We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Best hotel!”
Review of Sofia's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofia's Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed in Sofia's for a week in September last year with my boyfriend and we were really impressed! We arrived on Tuesday and had an immediate warm welcome by the manager who helped us off the coach and helped carry our bags. She showed us to our room quickly and we were surprised at how plush the room was, for the price. It's a standard double with ensuite bathroom/toilet. It's spacious and clean and everything you need for a week. There wasn't a toaster in the room, but a fridge and kettle and there is a shop on site, so you can purchase essentials like tea and milk. Water is also very good value for money here too! The only issue we had was the mosquitos that gathered every night but can be expected in greece.

The location is amazing and everything is nearby. Beach is only a 10-15 minute walk, there are many restaurants to choose from, I would recommend Alexander the Great for a budget, Heavens Kitchen and Georgia's which we went back to many times. In Time and the Cave bar are also amazing!

I would definetely recommend this to everyone. The price and the quality of the hotel and service is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at these apartments in September 2013 with my husband and our 18 month daughter. On arrival we had a very warm welcome by Sarah and she even got her son to help us with our room with our luggage.

The rooms are very basic and a little tired in places but it was only used to sleep in and to get changed in so suited our purposes well. The beds were comfortable and we slept well for the duration of our 2 weeks stay.

We eat in the pool bar most morning and on the occasional afternoon, there was a good variety of food which was reasonable priced and good sized portions. The bar stocked a well varied selection of wine, beer, spirits and cocktails which were also reasonably priced and always served with a smile.

The pool area was well maintained and the pool was lovely and refreshing to dip in and out of. The kids pool was occupied by our daughter (and her princesses) for the whole 2 weeks – she loved it.

The location of these apartments is brilliant, you are within walking distance of the local beach and the variety of other restaurant and bars along the main road. There is a supermarket next door which is linked to the hotel but if you find this too expensive there are many other options just a little further walking distance.

Overall we had a brilliant holiday and we will definitely return. Yes there are some negative reviews on here but I think you get what you pay for. These are apartments aren’t overpriced to stay in and have the same basic facilities that you see all over Greece, we wasn’t disappointed at all if anything I was pleasantly surprised as it was better than I was hoping for

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I had some very happy times this summer working behind the bar and have met some wonderful people , just want to thank you all for these memorial moments . I'm not coming back to Sofias hotel next season but wish Matina and Athena all the success for the business and much happiness .I will miss you all but know most of you will keep in touch with me, close in my thoughts and my heart.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We spent our summer holidays at Sofia's Hotel and decided to write this review to point out some good and best aspects of this place. First of all we must say that we chose this place mainly because of many positive comments, and we were quite disappointed.
But let's begin with positive elements. The hotel is well situated, on the main road in Kalamaki.
It has a free wi-fi ( not working in the rooms though) and free parking place.Air conditioning system worked well, at least in our room. The distance to the beach is about 800m which is ok, and you may go along the main road or use a short cut (600m)which is not very comfortable as it is a field path full of dust, uneven surface and some bushes.. The short cut finishes at this part of the beach where there are no facilities (empty place) and you have to go another 100m along the beach to reach sunbeds and umbrellas.(paid 7 Euro on the right part of the beach and 6 Euro on the left part).This is probably because the beach facilities belong to 2 different owners.
Now , let's write something about our disappointment. And here we go:
1) the condition of the room was poor. Our room was not well cleaned, dust everywhere. Bathroom to be redone immediately, mirror never touched, shower holder very dirty, dirty floor.
2) dead insects on the walls everywhere, old matress in double bed,with a kind of hole in the middle.
3) kitchen equipment not working on arrival-could make a cup of tea in the middle of the night after arrival ( when reported , a new one was brought).
4) wi-fi not working in the room ( not described in the general info about the hotel), so we had to come to the reception where you couldn't hear your own thoughts due to terribly loud music.
5) the rooms have no TV-sets, so we wanted to watch some news in the lobby where a big tv-set was located. Unfortunately. TV-set out of order throughout the whole stay. There was one huge TV screen at the pool area but only football matches were shown there.
6) Lack of toilet paper. We were very shocked when informed that we would have to buy it ourselves during the whole stay. The lady informed us that they provided only one "necessary roll"in case someone arrrived late at night!!! We went to many hotels (even 2star ones) in Greek Islands and never met such situation, Owners saving on toilet paper!!!! This info should be included in the description of this hotel, so the potential guests are not shocked on arrival and are prepared to pay (especially when you are on a budget).
7) we noticed cracked floor tyles in the middle of the room. The reason is qiute simple. The building in which our room was situated has a construction flaw. All movement in the room causes the fibration of the floor. You can feel it even when you are in bed! When our neighbours arrived later in the night they woke us because our bed was shaking. Nothing can be done about it but it the reality that we experienced ourselves.
To sum up, this is definately a hotel which is overrated. We spent our holidays in Greek Islands in 2 star hotels which were in a much better condition and better maintained.We did not expect anything special going there (as it is a 3 star hotel) but we were disappointed and would not go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs ( small lizards entering the rooms on the ground level) and as far away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dachowiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a fabulous week here with gorgeous weather and very friendly staff. Rooms spacious but not a lot of catering facilities if you like to do your own food. luckily we dont and were in a perfect position for the many lovely tavernas.
Hotel staff (and Lola the dog) were always friendly and happy to help. pool was a good size and very clean with ample sunbeds for our time of year.
A lovely holiday and would definately go back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pixie0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Sofias Kalamaki, had a lovely week. Basic but clean and comfortable apartment, yes bathroom is typically greek, have seen worse in my 28 years of visiting Greece! No toaster (usual) but it had a kettle and fridge, perfect for a cuppa and a cold beer, what more do you need! Pool and bar area lovely, however my only complaint about Sofias is the constant loud music or football commentary or, even worse, the x factor!!! Went to the beach every day because it was peaceful, couldn't even chill on the balcony without constant noise!

The staff were very friendly and helpful, prices were very good, everywhere in the resort was good value, the beach and sea were beautiful. An all round great holiday (apart from the constant noise lol).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddsRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just returned from Sophias had a great holiday.All the staff are amazing from owner to cleaners lovely complex very clean .For 5euros you could get a big full english breakfast with toast,juice,tea or coffee .Location is great too.Will definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Daniel Hotel
Daniel Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia's Hotel

Address: Kalamaki Street, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Kalamaki
Price Range: $44 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofia's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia's Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing