We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marelen Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Elanthi Village Apartments(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Vanessa(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$49
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cronulla Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalamaki Beach Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anagenessis Village Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel & Suites(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$31
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Macedonia(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$36
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$152
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,281 results
Traveler rating
785
339
110
34
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
785
339
110
34
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplash poolkids clubfree pizza nightsnack barmain poolbunk bedsthe thomas cook entertainment teamself cateringnext yearair contv remotegreat holidayfamily poolthe main stripgreat family hotelb and bfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
1,058 - 1,063 of 1,281 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just arrived home from a 2week holiday in zante with my husband and 2year old girl staying at the marelen hotel in kalamaki.The staff were very helpful and welcoming.room was very clean with the maid service very good.food at the pool side snack bar was good with the portion's being big and at a good price.for children the 2 pools are perfect especially the splash pool and the kids entertainment was tip top, always something for the little ones to do.the plane noise was not a problem as the resort is next to the airport.would recomend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying there but is it best for families not really couples.will be going back within the next couple of years.The only negitive i wouls say is that if u are eating a meal in the resturant in the evening it tends to be very noisy with the entainment going on but we ate out every night as the food in the resort is very good.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 441 which is on the top floor away from the noise of the entainment but had planes flying right pass us.you don't get many of them to be fair and we got the sun in the evening which was nice
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank victoria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our family (Ramsays) stayed in this hotel for 2wks and it was fantastic...all the staff were so welcoming and the entertainment team were amazing considering the long hours they have to do...we found the food excellent and the rooms were clean and tidy...Gerri at the splashpool was lovely and our 2yr old grandaughter Summer enjoyed playing ther with all the toys...we loved it so much that we have already booked up to go back next year.

Room Tip: we found rooms looking onto the splash pool were quiet at nite
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Marelen for two weeks from 17th June 2012 (the kids are ten and eight).
The only negative I can find to say about the place is that the bathroom in our self catering apartment was a bit tatty, but this did not have any impact on our holiday as everything worked fine - it just needs a little TLC!
Overall we had an amazing holiday and the kids in particular had the time of their lives. We followed advice from previous reviews and found them to be really useful. The hotel is great for families and our two made some great friends, allowing us grownups some proper r & r!
The hotel staff, and Julie in particular, are a real joy. They are friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and our few queries were dealt with quickly and efficiently. The public areas are clean and comfortable, and the hotel was just the right size for us - small enough to feel homely and provide a very personal service.
And so to the Thomas Cook Entertainment Team. I cannot speak highly enough of Lee, Charlotte, Leila and Charlie (I know you'll read this!). They were brilliant with us and really made our holiday something extra special. Their enthusiasm dragged us out of our loungers time and again to join in with the poolside activities, which we all loved, and the kids thought the evening shows were the best thing ever. The fact that our usually homesick daughter cried her eyes out on the last night at the thought of having to leave says everything about what she thought of them. Thank you all for a fantastic time.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Marelen to anyone with young children, it is the perfect family venue and the service is second to none.

Neil, Max, Milly & Ben x

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilRWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

b4 booking this hotel read alot of good reviews so woznt disapointed wen we arrived got a nice welcome from julie a theresa and a cold drink which woz much needed and shown to our room which woz adequate 4 wat you use it 4 mainly sleeping towels and bedding woz changed nearly everyday.during the day there woz lots of entertainment around the main pool by the thomas cook entertainment team which were really good tried getting eveyone involved wat a job they do there from about 10 in the morning till 6 then back again from about half7 till around 12 and the kids club which woz excellent do lots of things were can take the children for few hours so can relax knowing they were in safe hands.the splash pool woz good never to busy and somewere to relax whilst the kids play and gerri who runs the snack bar there is a lovely woman she used to sit our daughter down wiv few other children and put the cartoons on 4 them all in all this has to be the best hotel i have been to your always made welcome nothing is never to much if you ask food woz nice and reasonabally priced woodnt hesitate on returning back to the marelen

Room Tip: we got a room facing splash pool which woz excellent coz it closed by 6 so no noise during the night away from the entertainment area and bushes were alot of mosquitos tend to be
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our 1st time to Zante. We booked with T Cook & got a good deal for B&B. The hotel is great for younger children. The T Cook kids team do a fantastic job keeping them entertained, day & night. Lee, Charlotte & the rest of the team kept the adults entertained in the evening after the kids mini disco had finished. Alternatively, there was usualy entertainment in the bar lounge.
The hotel staff are all friendly and very helpful, especially, Julie & Theresa. Nothing was too much. If you've any requests, e-mail the hotel before arriving, they'll do they're best to help.
The kids splash pool was brilliant for the smaller ones and it was never really that busy. It also had it's own bar where you could get snacks & drinks. The hotel grounds are really nice & well kept.
The rooms are pretty basic, no more than you really need, as you are out most of the time anyway. Although the bathroom we had, maybe could have down with a bit of updating. The balcony was also a good size. We paid 65 euros for AC and a safe for a week. The safe being in a room downstairs near reception. If you want the TV, you pay 20 euros, refunded when you hand back the remote. The 3 english speaking channels are ,like in most places, all news channels.
We ate in the hotel most nights, my wife said the spag bol was amazing, but we didn't really enjoy the BBQ night. They had a free pizza night another night, which many took up the offer.
The hotel is at the quieter end of town, although it is only a few minutes walk to Turtle Beach, which is at the end of the road. This part of the beach is by far the best part, although, watch out for the fish nibbling your feet if you stand too long in one place.
We tried a few places in town for meals and found the Olive Tree to be the best.
During the day, Kalamaki was very quiet and because we had a 4 year old with us we prefered to stay in the hotel at night as she'd made lots of friends, so didn't really get to see what it was like at night.
We did the Yellow Submarine turtle spotting trip and that was a great trip, especially for the kids.
It was in the mid 30's when we were there and most days there was very little or no wind. It could get uncomfortable.
The only problem we encountered, was the mozzies. Quite a few people were badly bitten.
We liked the hotel & staff, made some friends & had a nice relaxing break in the sun.

Room Tip: E-mail hotel with any requests a couple of weeks before arriving.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mcflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews