We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit”
Review of Merlis

Merlis
Ranked #21 of 59 Restaurants in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
ESSEX
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lovely food at great prices and special menu's most nights. Change the special menu's courses with no problems.

Staff warm and friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GORDON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    37
    20
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never dissappoints, always enjoyable”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When I arrived in Kalamaki this year I was shocked to find that Merlis restaurant was no longer called Merlis, then I discovered much to my relief that it had moved further down the main strip, after visiting here several times over the years I couldn't wait to go back. Denis was as welcoming as ever and I was please to find that htey were open for breakfast too, which was fabulous and reasonably priced, you seemed to get much more for your money than at other places. Staff were always friendly and helpful. No matter what time of day you visit the food is always great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Was recommended this place so gave it a try. Looks like a family run restaurant and everyone was friendly and spoke good English. I wanted something more traditional and the waiter suggested beef in a pot which was very good. It was tender beef with potatoes, cheese and some roast peppers I think. Was very very good and was pleased I chose it. They also have more western dishes like burgers and pizzas but I'd encourage trying something local because they certainly know what they're doing. Prices are perfectly reasonable too. Give it a try

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Review for Merlis Kalamaki, ZAKYNTHOS”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This review is for Merlis in Kalamaki in Zakynthos, not Crete. Trip Advisor will not accept the correct Island.
This restaurant deserves to have the good reviews it gets, its has a pleasent atmosphere along the quieter end of the strip.
The food is excellent with a wide variety and the service is very good.
The prices are reasonable so you can afford to have one of their delisous desserts as well!
We ate at Merlis last year and it was the first places we headed for this year.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dillydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value, Quality Food, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We used to go to Merlis for breakfast everyday. The Breakfast is sooooo big we didn't need lunch, e4.95 for 2 english sausage, 2 english bacon, 2 eggs, beans, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoe, hash browns, black pudding, 2 slices of toast and jam, orange juice and tea or coffee (fantastic value i think) The evening meals are as good value, always check out the specials board, ranging from e6.95 - e9 for a 3 course meal, if the starter isn't what you fancy don't be afraid to ask if you can change to something else as the answer is always yes, the meals are a good size and quality food that tastes great, Don't walk past, as a family we would deffinately recommend, 2 adults and1 child can eat and drink for 26 Euro's

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradfords3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlis also viewed

 
Kalamaki, Zakynthos
 

Been to Merlis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing