We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great Hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have been to many hotels in different countries, but this is one of the best. The staff are so helpful, The food is good and the entertainment staff work hard to keep you amused with success.We enjoy it so much that this will be our fourth time to go in September.and we are really looking forward to it. It feels lie going home because you are made so welcome both by the owners and the staff,. The bedrooms are always spotless ,as is the restaurant and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants a hotel of quality.

Room Tip: l rooms overlooking the pool are nice, but we have been in others which are cooler,although air-cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonne3743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    309
    96
    20
    19
See reviews for
433
676
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

After reading all the usual reviews, the Bitzaro Grande, was the obvious choice. Only I was expecting to be blown away by it. Don't get me wrong it was very clean, very nice, good food, great location, great staff, great entertainment team, but nothing amazing, just very, very nice. When I got back and re-read the reviews, you realise that the majority of the 'amazing' reviews are written by people who return to the Bitzaro Grande (BG) year after year. These regular customers of 'BG', strive to achieve the holy grail of the 'Golden wristband' (maybe 4 or 5 continuous visits). Another factor of these regular customers is it was very 'cliquey' amongst them, making it hard to integrate with them. They were like a big family, where as on any other holiday where all the people are new visitors, the majority are keen to make new friendships.

Moving on nothing really to dislike, only the balconies you can't see over when sat down (see below) & the tide marks in the pool around the pillars and island were very green. It would not of taken much to clean them up really. No real problems with sunbeds, seemed to be just enough in August, though people still claimed beds and never used them all day (I know this also goes on every where else) really annoys me.

We had one of the 2 storey rooms above the reception, right above the steps to the pool, great accommodation, hard beds & pillows in a hotel, what a luxury, 2 balconies, one on each side (pool & strip) so there was always one in the shade and one in the sun. Absolutely no noise problem with, ( except when 2 or 3 days a week flights take off from 6am. sounds like earthquake at first), pool bar closed at 11pm & reception bar 12am. A real disappointment with the balconies over looking the pool was they were to high & solid. when you sat down all you could see was ' a wall ', no view whatsoever.

Entertainment OK, free pool table, great entertainment team, not pushy at all, but didn't need to be because the regulars dominated most of it, meaning far to many people wanted to take part in the games and caused them to drag on, so you just didn't bother. If you did and won, you got bingo tickets for the evening & played for about £200 a house. Well worth a flutter even if you had to pay for them.

Kalamaki nice and quiet, with just about enough going on to break the monotony of the 'AI' holiday, though 2 weeks self catering would be a struggle. Crazy golf well laid out & worth a visit and a couple of nice bars / restaurants on the way to it from the hotel. You can walk along the beach to Laganas, about 40 mins, but we left Laganas about 11.30pm, just as it was starting to 'liven up'. Zakynthos town very nice around the harbour, both only a cheap taxi ride away.

Please go to Bitzaro Grande. Don't be put off by anything I've said, just don't expect it to be out of this world.
Life to short & there is lots of places in the world to see, too waste time and money visiting the same places year after year

Room Tip: If you want to see out of your balcony when seated, ask for one of the very few that had spindles in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Delbo y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

No need to write much..........Take it from me this is one of the best hotels and holidays you can have. Everything about it is fantastic, staff, food, location, clean, fun, friendly This was our second visit, there will definitely be a third. Thinking of booking ? Do it, you'll love it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading excellent reviews and recommendations from family members I couldn't wait to stay at the Bitzaro Grande. Myself and my partner stayed for a week at the end of August and honestly wish we'd booked a longer stay! We were the first drop off on the bus transfer from the airport, which is conveniently only about 5 minutes away from the hotel. Even though the hotel is in such close proximity to the airport it never caused a problem. In fact we quite enjoyed watching the planes land and occasionally seeing them take off (they take off in opposite direction). Plus they don't fly at night because of the turtles so doesn't disrupt beauty sleep. The outside of the hotel is very impressive, so impressive that one night I heard a passer by say 'the Bitzaro Grande looks very grand indeed'. The reception area is spotless and big - plenty of seats and nice comfy sofas. The reception staff are all so friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived so reception told us to go for lunch and a drink and they'd come get us when it was ready. Our room was located on the ground floor and faced onto the pool. Despite the location we were never disrupted by noise from the pool bar entertainment at night. The room itself was big but basic. It had plenty of storage, a fridge, a tv, air con and a hair dryer. The maids were in cleaning every day and changed bedding and towels every other day. They do a fantastic job. We were on an all inclusive basis and found the food and drinks to be of a high quality. We ate our meals in the restaurant choosing to sit in the outside areas. The food is excellent - plenty of choice and of a high standard. We only had 1 day where we couldn't find anything that took our fancy, but maybe that's just because we're too picky! The barman in the lobby bar was very friendly always asking how our day had been and he remembered what drinks we had. To be fair all of the staff were very friendly and did a great job remembering names and what room number you were. The entertainment staff were great. There was numerous games around the pool during the day which you were never forced into participating in. At night it seemed to always be cash bingo which doesn't really appeal to my partner and myself even though the prizes seemed to be pretty decent. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to visit Zante.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GeordieGirl504060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first time to Greece and after trawling the internet and reading up on reviews we finally decided on the Bitzaro Grande. From getting off the coach after stopping at other hotels en route we thought this looked the more superior. Those first impressions were not wrong, the hotel itself is very spacious, immaculately clean and as for the staff they greet you as customers but you definitely leave them as friends...they are all truly amazing and want to do their upmost to ensure you have the perfect holiday.
The food is of a high standard and served in the large cool restaurant, there really was no need to try any of the local cuisine it was all on offer here....beatiful.
We only landed Friday and have been this morning to book agin for next year... there is nothing at all we could fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Me and my boyfriend headed to Zante in June to stay here for a week for our first couples holiday. We are in our early twenties and although not staying in the heart of the party place (Laganas)..Kalamaki was the place to be. I'm so glad we decided to stay in this hotel, from day 1 we loved it. The staff were all extremely friendly from the reception team, to the waiters, through to the unbelievable entertainment staff. We went all inclusive and enjoyed the delicious meals and definitely took advantage of the bars. During the day we sunned ourself on the lounges (there are plenty to go round and always had one) and had fun in the two pools. There's activities and games throughout the day and evening with the entertainment staff who really do make your holiday! As for our room it was lovely and perfect and had a great view overlooking the pool.

This hotel is for everyone, couples (young or old), families and friends!!

If you are heading to Zante...you must stay here!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor (the highest) overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bl0mquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nafferton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

After spending hours on Trip Advisor as usual, planning our holiday and trying to find the perfect hotel, I found the Bitzaro Grande and wow, it was even better than the reviews!! The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is restaurant quality, the rooms are large and spacious and the staff are really out of this world!! From first stepping in through the doors and being welcomed to (unfortunately) checking out at the end of your holiday you are treated as friends. The food is really good - yes, I appreciate that you are not faced with as many choices as some all inclusive hotels but the food quality really makes up for this - I didn't eat the same meal twice in 12 days, and, really, how many choices do you need?!! The restaurant staff are all really friendly and work so hard, buzzing around and keeping everywhere clean and tidy, never in your face but happy to help and a few words in Greek are always appreciated. The bar staff are amazing - Nicky in the pool bar and Yiannis in the reception bar are so friendly and usually remember what you are drinking. The pools are lovely - cleaned daily and never overcrowded, in fact the whole hotel does not feel as though you are jostling for space which makes it so relaxing. The setting is beautiful - 5-10 minutes walk to the beach depending on your pace. We did an island tour and didn't see anywhere we would rather have stayed than Kalamaki. Speaking of trips, we booked all of ours with a local company around the corner called Cavo Grosso and they were so friendly and helpful, much cheaper than you pay using the big tour operators and the guides spoke excellent English. Our guide for two of the trips was called Mia and was just as good as an English guide. We also got a taxi to Laganas beach but it was nowhere near as nice as Kalamaki beach so we took a boat trip to Turtle Island and saw a turtle which was amazing!! Evenings at the Bitzaro consist mostly of cash bingo but it's great fun and everyone joins in. They also have quizzes, the animation team, headed by Thomas, put on some really funny shows and they also had Knot the Juggler who did an amazing fire show. They also have the local turtle protection society (Archelon) visit to talk about the turtles on the island - it is really interesting and you can adopt a turtle, even choosing the beach it was born on and giving it a name - we did, so please support them if you can to help these beautiful creatures. If you embrace this hotel and the staff you will have a great time as you feel you are holidaying with friends you hadn't met yet. This holiday was so great our son said he wants to bring his wife and children when he is older and he is only five years old!! Go and check out the Bitzaro for yourself and you will have a fabulous holiday!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
659 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Property: Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Address: CL Zante, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Grande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bitzaro Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Kalamaki
Bitzaro Grande Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing