We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Second stay at the beautiful Bitzaro Grande (with the first being in 2009). The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The food, both quality and layout, was amazing. If you required anything served without sauces you only had to let the restaurant staff know. Breakfast was fantastic. My husband told me he had never seen me eat so many fried breakfasts in the 30 years we have been together! Everything was lovely and clean - even to the extent of handwashes on the way into the dining room. You are remembered after the first evening!
Our rooms were large and well set out. I actually emailed to ask them if there was a kettle and Nikki took the time to e-mail me back saying that, this year, Bitzaro Grande have a kettle in all the rooms - so, don't bother with your travel one.. The kitchen area in our room had a large fridge and cooking facilities. TV was included. The separate bedroom was very comfortable. The bathroom was large with a shower above the bath. There was plenty of hot water and towels were changed every second day with the bedding being changed about 5 times over the fortnight we were there. There are mosquito nets at the windows and the patio door which could open and close without the doors/windows being shut.
After breakfast, the pool bar area is open from 10am to 6pm. When it closes at 6pm the upstairs lounge area bar is open for the remainder of the evening and the entertainment area at the pool bar re-opens at 9pm. I have to say that the entertainment would not suit everybody. During the day there were the various little games which you were always asked if you wanted to join in but refusal was easy and no offence was taken if you said no (and there was no cajoling if you didn't want to join in). There were two "shows" during the week and various games in the evening which my husband enjoyed tremendously. I have to say that the evening entertainment was not impressive - for me. If you enjoy bingo (which I don't and hence the comment) Thomas calls out two games per evening and you could win €200.
Although we were all inclusive, we did go into the small town area of Kalamaki and had a few evening meals at very friendly restaurants which was absolutely lovely and didn't break the bank. You could have a carriage ride which took you around the streets and not just along the main layout. Kalamaki is relatively quiet but if you want some clubbing, go to Laganas. Buses are available to Zante town and to Laganas. You can easily walk to Laganas as it is only 5 kilometres away. Taxis are set priced. Take the little train into Zante. Visit an Olive Grove. Go horse riding. Go quad biking.
An excellent stay in an excellent hotel.
.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aged50couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    304
    95
    20
    19
See reviews for
421
661
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent holiday. All Staff were first rate in their approach, friendliness and efficiency. Special mention for the chef who accommodated a very plain palette with courtesy and choice. In fact all the Restaurant staff could not be faulted in any way. Equally the bar staff were superb in all aspects.
Meals were excellent- the only slight concern was the coffee served in the restaurant was somewhat disappointing.
Facilities good if you want a relaxing time and the Entertainment staff tried hard to please and were very courteous if you didn't want to take part.
Overall considering it was late in the Season the upkeep and cleanliness were very good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just got back from a week at the bitzaro grande, service at the hotel were great, different variety of food every night, fab entertainment (thomas and judith) only thing to moan about was the weather very wet 1 day of sunshine looking at going back next year

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xksx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I knew I was taking a risk with the weather booking October to visit, however I knew there was no risk with booking this hotel! The management have been so lucky in having amazing staff and a beautiful hotel. Once again, a terrific week with fantastic food, great entertainment and fab staff (who are more like friends)! Met some great new people and look forward to another visit!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolLisa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Positive

- Food is of a very high quality. Lots of dishes to choose from, very fresh, regional dishes, nice salads, well prepared & warm. We always looked forward to having lunch & dinner. Also the cheeseburgers that you could order outside tasted brilliant.
- Rooms were nice and cleaned every day, cleaning ladies did a great job
- Reception : very friendly and welcoming. If you had a questions or issue, they always help you out asap.
- Pool : well maintained, water had a nice temperature.
- Entertainment : the team did a great job. We never played bingo and enjoyed it very much. Big up to Thomas who keeps things running. Really had a great time.


Negative

- Drinks could be improved. The orange juice had a chemical taste to it, lemonade & beer were ok.
- Nothing to do for small children (we were travelling with our son who is 2 years old). There was a play area for toddlers, but it looked a little grubby.
- Depending on the location of your room, noise from entertainment can be a little disturbing for small children. Just ask for a quiet room in the back, problem solved.
- Planes coming over, for some small children this can cause a problem. Our son slept through it all.

Golden wristband

Some people are very proud of their golden wristband. On the one hand, I can understand this. On the other hand, it’s a big world. Lots of places to visit, nice people to meet, interesting things to discover. Don’t get stuck in the same place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RafCoekaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back from a great holiday with my girlfriend.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and even remind your name.
My only thing i grumbled about was the comfort of the bed etc, rather hard and it is 2 single beds pushed together.
Apart from that, great hotel and a 5 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our 4th holiday at the Bitzaro grande and were not disappointed .every thing about it was good from the drinks to the food . It is a great place to chill out and meet now people. We always get a taxi from the airport (17euro) it saves all the hassle and you are at the hotel in 5-10mins .all the staff are great and go out the way to help you.going back next year as its the only place we can truly chill out ....

Room Tip: Even though you are all inc go to the olive tree(5 mins from the hotel towards the strip on left han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Property: Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Address: CL Zante, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Grande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bitzaro Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Kalamaki
Bitzaro Grande Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing