will be back for many years to come.The people are easily the most friendly i have ever encounterd and treat you like they have known you for years,this was demonstrated clearly by the wonderful staff at dennys who could not do enough for you.The hotel is in a fantastic position between the great sweeping beach [which is shared by the local celebs the turtles] and the strip with its many fine resturaunts and tavernas.Food in hotel was lovely and had a great variety,alchahol was reasnably priced with the local beer better than most i have tasted,rooms were cleaned every day and towels and bedding changed regularly,swimming pool was as good as if not better than most in area and always managed to get sunbeds,grounds of hotel were spotless with the handyman always doing something to keep it that way,the hotel owners are very hands on and have always time to talk to you without it feeling as if they had to,i can certainly understand why people return year after year as i will be looking to return as well.Our room [330] had everthing we needed and great views.As in other reviews people have complained about extra for air con,fridge ,safe but you know about these extras before you go and most hotels charge extra for these and for the price we paid for our holiday we didnt mind.Air con cost 70 euro for 14 days fridge 46 euro.Their is a large family bar called the iguana bar just along from hotel which we always started and finished the night and we felt as if the owner was our personal friend by the time we left.Dont let what is happening to the Greek economy put you off as these people deserve better and dont let their own troubles affect the way they treat all visitors to their wonderful country.We took the trip to the shipwreck beach which was an unbelievable sight and the most stunning waters i have ever swam in,go by the smaller speed boat[22 euro] as not as crowded.local bus service cheap but very unreliable taxis are reasonable but get price first approx 8 euro to laganas 10 euro to Zante town.

Room Tip: rooms 330 and 331 are quiet with good views of pool and resturaunt.room 322 has massive balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    135
    33
    3
    2
See reviews for
136
198
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

we went from 1st july to 15th july , found dennys inn a lovely place would recommend and i would return , there was 3 of us (2 adults and 1 child) but went with a wedding party which was split over 3 hotels , i would say that dennys inn is a lovely stay , clean room (211) , they was all friendly staff ,breakfast was mainly same food every day which was boiled eggs , fruit , toast , scam egg , ham , chesse slice, yogurt and honey, cakes , tea and coffee but it was ok - we didnt have any problems and kind of got the same every day, ( but if fancy change there few place on strip with lovely breakfast and good priced) food was good priced and nice at the snack bar but the pool was cold and the other pools we went to on the island was lovely and warm (venus hotel ) the strip was 5 mins away and theres a fab bar called iguana with brillant staff on the way, if you go on the strip i would recommend the venue bar , friendly for adults and children my daughter loved it here and karaoke every night , also black pearl is a good bar , if your looking for a lively night then Laganás is only down the road 8 euros in taxi and thats a brillant night out and quite cheap if you go the right places :) . loved every minute and our holiday and cant wait to come back :D

Room Tip: go for the pool view (211 and 212)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razadanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 14 nights in July (family of 6,2 children,4 adults)and found it to be value for money. It is extremely clean with the rooms being cleaned every day and the towels and sheets being changes at least 2-3 times per week.

We ate at the pool side snack bar a few times and the food was fine for our needs and plenty of it!

The staff are lovely and so friendly , nothing was a problem for them.

We only paid for the air conditioning and as said before on previous reviews I felt that the prices were a bit over the top, needless to say we did not hire the fridge at that cost!
The pool was nice and the children's pool good, again the only complaint was the "towel"issue. It clearly states NOT to leave your towel or it will be removed, I just wish they would adhere to this as it would deter people from this behaviour.

We hired a car for a week and drove around the Island, I am so glad we did, some of the beaches we came across were amazing and had some lovely Greek food in isolated Tavernas with some fantastic views.

In Kalamaki itself we had meals ranging from good to excellent but found Escape and Zeppos to be of a very high quality and they were great with the children. In Escape the boys even made their own desserts with the help of Maria,they loved that!

The beach in Kalamaki is lovely and we spent much of the time there, especially at Stani's beach just a short walk along from the main Kalamaki beach. The sea was amazing and sooo warm, not like dipping into the Atlantic here!!

Overall we really enjoyed the Island of Zante and Denny's Inn was absolutely fine for our needs; but as much as we enjoyed Kalamaki I am not sure that we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinty0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

if you are a lover of traditional greece and traditional greek food don't go to Denny's or Kalamaki.
If you have a small family and enjoy english food, go for it. The hotel itself is very clean, staff very helpful and situated between "strip" and a lovely beach. The hotel caters mainly for British, who visit year after year and because of this it seems more of an English hotel than a greek one. When I say strip imagine Blackpool and you get my drift. Fast food, bars and neon lights..not good...not for us anyway. We hired a car for the week and explored Zante. Some beautiful places to see..Keri bay, Marathi beach, Alykes beach, Limnios lagoon. If you like greek food definitely go to Zakinthi restaurant..we ate there most nights..the food is second to none and the surroundings are very romantic. You pay a little extra but this restaurant is perfect..very classy...we tried a lot of dishes on the menu and were not disappointed with any of them. Oh...one other thing....if you like to laze round a swimming pool every day forget it...unless you get up at 6.30am and reserve a sunbed with your towel...despite a sign saying not to do this..come on management adhere to your own rules..many clients have complained about it!

Room Tip: go for a higher floor, if you want quiet ask for a room facing the field at the back. The balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scoop29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorty2312
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Travelled between 19-26th July 2012, greeted by a lovely friendly gentleman who I assume is the owner. Entered a lovely clean room, cleaners come every day & are again very friendly & approachable. Bedding and towels changed once or twice a week which is a bonus.
Staff are all lovely. Snack bar caters for every taste and is reasonably priced, think the soft drinks and water are overpriced in comparison to the local supermarkets/shops nearby.
Breakfast is nice enough but becomes repetitive.
Rep advised currently in the middle of a heatwave with temperatures as high as 40 degrees yet you have to pay for a fridge in the room which I think is outrageous. Never ever heard of this in Greece let alone anywhere else in the world I have travelled when opting for B&B or S/C.
Electric current in the rooms is unreliable and you have to keep the key in the door and windows shut to enable the air con to work...as always this again is chargeable.

The beach is less than 5 minutes walk away and is lovely. 2 sunbeds and a parasol is less than 6 euros which I think is reasonable. Local restaurants offer reasonably priced local cuisine less than 10 minute walk away. Again all tastes are catered for with some restaurants offering discounts, cheaper set menus etc.
Would strongly recommend Pantheon, Mermaids, Panesia & Yamas the Mexican restaurant.
Avoid Ambrosia, don't know how such bland, upappetising, overpriced food received any decent reviews.

If you're looking for a relaxing/quiet holiday this hotel this is not the place for you. Full of loud boisterous children who take over the pool, slam doors, run around screaming, shouting and throwing water at people sunbathing whilst their parents do nothing. Again if you're seeking wild nights out, pool parties et al this hotel and even Kalamaki are not for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorty2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Denny's Inn lies just a few 100 metres from the main strip of Kalamaki where you find restaurants, pubs, bars and supermarkets. It takes you only a few minutes to walk from the hotel and to the main road. There are even a couple of restaurants and bars on the way up there.

The hotel is very nice with extremely varied guests and a nice atmosphere. Families, groups of friends, couples and even people traveling solo apparently stay at Denny's Inn. My boyfriend and I felt very comfortable there among all the different age groups.

Our room, 207, was nice and relatively clean. Only the bathtub could use a proper scrubbing. Other than that we were quite pleased. The balcony was facing the pool, which was nice if we wanted to see if there were any available sunbeds. The room was big and we had more than enough space for our luggage and other things. The beds are a little bit hard, but apparently does wonders for those suffering with back problems.

When it comes to the snackbar/restaurant they have everything from simple sandwiches, wraps and salads to burgers and pizzas and traditional greek food. I was very pleased with all of my meals there, and the prices were acceptable. Also the staff was very welcoming and cooperative. I only wish that the breakfast that was included in our stay was equally satisfying as the other hotel meals.

Denny's Inn is only a three star hotel, and taking that into consideration and comparing it with the four stars hotels I've been to, Denny's Inn is really good value for money. I would be happy to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel does not have a nice view. Also, there might be a lot of noise co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kjompen_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely week's holiday at Denny's Inn, made all the better by the staff at the hotel. We used all the facilities the poolside cafe, the cocktail bar, the swimming pool, and a game of bingo to name a few. I would strongly recommend this hotel to families and couples who want a holiday close to the beach, to restaurants, and lovely views of this great island. The Greek people were very welcoming and made us feel very much appriciated. As another reviewer has said the cost of the AC and safe was an extra expense which you need to pay was a downside but it didn't spoil things for us. Thank you Denny's Inn from John and Julie. Room 210.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 30 in Kalamaki
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denny's Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denny's Inn Hotel

Property: Denny's Inn Hotel
Address: Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Denny's Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Denny's Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denny`s Hotel Kalamaki
Dennys Inn
Denny's Inn Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing