We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favourite restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambrosia

Ambrosia
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of our favourite restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is another firm favourite restaurant of ours which we make sure gets visited at least twice on our regular holidays to Kalamaki. Another reason why we can't stay away from Kalamaki is the friendliness and welcoming of staff. The food is beautiful aswell, as well as the entertainment from Costas and Socritees (Im not sure I've spelt that right) we had one night with their Greek fire dancing and plate smashing :-) Freddie who works as the PR man is so incredibly sweet and friendly and doesn't pressure you to come in. We didn't really get to know Costas and Socritees is always making sure everything is ok and another lovely person. Roberto is also another lovely, friendly member of staff there who also makes sure you're happy.

The food was beautiful and I tried a new meal here that I can't remember the name of, but have posted a photo of it. It doesn't look filling, but how wrong was I? I couldn't eat it all. Its risotto in a brown sauce cooked inside a pastry...a bit like a big Yorkshire pudding. I'm so glad I tried it!

Again, another restaurant where if you enter as a customer, you leave as a friend. You do find this with a fair few restaurants in Kalamaki. Thankyou all so much for your fantastic hospitality as always, keep up the good work...including to the chefs and the kitchen staff.

Have a great winter guys and see you all again in May 2014! :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarabell1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    104
    36
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food whilst not oustanding was nice. We were halfway through eating our meal when they decided to crank up the music, start pouring lighter fluid all over the floor & smashing up plates - there were only about 4 of us in the entire restaurant so it was a little bizarre! Entertaining though!
We sat inside for our meal as it was a little chilly (October end of season) - the decor was a little tired and the chairs were ripped with all the sponge hanging out! Overall a nice place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Service and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

During our recent trip to Kalamaki we ate at this restaurant 3 times and it was far superior to the other restaurants we ate at during our stay. The staff were just fantastic and also provided the entertainment, which occurs around 9.00pm each evening. Greek dancing and plate smashing thrown in - my 10 year old son was very excited about being invited to smash a plate with the waiter for entertainment. Ambrosia really is an excellent balance - providing great food, great entertainment and a fantastic atmosphere. It really is a ten out of ten.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamaki, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Large portions, waiters excellent help, very friend! Highly recommended and great for price! Will be back! We'll worth a visit and great intertainment!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bairdie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Greek dancing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ambrosia is a great restaurant food is good my husband says best apple pie in zante !!! And to top it off at 9pm the music starts and the waiters do Greek dancing fantastic .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrosia also viewed

 
Kalamaki, Zakynthos
Kalamaki, Zakynthos
 
Kalamaki, Zakynthos
Kalamaki, Zakynthos
 

Been to Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing