We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family holiday to the Marelen Hotel”
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me,hubby and sons age 4 and 8 have just had the most fantastic holiday at the Marelen.The hotel was excellent, very well maintained by steve the friendly caretaker,all the staff were lovely and always very happy to help.The childrens sunstar reps were fab with our boys especially Kat and Darren, they all kept them entertained throughout the day playing a range of fun packed games. We stayed in rooms 103 and 104 on ground level, the rooms were great, spotlessly cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedding(well done to the maids you all do a fantastic job).The girls at reception were lovely and always greated you with a smile no matter if day or night.The food at the snack bar was excellent value for money and tasted great.The hotel was brilliant for families with children, there are too many positive things to say about this hotel and its staff it would take ages to type it all so just one word to sum up our time spent at tha marelen and that is excellent. We will be back in 2015 if not sooner and we will and have already recomended it to other people. Thanks for making our holiday so special love the Christiansen family xxx

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 103 and 104 which we chose not to have air conditioning as outside near the veran...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnchristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again in 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
There are newer reviews for Marelen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Where do i start ? This Hotel is owned and run by a family who know the real meaning of HOSPITALITY. As a family with a small child, this Hotel in the resort of Kalamaki has everything you require for a stress free, relaxing holiday. If in the unlikely event you find a problem at the Marelen it is resolved with little fuss. The rooms are basic but clean, however you do not go on holiday to spend all of it in your room. Yes Greek plumbing is not the best in the world, but you can ( with patience ) get a consistant water temperature from the shower. I could name each member of staff, and praise everyone of them but it would take too long. They are all faultless. You may think this is an over the top statement, but i can assure you it is true. We have already booked our third visit to the Marelen which is testament to how good it is. And we are just another family amongst many others who, when they have visited the Marelen are returning again and again. The Thomas Cook Team worked there socks off every day and night, Bless them! Kat and DJ Darren and their team kept the kids and adults entertained!! Love and miss you all ;-) The food at the Marelen is a good quality mix of traditional Greek and English cuisine. There is a well stocked bar which offers a wide range of drinks, cocktail happy hour recommended! Cheers Mick. Missin ya mate!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jenny Bowness M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Please let us know your booking details for next year so we can try and block off your room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stated at the Marelen four years in a row and it gets better and better each year. Quick transfer from airport to hotel greeted at reception to check in by lovely friendly staff Louisa and Theresa quick check in free drink at reception. Rooms small but clean and has everything you need for your stay. Good house keeping. Pool clean and sun beds free and plentiful never had a problem in getting a sun lounged each morning while there. Grounds are well kept and lovely. Snack bar by the pool has a good menu selection well priced lovely food during the day. Never ate in hotels restaurant as we preferred to go to the main strip each night. Beach only 5 mins or less away from hotel. All in all I cannot fault this hotel as each year we returned to warm welcoming friendly staff and owners. We look forward to returning in the future. And will be sure to recommend the marelen to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Costelr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
It is always good to read reviews from returning guests.
Please let us know as soon as you have rebooked for next year so we can block off the rooms in the block you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Just got back and we loved it there it the best holiday we have been on the kids loved it staff are so nice do anything for u the grounds are well kept and the restaurant are lovely there never had a bad meal will defo be going back at some point

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Illstabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I have passed on your comments to the staff and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from an absolutely terrific two week stay at the Marelen Hotel. Can honestly say it was the best family holiday we have had. We arrived after a delayed flight (and going back thanks T.Cook!) to a lovely greeting from Reception who offered us a drink and showed us to our room 337. It was about 7.30pm and we had no problems with check in - daughter was in pool by 7.35pm. We had great plans to go here and there on the holiday but the hotel had so much going on for both adults and children we rarely bothered going out. The Entertainment team were 1st class Kat,Kerry,Daz and Becca worked there socks off daily and were often being pushed into the pool. That said if you wanted a chilled day they was no pressure they didn't drag people off sunbeds. We tried get involved in everything where possible no point in going on holiday and being miserable! Football at 40 degrees OH YES! , Lilo races across the pool , Lilo running , Pool , Darts , Table Tennis , Quiz etc etc. Then at night we had kids disco , quiz, bingo and depending on the day a show by the guys which was excellent - i thought Kerry s version on Rhianna's Diamonds was outstanding. The kids club staff were again excellent and did all they could to keep the kids happy. The hotel itself was very clean and we enjoyed the food in the hotel and ate there most nights. I notice a few people knocking the free pizza night .. ?? God knows why ITS FREE!. We booked it both weeks and it was great we were paying 30-40 euros for the meals on the strip (for family of 3) so a free night was a welcome relief to the wallet. The hotel staff were excellent both reception staff were spot on (ignore the poor review below) Louise was always helpful even when we were all playing TV tennis between Football and The Ashes. Nick behind the bar was great very helpful and made some nice cocktails also special mention to Steve the handyman what a character! Notice someone saying the pool was small - never had any problem with either getting sunbeds or getting in the pool i often did a swim to burn off the Breakfast and never got blocked by lilo's - I mean if you are trying to swim while the lilo race is happening or splash bingo then you will have an issue but it only lasts about 20mins. It's 2 min's from the beach and about 10 mins from the main strip never had any problem with the walk felt totally safe at all times - there are dogs but all friendly and most live at the hotels around the area.
What a great Holiday we are already saving for next year. I would recommend to anyone with kids.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good never had any trouble sleeping.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank j28red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
I have passed on all your comments to all the staff.
We hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Bit of a long review so I hope I don't bore you. Just returned from 2 week stay at the Marelen (22/07/13-05/08/13). Nice place but a few complaints.

On Arrival we were greeted by Louise and was made to feel very welcome. Quick check in and shown to our room (444). Prior to our arrival I had emailed and requested a room on the first or second floor which we were given. Room was small (already knew it would be as we booked a studio) but had everything we needed as many people have already discussed in other reviews. Initially seemed clean but really on closer inspection things seemed to be 'just cleaned around'. For example, during the last week I reached under the bed for something and the floor was covered in matted dust, obviously not cleaned under the bed for some time. Also the toilet when not masked with the smell of bleach 'sometimes' smelt of stale urine. We had a couple of very minor problems (fridge, a/c and electrics) with our room throughout the fortnight but these problems were rectified almost immediately after reporting them.

There are extra's that you need to pay for should you opt for them. For the fortnight we paid 80 euro for air conditioning and 50 euro for safe. The safe's are in a room near the reception and monitored with cctv. We also paid 20 euro (refundable) for tv remote. We already knew about this before we arrived and budgeted for them but some people didn't and I guess it could be a bit of a shock if you are not aware.

Pools and grounds were immaculate, always clean, tidy and well maintained. Never had a problem getting a sunbed. The splash pool is excellent. It was very cold but very welcome in heat of 40+. Gerri, the lady who runs the splash pool snack bar is a wonderful and friendly person and it was a pleasure to be around her. Vaso on reception always had a smile and always had time to ask how you're day had been. However, the rest of the staff at the pool bar and reception were just approachable. They were not rude or ignorant they just 'did their job'.

The food at the pool snack bar was what you would expect of a snack bar. Burgers, Pizza, sandwiches, chips and a few local dishes. Cheap enough and good quality. Drinks were slightly more expensive than other places but still very cheap compared to the UK. We only had an issue one day when my wife ordered a local chicken dish but was given pork instead. She took it back and they insisted it was chicken and refused to take it back or refund it. Now I'm not Bernard Mathews but if it looks like pork and tastes like pork then chances are its not chicken. I just thought that it was a bit off side that they refused to sort it out.

At the Thomas Cook welcome meeting we were sold an excursion on the 'Jolly Roger'. It was a fantastic looking pirate ship and thought that our son would love it. We was told by the rep that this ship is 'exclusive' to Thomas Cook so we booked it for this reason. On the day, we got on the ship and to be fair had a great day. However a majority of people on the ship had booked the excursion through shops on the strip for probably less than we paid and therefore was not exclusive to TC at all. So make sure you shop around. Thomas Cook kids club was great. My son attended a few sessions and loved it. He also went to a couple of their parties in the evenings (7pm - 10pm). He really enjoyed them and felt really grown up to stay up so late and we had a few hours for a meal in peace!!! He also loved the mini disco run by the TC entertainers.

The hotel is in a great location, especially for the beach (5 mins). 10-15 min walk to the strip which is fine in the evening but during the day in the heat can be quite an effort with a 6 year old.
The strip has some fantastic places to eat in fact we never had a bad meal. The people in Kalamaki are so nice. We saw lots of the island on the tourist train, Jeep Safari and boat trips (all booked with cavo grosso) and it is a beautiful place.

Overall, I would highly recommend Zante/Kalamaki to anyone. I wouldn't intentionally try to put anyone off the Marelen as it was OK, but for us it just had something missing compared to other places we have been to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review.
We are glad that you were happy with your room location after emailing us.
I am sorry to hear you were not happy with the standard of cleanliness, we have no record of you reporting this while you were here so we could have passed it on the head of housekeeping.
Most people should be aware about the extra charges for safe and air conditioning as it is stated in the tour operators brochure ( as they are contracted without these included).
It was good to read you were happy overall with the level of customer service, obviously some staff are busier than others so unfortunately don't always have time to chat to everyone when we have nearly 400 guests in the hotel at this time of year.
I was sorry to read about the problem you had with your food order. Again, if this had been reported to the manager we could have rectified this at the time.
I have passed on your lovely comments to the kids club reps and entertainers.
We hope you will reconsider and return to the Marelen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very hot week in July nearly 40 degrees every day. Rooms were nice but small but air con is very good. Main pool is simply 2 small for all the guest with all the inflatables gets over crowed. The splash pool is brilliant but times could be longer doesn't open till 11am shuts at 5pm. Lady who runs the pool and bar is lovely! Rooms very clean nice hotel esp for families. Only thing I didn't like about this hotel was the location is about 10-15 min walk to town and is down very dark road at night be aware of wild dogs! They don't harm but me being someone who is petrified of dogs I hated the walk from the hotel and then back again late at night. After the 3rd night I got use to the dogs but rather have stayed in hotel up the road if Im honest I felt like my kids could have been in danger as there no street lights walking back to the hotel on the road it's situated. Staff are friendly but bit much showing us in large group to all our rooms felt bit like teenager on first holiday and then again waving us all off as we left the hotel. I can see only being polite but most of us been abroad before and are families not little kids. Overall great experience. But wouldn't rerun here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammieb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad you were happy with the hotel overall.
The location of the hotel is as described in the tour operators' brochures.
There have been a few dogs around the resort lately, some of these are owned, and some are strays, but they are all very friendly. All the stray dogs are monitored by the local volunteers from Animal Welfare, any unfriendly dogs are taken into foster homes so they are not roaming the streets. Unfortunately as it is a totally volunteer organisation they are short of foster homes, particularly in the summer and cannot foster all the stray dogs until homes are found.
Showing are guests to the rooms is an extra service we offer as there are 5 accommocation blocks, we find most guests prefer this if they have not been to the hotel before, but anyone not wanting this is welcome to go and find the room themselves. The size of the group just depends on how many arrivals we have coming off the coach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kalamaki
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki
Marelen Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing