We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab,fab,fab!!!!!!!”
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab,fab,fab!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having just returned on the 11th of october i can without a doubt say the best hotel i have stopped in!!! Everything was top quality. The staff cant do enought for u they were all close like they were family u could see they all got on really well and enjoyed their work. The entertainment team were fab and worked so hard 2 make every1 feel welcome no matter their age. kids club were there most of the time 2, how eva i found it most inconvienent they had 1 whole day off a week(sunday)lol only jokin u deserve it guys. The food was lovely wot eva time of day u went with a nice range 2 please every1. The breakfast is not the same as the breakfast we wud have at home but thats only 2 b expected but it was always fresh gud quality and plenty of it from cooked hot food,toast,fruit,jelly cold meat ,continental breakfast plus much more something for everyone. The rooms were always clean. The pool was lovely. Wud highly recommend this hotel. Its not far from the main strip but i wont lie it is a few mins away from it but i didnt find this as a problem cos it ment nite times were nice and quiet and the noise from the strip was not a problem. This is a lovely place for a family or a couple 2 enjoy their well earned holiday. I will be back next yr marelen :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shelby263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    288
    96
    31
    10
See reviews for
629
222
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at the marelen with my partner and two children, 4 and 7. We had an amazing holiday overall. On arrival the reception staff were great very friendly and helpful, our room was a good standard for 3 star in greece. very clean and comfortable. The hotel in general was always clean and well presented. The staff were generally all nice and helpful in the bars etc and prices were reasonable, we had two days of bad weather and were kept happy and entertained. the thomas cook entertainment team were excellent! we dont normally stick around for hotel entertainment but they were worth getting back early to watch.
the children could get juice drinks from the pool bar for 60cent which makes a change from other holidays we have been on where they charge a fortune. we booked to stay bed and breakfast, we had read on tripadvisor before we went that the breakfast was poor and I hate to admit it but it really was! the juices were watery and sometimes tasted like chemicals which i can only guess was some sort of cleaner. Also the sausages and bacon were not nice, snacks at the pool bar were not great either. Ordered a sausage and egg bun one day and got a huge bun with 1 sausage and 1 egg which looked completely ridiculous. Every day they would offer a menu for evening meal which we did try a few times, this was pretty good, just a shame they dont put as much effort in to all the food.
My childrens favourite part of the hotel was the splash pool that we went to most afternoons, they loved it, the lady who works the pool bar there was lovely! The kids club was good they enjoyed going and did lots of painting and messy play, seemed to be indoors a lot though never saw them go outside which was a shame.
The hotel was in a good location for the beach only at the end of the road - 2 mins walk, little further to the resort strip with loads of restaurants etc. We were disappointed with the restaurant at the beach but everywhere else the food was great. Had some great meals out and really fell in love with greek food!
At the end of our holiday we requested a late check out room as we had a night time flight home, was worried if we would get one or not as i have never been so lucky at other hotels. They gave us a room to use right untill we had to leave for the airport, we were very pleased and others that we spoke to all said that they had no problem with this either.
Overall we had a lovely time hotel was clean, comfortable, fun and a great location just a sha,e that the food let it down so much. I would probably go again but just go self catering and give the food a miss.

Room Tip: can be a little noisy close to the pool bar on a night if you want to be asleep before 11 or 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kat_h4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My family and I have just arrived home from a weeks holiday from the marelen hotel. We had such a wonderful time the hotel was spotlessly clean everyday food was excellent and portion sizes were generous so much so that we couldn't even have the three courses available on our half board basis. The hotel wasn't fully booked but was still busy with a good atmosphere from the evening entertainment from the local artists and the tour reps. We were only a 5 minute walk from the beach but we didn't manage to see any turtles because it was out of season but there was still some nests left that still had to be checked for babies so a visit is very worth while. Because it was nearly the end of season not all shops were open but there was enough so that you could buy your souvenirs . As the hotel is only a 10 minute drive from the airport we just booked taxis instead of the tour operator transfer as it was cheaper. I would recomend this hotel to family's as it has it's own water theme park for the young children but even the older ones were desperate to use it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deniseh6025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Marelen was a very nice place to stay. It is perhaps the cleanest place I have ever stayed in Greece with the cleaners coming in every day. The entertainment team were very good with my stepson who has learning difficulties. The breakfast was ok, with a choice of fried bacon, hotdog sausages, eggs etc, or ham, cheese or cereals. The snack bar and the bar are both well priced. The room was a bit small for the three of us and the 80 Euro charge for aircon was so over the top that i did not get it.
The location is good, two minutes from the beach and 5-8 minutes from resort centre. I enjoyed Kalamaki itself, it has a selection of bars and restaurants but is quitier and perhaps not as common as Laganas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggles266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned from the Marelen hotel and was pleasantly surprised, The room was spacious, clean and handful of storage cupboards. Decent size bathroom.

The maids changed the towels and bedlining twice a week which was enough really.. The room was kept spotless too, Bins changed daily. We had a room overlooking the pool area.

The hotel is geared for people with children, there is a splash pool and team dedicated for them. Daily activities and an evening entertainment program was ideal for families..

Snacks at pool side were reasonably priced and of a good standard. We didn't eat any meals at the hotel so can't comment on the hotel food.. Drinks at the bar in the evening were pricey, example, 1 cocktail and 1 brandy came to 8 euros.

Location of the hotel is ideal , short walk away from the beach and a 10 minute stroll into the Kalamaki main strip. We walked this several times a day to different Tavernas, shops and restaurants. So location is ideal for all.

The hotel and grounds were kept clean throughout the complex and staff seemed pleasant except the Greek girl on reception who let the team down..

Air condition was 40 euros per week, safe deposit 20 euros per week, TV remote 20 euro deposit but get it back at the end of the stay..

All in all we enjoyed our stay, pleasantly surprised by the standards of the hotel but as our children have grown up now it wasn't really a place we could go and relax in quiet by the pool..

Would recommend the hotel to people,, but would state its more suited to people with younger children

Forgot to mention the noise from the planes, its not as bad as people make out, you hear the noise for a few minutes wasn't as bad as we thought it would be

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, much nicer and you can watch the entertainment from your balcony..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have not long returned from our annual holiday. 13-09- 2012. We had not been to Zante before but we had the most fantastic time. Staff and Reps alike were so friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble. Whilst we were there we had the most horrific thunder and lightening storms (awesome) as it was the staff from the hotel and Reps from Thomas Cooke were there until midnight clearing up. Breakfast was basic but plenty of choice hot food was warm. Evening meals were very good. Julie was such an asset to the hotel. I have never been inspired to write a review before but because this hotel and staff were so good I am. The rooms were kept clean and tidy and linen changed every other day. Kalamaki is a beautiful place and you can walk along to laganos. Hire a car see the island we found some beautiful places. We requested top floor and we got what we asked for. The beach is a two minute walk.

Room Tip: no need to take kettles or hairdryers all supplied in rooms along with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniebooengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

we have just got back from the marelen hotel on the 1st oct 2012 we have a fantastic time theresa and juile made you so welcome and allways help you the hotel and gardens are so clean and nice the snack bar did fantastic meals at low cost the entaintainment staff was great with the kids and at night with the grown ups hayley and husband are fantastic on a friday night get you up for a dance mr mrs mataragas made you so welcome and allways said hello nick the bar man made you welcome and you can have a laugh with him we had a great experience and every one was great we are going to book for next sept 2013 was in room 349

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVE411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#23 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Property: Marelen Hotel
Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki
Marelen Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing