We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic...food outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and i have just returned from our Honeymoon (1 week all inclusive at Bitzaro Grande) we had a brilliant time! The hotel was spotless and the room was light and airy (if a little plain) the food was superb, the best i have ever had in any hotel. There was so much choice and the waiting staff were so efficient!
the pool area was lovely, although i didnt like having to get up early to ensure a sunbed! (7.30 to get 2 together!)
The hotel is just a short walk from Kalamaki town so was a pleasant walk in the evening for a change of scene, and there were some nice bars and restaurants. The entertainment was good although the shows were quite amateur!
all in all we had a great time, there were a few too many children for my liking but it was peak season during school holidays so we kind of expected that!
we would definitely not hesitate in returning to this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keeley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Having stayed at this hotel 5 times this hotel gets better every year!! The staff are always so pleasant and do all they can to ensure you have a brilliant holiday. From entering the hotel you are made to feel so welcome, it is like seeing family for the first time in a year. The animation team get better and never hassle anyone to join in the activities and they all seem to love what they are doing, Thomas knows everyones name and takes time to talk to all the guests. The rooms are kept clean and the towels and linen are regularly changed. The food, my only complaint is that we all put on about a stone in weight because the food was so good!!! The menu was never repeated in the 2 weeks we were there, and it was fresh and plentiful. The fact that so many people choose to go back year after year speaks for itself, we have made some very good friends there who we keep in touch with throughout the year, and we try to arrange to be there at the same time as many of them. We got back on thursday and are already looking in to booking again for next year

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Returned 11th August. this was our second time at the Bitzaro Grande and its every bit as good as last year.Smiles never leave the staff , from reception to waiters/bar staff etc. Thomas and team are great tooTo the folk who complain about Bingo it only lasts a short time and you only need play if you want toThomas makes it so funny and with 250 euros up for grabs most nights!!!!!.Friendliest hotel ever.Easy to see why folk return year after year. Food is hot, varied and always quickly replenished. lots to pick from[diets will start now].Cant praise this hotel enough,looking forward to next year now.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mairsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the Bitzaro Grande for the last 2 weeks in July 2011 on an all inclusive basis.
When we arrived 1st impressions were good. Nice clean & modern reception, and a pleasant welcome from the receptionist (Anastacia). We would later find out that ALL the staff at the hotel were to be equally as friendly, and very helpful.
We had requested 2 rooms next door to each other, due to having 2 teenage daughters, so we wanted them close by. On arrival we were told they hadn't got 2 rooms next door to each other, but we could have a look at one of the family 2 bedroom rooms. We found this to be perfect, and we were told we could have it as a free upgrade. Brownie points instantly earnt. The room was very clean, and kept clean every day for the whole 2 weeks.
It looks like all rooms overlook he pool, which is nice.
The pool is cleaned on a daily basis, and is well marked with depth signs.
We found the food to be of a good standard, and was varied most nights for everyone's taste. Breakfast was also good, from cereal, to fruit, to a full English. All food was constantly being topped up with fresh hot food before the older stuff ran out.
During the day, the entertainment staff would come round the pool to see if you wanted to join in the activities, but they wouldn't try to force you if you said no.
The evening entertainment could be better. They tended to use hotel guests most nights for whatever shows they were putting on. Other hotels we've stayed in get proper acts in from outside which makes it a bit more professional. Having said that though, the entertainment team do a good job with the budget they get. The Bingo prize money is the best I've ever seen at a hotel before. One night it was 200 euro's.
Kalamaki is a nice resort for families, as it's not to noisy, and is completely different to nearby Laganas, which is certainly not a family resort. (18-30's style resort)
The beach is less than a 10 min walk from the hotel, and there is a main strip where there are a selection of bars, tavernas & shops, all within a few minutes walk from the hotel.
The bus service is also pretty good. We took a bus into Zante town, which cost 1.90 euro's each. The bus stop is a 2 min walk from the hotel.
The hotel is is very close to the airport, and you do get quite a few aircraft flying over head, but this doesn't really affect your stay, as the planes don't fly at night. The added beauty of this is the transfer time from airport to hotel is only about 10 mins maximum.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay at the Bitzaro, and we would recommend it to our friends if they were thinking of going to Zante.

Room Tip: If you have children, ask about a family room, as rooms next door to each other can't be guarant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

After staying at this hotel in July/August 2010 - we knew we had to come back.

We arrived and were instantly given a warm welcome by the reception staff, who had recognised us from our previous visit. Check-in was quick and easy, and we were in our room withing a matter of minutes. The room we had was spacious and well furnished.
(Incase anyone wonders - yes there is a hairdryer.) Balcony is one of the biggest we've had, with view over the Zakynthos countryside. No traffic noise or aircraft noise from the adjacent airport, a few miles up the road.
The hotel operates on an all-inclusive basis, and so you have the Breakfast, Lunch, and Evening Dinner. Breakfast - where to begin! Fantastic selection of cooked foods as well as cold items and fruit. Proper British Sausage and bacon, and everything else you could ever want. Lunch - a huge selection, suitable for every member of the family, which varied throughout our two week stay. Evening Dinner - again, superb selection, food tasted great. There is even a 'kiddies corner' which always had pasta or burgers/chicken nuggets for the younger guests. Also, as like lunch, there is a deserts section full of beautiful gateau and even Jelly & ice cream for the young ones.
Throughout all three meal services each day in our two-weeks the restaurant staff were
excellent - they spoke to you when you came in, etc and were prompt in clearing away empty dishes.
Also, if guests were too full to eat at the restaurant throughout the day, they could go to the pool bar, where lighter snacks e.g. pizza, burgers were available on order. This is also where you could get drinks of your choice throughout the day, and also in the evening. (Praise to Nikki at the pool bar, and her colleagues).
Entertainment - each night there was two quick games of cash bingo where you had the chance of winning big money - called out by head of entertainment Thomas (who is simply fantastic). Shows were put on throughout the two weeks, including comedy sketeches and even guest participation shows. There is also activities throughout the day is you wish to take part. The two pools are spotless and have depths which suit every swimming-ability.
Overall a fantastic holiday (once again). The reception, restaurant, cleaning and maintenence staff are a credit to the hotel and its managers. Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hotel-Inspector-565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful holiday; special praise to Nickey at the pool bar & Thomas and his entertainment team - Joel,Judy, Bibi; really well organised hotel & good variety of food in the quality restaurant as well as handy snacks at the pool,bar.Very friendly staff and a great crowd of people - many of them returning regularly.Close to a nice beach & a little further out is lively nighlife & many opportunities for excursions if you choose. Main thing is the great atmosphers at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin-monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Have just got back from a lovely 2 week holiday at Bitzaro Grande, the first time we have have been to Greece. Had 2 adjoining rooms 331 and 332 with pool view; nice and quiet, and rooms had lovely view which was perfect for photographs :).

Staff - all very friendly, from reception staff (always smiling), bar and restaurant staff who work really hard, and our maid who kept the rooms lovely and clean, who together make the hotel such a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

Entertainment - had a good laugh courtesy of Thomas and team, and their varied entertainment programme; Thomas is a top guy and I don't think he realizes just how funny he is. How on earth does he remember so many of the hotel guest's names?! I'm not normally a bingo person, but astonishingly found myself looking forward to it, and learning lots of dutch numbers as a bonus (achtentachtig!). Rest of entertainment team great fun and lots of activities throughout the day to take part it, or you can just relax by the pool (Bibi, you're a gem).

Food/drinks - best food we've ever had in any all inclusive or half-board hotel; can't believe all the different menu choices over the 14 days, not the usual 'sameness' you often get; everything so tasty, sauces exceptional and deserts varied and all yummy. Also tried snacks at the pool bar - the cheeseburgers/toasties were very good. But usually ended up in restaurant at lunchtimes as such a good choice. Red wine and beer lovely. Can't believe the comment made by someone on tripadvisor that the food choice was rubbish - were they staying in the same hotel?!!

Trips - prior to holiday we read a recommendation on tripadvisor to see Pat (Travel) on the main Kalamaki strip, so we went along to see her and booked a turtle spotting trip on a hydrofoil boat (Cruisemar) - fantastic boat and we all had brilliant time, thanks to the captain - could have easily stayed on all day!; much better than prices through holiday rep, and Pat will 'tell you how it is'.

Met lots of people who had been to the Bitzaro Grande many times before, one couple from the UK (lady was greek) were staying for their 9th time and I can understand why!
If you want a fun and relaxing holiday, with great food, and the chance to meet lovely people, then this hotel is IT. Thanks to all the staff at Bitzaro Grande for a lovely holiday.

Jayne, Gary, Sam and Daniel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,277 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
587 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Address: CL Zante, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Grande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bitzaro Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Kalamaki
Bitzaro Grande Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing