We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

we have been to this fantastic place all eleven of us and everyone loved it we were greeted of the coach by louise and shown to our rooms and then we went for our breakfast which was lush and everyone was so friendly and all worked really hard handyman steve was helpful and Teresa was very helpful too wasthat brill we have booked for the 8th of june next year for 11 nights

Caroline B Newcastle

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.
Please let me know your booking details for next year if you haven't already emailed us.
See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

We came here at the end of may 2014 4 adults and 2 kids this was our 2nd time here, this is such a friendly fab hotel i wouldn't hesitate at recommending it to anybody else. Yes the rooms are basic as you will find in most hotels in greece, but they are clean maid service is great. The grounds are so pretty and well kept no wonder people choose to get married here in the on site chapel which is quaint and gorgeous. ALL the staff was excellent throughout the hotel, very pleasant and polite and could not do more for you. Requested adjacent rooms in a certain area of the hotel before we arrived and this request was met. Already planning on coming again in 2016. My two children attended the thomas cook kids club while we was here and my little girl scarlet who is 3 fell in love with chris and is still telling people that he is her best friend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Haldons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your lovely positive review.
I've passed on your comments to all the staff.
Please let us know when you book to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Spent 11 nights at this hotel from the time we were greeted off the bus - about 6.30 in the morning by Louise until we were waved off as we left for home we had a great time. We stayed bed and breakfast great choice for everyone. There was something for all our family of nine adults 24-58 and two children 11 and 2 whether it was sleeping by the pool, swimming or joining in the activities organised by the entertainment team. We had a brilliant time at the Greek night and great value for money on the pizza night. The hotel is near the beach and Kalamaki has a big variety of restaurants for our evening meal all value for money. Our room was basic but clean and adequate for three adults. I.ve read some poor reviews but all I can say is if you want anything more then book and pay for four star accommodation I have stayed four star and the beds and towels were not changed as often and the staff were not as pleasant or helpful. As for the nuisance from aeroplanes! All I can say is' What aeroplanes' they are only an issue if you make it one!!

We have just booked our holiday to Marelen for June 2015- Can't wait

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank barbi246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, and photos.
It was great to meet you all.
I have passed on your lovely comments to all our staff, we hope you will choose the Marelen again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Well where to start myself and my daughter aged 19 arrived at this hotel june 5th this year..And what a lovely surprise as i hadnt been to greece for over 25yrs and never zante..We were met just outside by louise an english girl who worked for tha hotel.We were given our gen and keys and shown to our room, which i may ad was ready on our arrival thus being 11.30 am..Tha gardens were beautiful an so clean and tidy!!.. we were in blocks ours being 233, lovely room and may i add a plug by a dressing table and a mirror not tha norm lol so i was pleased as normaly plugs miles from mirrors lol....room cleaned every day with clean towels and bedding every other...The location of our room was excellent as we were adjasent to tha pool which was fab...pool area was lovely no running down early for sunbeds but maybe in high season...food..was lovely as we were b an b..full cooked breakfast continental, or fruit a good choice all around..food at pool bar excellent an all staff lovely an friendly..entertainment team brill especially if you had younger children but always stopped for a chat with lots going on during day for young and old...eating out is a must we enjoyed all restaurants.especially yamas lotsa freebies there and italian bon avici but all in all fab food everywhere..Nice for a cocktail was drunken corner sports bar kareoke twice a wk..and drinks bar opposite yamas( name escapes me)..varying prices from 2-5, euros depending what you had..All in all we had a fantastic week and i shall definitely be returning to this place we loved it!!..The location of this hotel is excellent 5 mins to beach where your greeted by people telling you about tha turtles and where to walk on beach..Also found watching planes coming into land an passing over head great no complaints there..And to get to kalamaki strip brill as well just over 5 mins away..Do not be put off by others saying abput planes they never bothered us..It is a fabulous little place with lovely friendly happy people great for everybody an on tha plus side hotel has a juccuzi outside aswel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nsedmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Thank you also for your great comments about the breakfast and our snack bar food. I have passed on your comments to all the team, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just got back from our 4th visit to Kalamaki, our first to The Marelen. The hotel is very family orientated and we were there as a couple, but this didn't detract from what a lovely hotel this is. The staff are very friendly and helpful and when we had a minor problem with the electrics this was sorted out very quickly and efficiently. We had a self catering studio which suited us perfectly, the rooms are basic but clean. Maid service every day apart from Mondays when they just pop in to empty the bins. Beautiful gardens which are very well kept. Would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, I have passed on your comments to all our staff. We hope you will choose the Marelen again on your next visit to Kalamaki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I am just back from a great week away with my 2 year old, Was welcomed off the coach by Louise who helped me to my room and explained about the hotel ect very friendly staff at the Marelen! Breakfast was good a different selection of foods from cereal to cold meat to full English something for everyone. The snack bar was also very good for lunch and drinks around the pool area lots of choice available. The evening menu again was great something their for everyone and the kids menu is good. The rooms are basic but clean and did the job! The Thomas Cook entertainers were fab! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice family hotel :-) I will deffo be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leann1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.
I have passed on your comments to all the staff, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here with our youngest and had a great time. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, the grounds and gardens are extremely well kept as are the pool areas, the fun and splash pool is great for kids with lots of activities put on for them also. Breakfast was good and food from the poolside snack bar was also very good especially the special pizza :-) didn't eat at the hotel in the evening as there was so much choice just a stones throw up the road so can't comment on that but never heard any complaints. Beach just a short walk away as was the resort centre with plenty of bars and restaurants to chose from. The staff are friendly and welcoming the manager is English so no language barrier to overcome should you have any issues but I doubt you will to be honest. In summary a fantastic place for a family holiday I for one am usually one of those people ready for home but would of quite happily stayed a few more days and wish I had.It is close the end of the runway but the airport closes overnight so not really an issue.The only concern I have is the showers, they are on a mixer tap not a thermostat so keep an eye on kids showering if they turn the cold tap off the hot is very very hot and could scald.

Yes I would and will go back hopefully again this year and in a bigger group.

DO NOT pay extortionate tour operator transfer fees It's 13 euro for a taxi each way Thomas Cook wanted nearly £80 for the 3 of us to share a coach with other people and all the extra waiting and messing around that comes with it. Taxi is 10 mins in an air conditioned Merc :-) be first at the hotel and beat the check in que you will be unpacked and round the pool before the rest arrive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaydut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
It was lovely to meet you, I've passed on your comments to all the staff, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
769 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
200 reviews
5.6 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#6 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki
Marelen Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing