We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”
Review of Dollas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dollas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Kalamaki B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

have just got back from a week here and it was a great holiday. didnt knows what to expect as reveiws were not that good. i would recommend it 100% if you want a quiet holiday with greek charm this is your place. the staff were great and did everything they could to make my staff the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

me and my family loved our time here, staff were really friendly rooms where ok basic but cleaned and changed alot. not half as bad as what some people say. we would go back there again food was lovely!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlaa841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

this hotel is friendly and well run.basic but clean. gregory was so nice and would do anything to help . if your not happy with anything they try to sort it out straight away where possible.it is away from the resort but it is 15 to 20 mins walk to the main strip. but there are a few hotels with bars you can call into when you go out,(rainbow hotel ,yo yos, daisys) for example. plus a lovley small bar called andreas( family run) our fave place on our way out and a welcome stop off on our way back. our room no 40 was very big and had two rooms for 4 of us. we all have to remember that greece is having a bad time of it as we are in england but the level of service at this hotel was second to none. we would go back here again ,in the end you get what you pay for and this was value for money,big thanks to gregory for a wonderful stay and a few great chats and the present of the worry beads. the best thing you can do when you go to any island in greece is learn a few basic words it shows a bit of respect loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I think there's some confusion on Tripadvisor over where this hotel is, so to be clear this review is about the Sirene Apartments (Dollas Hotel) on the main road from Kalamaki to Zakynthos town.

The hotel itself was better than anticipated from some reviews we read beforehand, though it could do with a bit of TLC in places but there's nothing anyone who’s been to Greece before would be surprised about. Right by the Kalamaki to Zakynthos town road so could be a little noisy at times (along with the neighbour's dog and cockerel!) but you tend to tune it out after a while. Not a lot of people staying there that week so we had no trouble getting by the pool and most guests just seemed to want to hang-out and read, snooze etc. Bar was run by a good Albanian guy (Gregori) and his extended family and they were very welcoming. Food was simple and cheap; 2 Euros for a pitta wrap; main course circa 7 Euros and crucially a half litre bottle of local beer for 2 Euros! The hotel has its own ‘supermarket’ run by Debbie (the owner of the hotel - Gregori effectively runs the bar as a sort of franchise) which was fairly priced and accepts credit cards. It cost us 20 Euros to extend the stay in the room for the final night of our stay to avoid being without a bed and shower for best part of a day before our Thomas Cook flight home. Air conditioning for the week was 42 Euros.

Walk to the beach from was about 15-20 and the road is quite busy a lot of the time though lit most of the way at night; even so, a torch would be a good thing to pack as the lighting isn't to the same standard as UK roads by any stretch! Taxi fare to the tavernas on the way into Kalamaki centre was 6 Euros. I'd echo comments in other reviews about Essence and Michaelos. Michaelos is your typical Greek tavern which offers good service and gets pretty busy in our limited experience. More expensive than the SIrene's bar (about 35 to 40 Euros for a two course meal for two with 2 or 3 drinks) but more varied and a nicer environment. Essence was step up again and felt like it could have been in any one of a number of countries; the food was very nice and well-presented and not a lot more expensive than Michaelos.

As for the island as a whole, it just felt a little tired in many places and I gather from talking to some of the locals that business has been slow this summer. Even so, I won't be going back as there's not enough to do, though our main purpose for this break was to relax in the sun, have some nice Greek food and in that sense it was a success.

Room Tip: Room 5 has two bedrooms and a large kitchen / dining room and overlooks the pool. Was plenty of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeverleyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Had a lovely holiday in all. Me and my partnerWe arrived at around 12 noon and first impressions weren't great at all. Room was dirty, dodgy plug sockets and back window wouldn't shut properly. After telling Greg (The Manager) we were moved just upstairs toward the back of the apartment block. It was cleaner, still basic as expected from reviews but it would do.

We enjoyed the pool area, plenty of sunbeds and parasols but no mats so wasn't comfy to lie on. Clean pool, plenty of lilo and rubber rings from other visitors to enjoy by the pool.

Food was lovely, well cooked, reasonable priced. BBQ was nice in the evenings with large portions of meat, didn't have to wait long.

Quite far from the main town of Kalamaki, took twenty to thirty minutes to walk each evening, too hot to go in day time so beach was a no for us. We always had a taxi from the bars and restaurants back to hotel for 6 euros as we didn't fancy walking back after having a few drinks.

As we were at back of hotel we could hear the cockerals through the night and dogs barking. Once they were set off took a while till they stopped.

Cleaners came every other day, changed bed sheets, towels, swept/mopped if needed, changed bins. Happy with what they did.
One morning though at 5:30 the cleaner mixed our door number with one next door and woke us up. Then started cleaning next door thoroughly, opening and closing wardrobe/cupboards/fridges, moving beds etc. just making a racquet. We left them finish but when they went on to the room the other side of us my partner went next door and told them to be quiet as it was 5:30 in morning. They still carried on and we managed to go back to sleep at 6:30ish. Greg was apologetic when we told him.

Staff were friendly only Greg (manager) could or was allowed to cook, they sometimes mispriced our bills, but overall all lovely people, friendly.

Overall nice hotel, if you want a reasonable cheap holiday, it is the way to go, it is basic but for the price what do you expect?
If we went to Kalamaki again we would be happier to stay closer to the center/ town!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a 2 weeks stay in the Sirene (Dollas) in kalimaki.
The room were basic but clean, The rooms are cleanish and decorated OK. look out for the sockets on the wall, if you want to remove your charger, make sure you hold the socket on the wall or it will pull its self off including cables and wires.....
Beds were changed every other day, not sure if the floors were swept as there always seemed to be sand on the floor and our feet always seemed grubby...
be careful when emptying the bath, only pull the plug out a bit, I pulled the plug out completely and found the bathroom flooded.

We only had breakfast downstairs and found the food realy good.
Gregs yougest Son is a great barman and makes good cocktails.

The self catering aspect was a joke really, 3 mugs,4 plates,3 glasses, 3 bowls. not enough for a party of five, and just a 2 ring hob and a kettle.

Debbie in the shop was always helpful.

Most the people around the pool would be OK on the Jeremy Kyle Show.

Wont be returning to the Dollas, but will be back to Zante, a great place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esad757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

You have to remember that you are paying for a basic holiday - you will get one.

The rooms are basic and should be classed as self catering, there were nine of us staying the larger appartments - we had plenty of cutlery but our relatives had very little - The cooker is one hob with a small coffee pot hob, so impossible to cook on unless you want soup !!

The rooms where cleaned every other day and the beds turned down, we would have like a broom to sweep up the sand daily.

The Mini market was well run and the staff where very helpful and it opened early and closed late.

The pool was the biggest problem - it was smaller than pictures depicted and was not good, the tiling was poorly finished and I cut my toe swimming ! By the end of the first week the pool was a milky blue colour with some trunks left on the bottom of the deep end. I would go to the Plubis pool half a mile a way.

The main road is an issue with traffic 24/7 - the coaches drop people off 4 days a week in the middle of night so be ready to be woken up, if you like cockerells they will wake you up at 5.15 every day.

This is a resort for youngsters wanting to walk in the clubs of kalamaki.

Would I go back to Kalamaki - Yes but not back to this resort. SORRY - they did try to make the holiday good - but the overall opinion was 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCV1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agoulos inn
Agoulos inn
#23 of 26 in Argassi
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Daniel Hotel
Daniel Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anagenessis Village Hotel
Anagenessis Village Hotel
#5 of 21 in Kalamaki
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofia's Hotel
Sofia's Hotel
#3 of 21 in Kalamaki
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dollas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dollas Hotel

Address: Resort Centre, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamaki
Price Range: $37 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dollas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dollas Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing