We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Apartments and Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anagenessis Village Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Apartments and Very Friendly”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in late Aug / early Sept and really liked it.

Anagenessis is run by a lovely, very welcoming family, in a beautiful setting in the Greek countryside with gorgeous views. The rooms are clean and a decent size, as is the pool.

The location is both an advantage and disavantage - on the plus side, it's far enough inland to be very pretty. In addition, it's only a 5 min drive into Zakinthos town, not much more to the airport (we didn't notice the planes at all), and far enough from the godawful main Kalamaki strip to forget how terrible it is. On the minus side, it's 30 mins walk to the beach, and walking is not really viable with young kids as the much of the walk is on a busy, fast road with no pavement.

For the first 2 days we got taxis to Kalamaki beach (3 min drive, 6 EUR each way) and then we hired a car for 35 EUR per day, which was a revelation - Kalamaki beach is lovely but we wanted to see more of the island, for which you really need a car. Each day we went to a different beach in Vasilikos, the peninsula to the south. It's a 20 min drive away, and just in case you're interested here were the beaches we tried, in order of preference (all were really good though, shallow and perfect for young kids).

1) Plaka - a series of small beaches next to Banana beach. Little rock pools, clear water, tranquil setting, we loved this beach and were sad we only found it on our last day
2) Yerakas - idyllic, simple, beautiful water, with nice tavernas nearby
3) Daphne - 10 mins offroad, which our little Hyundai coped with fine, the quietest beach, with lovely water and an excellent, cheap taverna
4) Agios Nikolaos - good beach, but maybe more suited to younger couples without kids. Having said that, clear, shallow water and good watersports

As for restaurants, we really liked Michaelos (really good food at very reasonable price - the grilled seabream is 60% of the price of the main strip and was excellent - book though if you plan to get there after 8.30, there were big queues both times we went). The one night we ventured to the Strip, we went to Zakanthi where we had a very poor meal. We also went twice to Rakomelodica on Leonidas Street in Zakinthos Town, a side street just off the main square - very friendly people and the food was authentic, cheap and delicious.

So, all in all, Zakinthos Island is relaxing and beautiful, and Anagenessis is too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos K, Owner at Anagenessis Village Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review . It is so nice for us to hear that you had a good time here.
we hope that we will see you again in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    45
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
80
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely apartments in a quiet and tranquil area of Kalamiki. The biggest plus point for us was that it is not on the main Kalamaki strip. This is approximately a 15 to 20 minute walk away or a few Euros in a taxi. The beach is a 30 minute walk away but the pool is very inviting and well maintained. Located a few minutes taxi from the airport, it is ideally situated for a quick transfer, but don't worry you can rarely hear the planes from the resort.

Our room was in need of some modernisation, but by Greek standards it was in perfect order.

Kostas, his family and staff are fantastic and extremely hospitable. They make you feel at home and as if you are part of the family. After a week staying at the Anagenessis I felt totally refreshed and spiritually revitalised.

I will return...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Scotty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos K, Owner at Anagenessis Village Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for everything We are happy if our guests are pleased from their stay in our hotel. We love Anagenessis and it is very important for us to do our bets.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice easy place with friendly owners, good great rooms en good beds. We have à good feeling on this holiday and we come back later. The hotel/appartments are very nice decorated. The garden is Nice, the beach is 2000 meters from the hotel and the road is unsafe. The best way to go the beach is with à bycicle or scooter. The food is good and everybody is welcome on wednesday for a frêle greek diner.

Room Tip: Above the entre
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruud R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Anagenessis Village Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for you review It was very nice from you to take the time to do it. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loved our tranquil and relaxed stay at this hotel, where the staff and family looked after us so well. The charm of this hotel is the small and very friendly atmosphere which has everything you could need. The hotel is away from the touristy strip of kalamaki which adds to its charm.

Very easy to get to hotel from the airport, a max of 10 mins by taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos K, Owner at Anagenessis Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We would like to thank you that you took a time to give this review. We are pleased when our guests having a memorable holiday in our property. It's always our priority to do our best. We are looking forward to meeting again.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

As expected, the previous enthusiastic reviews of this lovely 'boutique' hotel unit were proven to be absolutely accurate.
Off the beaten track and yet close to the distractions - if one wished for distractions.
There's less than a score of accommodation units and each one is comfortable and roomy with a neat kitchenette and balcony.
Visitors will soon learn the names of the friendly staff [most are direct family of Kosta and Kristina Kakoliris, the experienced and genial managers/proprietors].
Within easy walking distance are a couple of shops to aid those who wish to self-cater; the Anagenessis offers a good breakfast and a substantial Snack Menu throughout the day.
My wife and I enjoyed simply relaxing by the main pool [there's a smaller, children's paddling pool in the adjoining garden], reading and 'topping-up' from the well-stocked bar with its fruit drinks, refreshers, beers, spirits and wines.
The Holistic Heaven facility offers a range of treatments to ensure a relaxing, peaceful vacation: school holidays excepted!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jethro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos K, Owner at Anagenessis Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy when our guests having a memorable holiday in Anagenessis Village Hotel and this is giving us the strength to do more and more.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menaldum, Friesland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had to stay in Anagenessis Village Hotel because our hotel was overbooked. First we we're sad that this happened, but the alternative was better then we could wish.
The welcome to Anagenessis Village Hotel was very warm and hospitable. The manager, Kostas, and his family/staff consider you as family as well. If you have special wishes, you just ask and he will do his best to help you. Kostas does his best to know your name. That makes it very personal.
Our daugther (1 year old) had a great time in the hotel.
Because of the relaxed atmosphere, the guests are relaxed too. Everybody is friendly to each other.

The special theme nights are a nice extra for the guests. (Wine tasting night, live music with buffet, Greek night with dance)
The accommodation is clean and looks very luxurious. The pool is great and is cleaned every day.

The location is not directly to the beach, a half an hour walk. The road is dangerous. Not perfect if you have small children with you.
We had a rental car to see the highlights of Zakynthos. Rent it for at least 5 to 7 days to see the best of the island. It's worth it! (wherever you stay at Zakynthos, a rental car is recommendable)

If we ever visit Zakynthos again, we would definitely stay at Anagenessis!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos K, Owner at Anagenessis Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much that you took the time to give as a review.
We are happy that you liked your stay in Anagenessis Village hotel. It will be a pleasure for us to see you again and we will try to do your stay again a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just arrived from Zakynthos by car .it is a wonderfull location for families with children . about the hotel , it's ok and the owners are verry kind . they helped us with advises about what we had to do on the island . nearby the hotel is a verry good taverna , Georgia tavern , they have good and fresh food . as about the hotel we were verry pleased .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos K, Owner at Anagenessis Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much that you took the time to put a review for us on tripadvisor. It is always our pleasure to do our best for our guests. We hope to see you again in the future
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sirocco Hotel
Sirocco Hotel
#25 of 30 in Kalamaki
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cronulla Hotel
Cronulla Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kalamaki
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anagenessis Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anagenessis Village Hotel

Property: Anagenessis Village Hotel
Address: Kalamaki Zakynthos | Kalamaki Zakynthos, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anagenessis Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anagenessis Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anagenessis Village Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing