We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See you next year”
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Excellent location only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and 5/10 minutes walk to the main strip of restaurants and bars in Kalamaki. Travelling with four teenagers Kalamaki had everything to keep them occupied with Laganas only a short taxi drive away (8 Euros). Plenty of restaurants to sample homemade Greek food in the resort which is a must when travelling to Greece. Hotel Marelen was fantastic - we were met by Theresa and Julie on our arrival who guided us through our holiday with nothing being too much trouble. If I had young children the splash area I would have used daily as it is fantastic and will keep your children occupied everyday. I met many new friends whilst relaxing in the hotels outdoor jacuzzi. Hotel Marelen is a must for anyone who wants a relaxing holiday and to sample Greece. The Hotel is excellent with fantastic staff who made the holiday complete. BBQ and Greek night at the hotel are excellent value for money and even better there's a free pizza night every week. The food at the snack bar area was very good value for money and the bar area in the evening was an excellent place to relax for couples and young families. My teenage daughters joined in with the entertainment at the hotel and really enjoyed themselves. It was great being only five minutes from Zante airport especially after travelling for many hours as you can start your holiday straight away. Thank you Theresa, Julie, Nick and all the staff for ensuring every detail was covered for us to have a wonderful holiday. See you next year if not before x

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SharonTofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

After missing our flight through no fault of our own,and after loosing 3 days of our holiday,myself and my girlfriend and four teenage girls arrived at the marelen hotel,where we were greeted by theresa the hotel manager and julie the pr organiser for the hotel with massive smiles.we were escorted to our rooms,which were spotlesslly clean,the grounds of the hotel and the pool were immaculate,all due to vissi who worked non stop all day,with always a smile on his face.the breakfast in the mornings was a excellent choice of fresh fruit,cereals,waffles,or a full english breakfast.
the beach was a 2 minute walk which again was lovely and clean,and the sea crystal clear.about 10 minutes walk in the other direction took you to the strip,where you had a great choice of restaurants to eat from ( THE YAMAS BAR AND THE OLIVE TREE WERE OUR FAVOURITES) but the yamas bar will always be in our hearts,due to the way my girlfriends daughter rhiannon was treated at her birthday meal,so a big thankyou to george who treated her like the princess she is.the entertainment in the evenings at the hotel were first class ranging from bingo to quizzes to live acts,all of which were excellent.all in all this is a family run hotel who treat you like part of the family,but a big thankyou to theresa for all her help during our stay,as nothing was too much trouble for her.i would recommend this hotel to anybody,and really hope i get the chance to go again....WELL DONE MARELEN FOR GIVING ME A FABULOUS HOLIDAY

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANDREW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our first impression of the hotel was that it was very quiet, the hotel was fully booked but it never seemed crowded or overly busy, however there were enough people around for it to feel sociable. All the hotel staff were very friendly and went out there way to make you feel welcome, the evening entertainment was always good fun and the food was very nice too. Kalamaki beach is just around the corner which is lovely and also fairly quiet, there is a lovely taverna on the beach where again all the staff are very friendly and the food is nice and reasonable. The main strip of restaurants is under a 10 minute walk away and again has some lovely restaurants - I would recommend you try 'Yamas' and 'the Olive tree', the food and cocktails were delicious!! This is the second year I have been to Kalamaki and I will be going back again at some point, although this year the restaurants/bars were noticeably quieter as one of the large hotels on the island has gone self catering meaning less people are eating out. This is a great location though and you will leave feeling like you have made many friends you want to go back and see.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

i stayed here with my family last year for 2 weeks. the hotel was fantastic, rooms were lovely and clean, pools lovely and food and drinks great prices.
Entertainment was ok but the hotel is a short walk from the kalamaki strip were there are bars and resturants which were lovely and laganas is a 7 euro taxi ride away. The beaches are lovely and would suggest to hire a car or bike to explore the island. The hotel is basic but is clean and a great base for a sunn beach/pool selfcatering holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

2 adults + 16 yr old - very clean rooms and welcoming warm staff - pool clean and has a small section for the younger children. 10 minute stroll to the restaurants and bars and 5mins to the beach. I must say we visited Kalamaki in 2009 aswell and unfortunatly when we returned in 2010 we had noticed that they were struggling financially. A lot of the restaurants had closed down and seemed very quiet. Would definitly return to the hotel and loved Zante as an island.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Visited in early July with a group of friends/family on a self catering basis. The hotel staff are all pleasant and the hotel is clean and tidy with a nice pool and good facilities for children (small pool, ping pong table and pool table). Also, the gardens around the complex are also nicely kept. Breakfast was payable at 5 euros a day and this was very nice with a good choice for all and the bar snack was also very good - would recommend the chicken gyro.

The Hotel is close to the beach and there is plenty of choice of bar and restaurants within easy reach. We ate out every night and did not have one bad meal. I would highly recommend the taverna on the beach - food was excellent and reasonably price - it is a shame they don't open for dinner!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had read previous trip advisor's comments before we came and was a bit apprehensive before we arrived mainly due to the location and the proximatey to the airport, although it was very close, the flights were never too late or too early, and in fact, we rather enjoyed watching the planes arrive !

The rooms are basic, especially the bathroom facilities, but when you take into account that we paid approx £400.00 per person for two weeks (deduct cost of flights/transfer etc) and altogether the facilities represented excellent value for money. You would never get a room with breakfast for this in the UK !! Having reviewed some of the comments, I can only imagine these people were used to all inclusive holidays and did not take the cost in to consideration, sure if they were pertaining to be a 5 star hotel, but they aren't !!

Julie who greets you at the hotel on arrival was brilliant throughout the stay right until the very end, when she personally waved us off ! All the staff are more than happy to help and ensure that your stay is a happy one. You will see the two older gentleman proprietors strolling around the complex wishing everyone a good day, with a general sense of proudness.

The hotel was very clean and the food at breakfast was adequate . The snack bar provided lovely food although a little bit on the pricey side, although good portion sizes, so we often shared a meal together.

Pool is very nice and agree with all comments - always plenty of sunbeds and they are nice sunbeds not the plastic sort !

We did a boat trip one day around Zante, very nice

The location itself is absolutely ideal for couples and families and although we did venture into Lagaunas for 1 night, this really was not for us, depsite it being very near it really did not overlap into our resort.

The strip of restuarants and bars were ideal, plenty of choice, we made good friends with Racheal at the Black Pearl bar, who never presurised us to drink their, we returned every night for our first drink.

We would agree that the Olive tree is very nice, although portion sizes are smaller than other restuarants Heavens Kitchen also is good, although the surroundings are not quite as good, due to the Kareoke bar next door ! We also enjoyed the Pandesia - lovely Greek food. Tthe Italian restaurant is very nice,has lovely food but it is quite expensive. So save it for a special ooccassion. The Kalakhoe , it has a garden atmosphere, apparently has been there for many years, you will be greeted by a Roy Walker look alike and he will give you the hard sell, the food is nice there but you will wait approx 2 hours for your food to arrive, we only went once and he never tried to invite us in again.

Internet Pat or Nana Pat as we named her by the end of the stay was somewhat of a character, she came highly recommended but we never actually booked any excursions through her, but had we known about her on arrival would have done.

We would recommend visiting Banana beach for a day, its a lovely beach, although the free coach drive there is somewhat hairy, the coach pickup is free and really the coach should have been decomissioned years ago ! Kilamaki beach is ok, not the prettiest we have been on, Taverna lovely, but a bit pricey.

Overall Greece is relatively expensive its very similar in pricing to the UK and if you can't drink cocktails (local spirits) or local beer then a branded spirit with mixer is between 5 and 7 euros.

We did love it though and would not hesitate in recommending it, just make sure you pay the going rate for the holiday. We had two weeks there , the first with friends and we had a fab time.

For a lively night try the Venue Bar !! Other than that all is relatively quiet after 12.00.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdamJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki
Marelen Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing