We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our fourth, and not our last, visit to Bitzaro, amazing as ever.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our fourth, and not our last, visit to Bitzaro, amazing as ever.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is the 4th review I have written about this hotel, every time we visit I must share how amazing this hotel is, we found it via Tripadvisor, and hope many more will.

THE HOTEL: is airy and contemporary and immaculately clean, the grounds are beautifully decorated with the most amazing displays of flowers, their groundsman work's tirelessly to keep it all looking beautiful. All of the staff at this hotel are amazing, Nicky, Anastasia, Helena on reception, we are always amazed that even after a year goes by they great you by your first name, and with a hug - where else would you get such a welcome?!! There is also free wi-fi in the hotel lobby, which has sofas and a large screen TV. There is a large pool which is deep in places, a shallower pool, childrens pool, and a bubble pool, all very clean.

THE ROOMS: well we have only stayed in a room for two, so I cant comment on the bigger rooms, however the one's we have stayed in are more than adequate, they have double or twin beds, bath with shower over (plenty hot water to go around), a balcony or terrace, flat screen TV and a fridge. The only thing I feel it lacks is tea/coffee making facilities, so we take a travel kettle, coffee etc with us, just a tiny detail. All rooms have a safe and air con, payable locally unless you are a gold member (have stayed 4 times) and you get these free.

THE FOOD: is AMAZING!!! Eric is the head chef, with an amazing team behind him, even my husband, the pickiest eater on the planet, always finds something tasty!! The menu is varied, we stay 10 nights and never had a duplicate menu. There is cooked breakfast, continental, cereals, pastries; lunch is varied, salads, hot food, or if you fancy a toastie or burger this can be found at the pool bar (more on this later); Dinner consists of various hot dishes, salads, deserts, it is high quality, and more than enough to go around. The waiting staff are fantastic, promptly clearing your dishes when finished with. If you are going out for the day you can order sandwiches, although having done this ourselves this year I (sadly) would not recommend it, they were less than expected considering the high quality of food you get in the hotel, disappointing (and I love this hotel and hate to say anything negative, but I must be honest for the sake of a review).

THE POOL BAR: Is ran by the fantastic Nickey, I have never known a girl work so hard as she does. It is open from 10am to 6pm during which you can get drinks, food such as toasties, burgers, sandwiches, salads etc, or between 12 and 2pm there is also a self service hotplate with chips, pizza, pasta etc. There is a pool table within the pool bar and a TV. The pool bar reopens at 9pm under the more than capable hands of the lovely Nikos, and the enertainment happens down here. There is also a bar in the main reception, which on an evening is ran by Giovanni, always smiling, he works very hard, the bar is open untill midnight, you can sit indoors or there is a large terrace with a view over the pool.

THE ENTERTAINMENT: Well, what can I say....!!! Brilliant!!! The entertainment team is ran by Thomas, the crazy Austrian, who is hard working and very funny, you've never heard bingo calling until you've heard him, still has me in stitches!! There are activities throughout the day, including French Boules (my fave), killer pool, water polo, table tennis, and other daft but hillarious games which are great fun to take part in, I must stress that there is no pressure from any of the team to join in, but it really is good fun, and you can win bingo tickets for the evening!! The evening there is always bingo first, not to be sniffed at, we won over 200 euro this year, it's really good money!! There is also a different show each night, such as Greek night, Bitzaro show (staring the entertainment team), karaoke night, quiz nights, basically something for everyone. Despite the hotel being amazing, it would not be the same without Thomas and his team, we cant praise them enough for the effort the put in to keeping us entertained.

THE LOCATION: it's around 200 metre walk up to the main road, which is lined with shops and restaurants (you wont need to eat out, I promise!!). The hotel is in line with the end of the runway, we always get a taxi to/from the airport, it's only 13 euro and you're there in less than 5 minutes. Dont be put off by the close proximity to the airport, the planes dont bother you, yes, they come in/out during the day periodically, the noise lasts about 20 seconds, if that, and it's fun to watch!! There are no night flights due to the turtles nesting on the beach, you WILL NOT be bothered by the flights.

Overall, this is the best hotel we have ever stayed at, we never go anywhere twice but have been here 4 years in a row and already planning our next trip back in 2013!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sherleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bitzaro Grande Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review,
I sometimes feel I’m repeating myself if I’m replying to all the good comments all you lovely people write for us, for our work… how nice of you, so important for us…
I had to reply to this review though, just to say a big thank you for all the details you have written, all the time you spent to inform our future guests and on the same time to encourage us to keep trying for improvement!!
We will be happy to see you again, to share our sunny days with you…do not forget to request for your favorite room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    277
    84
    20
    14
See reviews for
402
602
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Bitzaro Grande for a week in June, it was without doubt the very best time to go if you would like to avoid the hoards of children. The weather couldn't have been better and all venues in Kalamaki seemed pleased to have our business unlike our last trip at the end of the season two years ago. The Hotel itself remains bright and clean with professional friendly staff however, we found the habit of trying to save money on the owners part tiresome at times, all food items appeared to be the cheapest items possible and juice/milk drinks tasted watered down, the bar area although fitted with an extensive air conditioning system was like a sauna, the only cool area after dinner was the front of the hotel in the shade. On the whole though the food was quite good and there was plenty of it.
The hotel states that they have a dress policy for dinner on long trousers and shoes for men and something suitable for women, while i saw the women making the effort there were plenty of men in vests, shorts and flip flops, if you're going to have a rule then enforce it!! having said that, it was so hot in the bar area that wearing a shirt, shoes and long trousers proved to be very uncomfortable.
Overall the hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff enthusiastic and highly professional, it is with out a doubt one of the very best hotels in Kalamaki. I feel that rather than make cuts in air conditioning comfort and the quality of the food it would be better to increase the prices a little.

Room Tip: stay away from the pool bar area to get to sleep before midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regiment888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was our second visit, again the room was clean tidy and kept that way for the seven days. Food was very good albeit a bit samey,entertainment very good too. Staff were brilliant, helpful and very kind, I think you would be hard beat to find better treatment anywhere. Gardens and general area brilliant. We chose to eat out occasional and would recommend the Merlis (turn right out on to the Kalimaki main road and about 200 yards) for a good traditional English breakfast (4 Euros), Michaelos for nothing but brilliant food and atmosphere (30 minute walk or 7 Euros for a taxi from the hotel), and Oasis bar for cocktails. If you wish for a good Italian meal, then go to Duon Amici (again brilliant food but less of an atmosphere). Thank you Bitzaro, we will be looking forward to our third trip next year.

Room Tip: We stopped in room 139, that appears to be the quiet end we asked for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andylumpthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bitzaro Grande Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for comming back!
I had to answer to this review as last year you gave us a 3/5 and this year 5/5...Thnak you indeed, it means a lot to us that you feel your second visit is better than the first!!

We'll be more than happy to see you returning to our hotel for the third time and even happier to have you as a club member on your fourth visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just come back from the Bitzaro Grande once again had a wonderful time this hotel has it all very good food clean and comfy rooms. This year we once again made some good friends who we hope to see next year. Nikkey,Yanni, Apostle and all the staff are brilliant cant do enough to help must not forget Thomas and the entertainment boys and girls who help to get things going. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone and look forward to our visit next year. Weather turned hot so they put the ac on free of charge.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to be located very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizjohn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just got back from the Bitzaro Grande and we had a fab time. The food is so good it is out of the world. the staff are so friendly and the Entertainment is so good. The Entertainment team bring the guest together so you feel like you know everyone and feel as part of a big family. it is a good mix of activitys and rest. Well done to the team. The only down side is the Time goes to quick. Well done Ghelly and Helena and the rest of team Bitzaro.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accrington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

this was our first holiday at this hotel and i must say its probably the best we have had for a number of years no stray cats to bother about plenty of sun beds no matter what time you go down now to mention the hotels excllent staff very obliging and very friendly all the rooms and public areas were spotless dining room staff very very helpful bar staff always on the go as for the reception they could not do enough for us we will definitly be going back the food at this hotel was second to none we really did have good time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned from a short break here and feel the Number 2 ranking for this hotel is above our experience.
Hotel was very clean and staff helpfull. Pool is large and was pristine being cleaned daily and area around Pool was well maintained with plenty of loungers available. The things that spoiled it for us were: Air con is not availabel 24 hours, this is first for us in any hotel we have ever stayed in. It ment our day revolved around the air con slots and seemed a petty cost saving exercise.
Food was below standard a true 4 star would offer. We ate one evening meal and after this we went out every night to some amazing resturants along the main street. The problem was the food was all a bit bland, cold and no real service or atmosphere as everything, including drinks are self service. It felt a bit school canteen, not 4 star holiday treat. This was highlighted by the excellent meals available at the neighbouring resturants with friendly waiters and great service.
For example, a fridge in room but no daily bottles of drinking water in it under all inclusive.
We always go all inclusive but it feels this hotel have cut staff/service and food and drink quality so much to deliver a price it has damaged the overall experience.

Location was good and a short walk from beach and local shops and bars.

Fix the air con restrictions, invest in better quality food and drink and could be a great place, enjoyed Greece and will return again for weather and the people but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KandiDisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.4 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Property: Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Address: CL Zante, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Grande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Bitzaro Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Kalamaki
Bitzaro Grande Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing