We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Ionion Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Newport gwent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last week in September,lovely location, very clean hotel and gardens immaculate. Staff we're very pleasant and helpful and also maids always acknowledge us with a smile . Very nice pool and bar. We are returning end May for 2nd visit to Ionian Blue and 3rd visit to Kalamaki. Can't believe some of the Bad reviews. !!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Haydn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    104
    34
    17
    11
See reviews for
132
225
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My partner and i stayed here from 15th-22nd September 2013. I read reviews before we travelled and a friend visited the hotel in May 2013 and was told it was basic but comfortable and a good place to stay as a 'base' for the resort. My friend and her partner stayed in one of the top floor rooms, so i emailed the hotel twice prior to our holiday asking for a top floor room, as these rooms are newer. I got no response from the hotel to the emails I sent them.

We arrived at around 2000hrs on the Sunday evening and went to reception and were handed keys to room 102. We went to find our room and which was on the ground level/basement. We didn’t stay in the room long; we just got changed and went out for something to eat and to relax after a day of travelling. When we returned to the room just after midnight, i went to take a bath and was horrified when i got out of the bath as i noticed raw sewage coming up and out of the drain! My Partner went straight to reception only to find there was nobody there and there was a sign up to say that the reception would be open at 0900hrs.

We got up early to go to reception, although due to the location of the room it could have been mistaken to still be the middle of the night as the room is very dark and dingy due to its location!. On going to reception yet again there was nobody there. I got on the phone to Thomson help line, which is a total joke in itself as the people on the other end of the phone are anything but!! They informed me they would get hold of the rep, who was due in our hotel at 1000hrs to try and get the issue sorted.

My partner in the mean time went to the pool bar to try to find someone to explain the problem too, as we were informed there should be someone there. My partner was informed that it was the receptionist's day off and after explaining the problem was advised by one of the cleaners, who spoke little English and had a cigarette hanging out of her mouth that she would need to speak to her boss, but he was out shopping!!

We returned to our room and were met by the cleaner, who was quite aggressive towards us and thought we were complaining about the room not being clean enough. The room in fact was lovely and clean, until you try and have a wash and sewage starts to appear! The cleaner then left and we were left to wait in the darkness of our room until someone from Thomson decided to call or the rep turned up. I got a phone call from Thomson 'help line' to inform me they had spoken with the rep and advised her of the problem and to go and see her at 1000hrs before she did her welcome meeting.

We spoke at length with the rep and showed her the problem, she witnessed the problem with the drainage and advised us she would speak with the owners and try to get us a room change, which we were happy with. The rep returned to our room, along with one of the owners (a female) and we were informed that we should have let the bath water out in stages to avoid the problem. No apology was offered at all and she didn’t seem to understand the hygiene issues we were trying to make regarding RAW sewage coming up into the room. The cleaners then threw a load of bleach down the drain and it seemed they thought this was an acceptable resolution to the problem.

Obviously, we were far from satisfied with this response and also getting increasingly annoyed we had so far spent half of the first day of our holiday trying to resolve this issue. The rep tried to engage with the owners again and we were informed we would have to stay in room 102 for 2 more nights (due to the hotel being at full capacity) and then they would move us. We asked them to guarantee we would have a room on an upper level however the owners were unwilling to give us this guarantee. They did however offer us room A1 which we went to take a look at, this room being further around the corner to room 102 which was even worse and appeared to have been a storage room at some point or another and the hall leading to this room absolutely stank of cigarettes. Needless to say, we declined to take room A1 as we were informed if we accepted this room, we would then be there for the duration of our stay. To point out, we also took a look at the other ground floor/basement rooms, i feel deeply sorry for anyone that has ever had to stay in room 103 as this looked like a jail cell and had bars all over the window, next to the front door!!

We got back on the phone to Thomson 'help line' and had to explain the problem all over again, very frustrating when you are incurring these kind of issues on what is supposed to be your HOLIDAY. We got told someone would call us back, which they did however we still were no further forward and got told that someone else would ring us back. After many calls, back and forwards with Thomson, we eventually got them to agree to us staying at another Thomson hotel across the way, The Exotica for two nights on the understanding that when we returned to the Ionian we would be guaranteed an upper level room. This move was something we initiated ourselves and spoke to the owner of The Exotica to see if there was room after doing searches on the internet for alternative accommodation. Thomson expected US to pay for the two nights at The Exotica ourselves and we were told that the rep would refund us the money, again we weren’t exactly happy with this, especially seeing as Thomson also use that hotel but decided that to pay the money was better than to suffer another two nights in our dark and smelly room in the Ionian.

We moved to the Exotica and went to our room which was bright and airy and with no sewage/drainage problems, funny this as the Ionian and Thomson tried to tell us that this was a problem over Zante and that we should expect drainage problems as their sewage and drainage systems are nowhere near as good as the UK. We got up the next morning, excited to finally be able to enjoy a day on the island, we were on holiday after all, to find a different Thomson rep waiting to pounce on us. The rep demanded our key back for our room at the Ionian, which was back in our room and were made to return and get the key. We also had to go over to meet the rep at the Ionian to fill out a customer satisfaction survey and to reclaim our money we had paid to the Exotica for the two nights there. Get to the Ionian and no rep to be seen, so we again call the Thomson 'help line' and they say they will get a message to the rep and ring us back. More money on phone calls to Thomson and our precious time wasted! We get a call informing us to meet the rep at the Ionian at 3pm, good job we didn’t have anything planned for the day!

My partner went to meet with the rep and went through a customer satisfaction survey, which the rep had already part filled out herself with inaccurate and incorrect information. On reading the small print, he realised that if he accepted the 60 Euro for the two nights in the Exotica then he would be accepting that as a full and final resolution. He noted and signed the form to say he didn’t accept the 60 Euro, as to us, that was not compensation for the endless phone calls and upheaval we had to endure. My partner was also advised at this meeting that the Ionian owners would still not guarantee us a upper level room, so we decided that as we would actually like to enjoy the rest of what was left of our week away to walk away from Thomson and pay ourselves to stay the rest of the week at the Exotica.

Since returning we have sent a letter of complaint to Thomson, We got a letter back informing us they would respond within 28 days, which they didn’t. We then had to make more phone calls and chase this up and eventually were told they have reviewed the complaint and they were not taking it further and would not issue any compensation. NO apology was given to us and the advisor we spoke to was very curt on the phone. We are still in the process of pursuing this complaint....

Room Tip: If you do decide to take a risk, do no accept rooms A1 or A2 or 101-111
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank zenipath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Another brilliant stay at the Ionian Blue. Absolutely love this hotel and Kalamaki. Staff cannot do enough fir you.Food is fab. Pool area chilled never a race for Sun beds. So many returning visitors can't be wrong. . See you next year .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank b e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the first two weeks in September and had a great holiday. We have been to Kalamaki four times now and this was the best hotel we have stayed in compared to the other three. Katrina, Helen, Maria and Denis were all very pleasant and helpful during our stay. Our room was a good size and was very well kept and clean. The bar is a good size and they do a good range of food and drink that is not over priced if you don't want to venture too far although the restaurants and the beach are 2 minutes walk in either directions. I would definitely try to book this hotel again when we next return to Kalamaki.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rufus T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel 8 months in advance... Only wish We had never chosen Greece.


On arrival at the hotel it's on a very dark road with no lights.
Reception and general surroundings were good.
Owner was not happy when I said In front of other guests i did not want a low floor room. We were given a room on the same level as reception in the end. It was a spacious room, no light when you went into room due to it being broken, each time we went for a shower all you could smell was sewage in the water , it was the same under the sink. Nasty !!!
The room was kept clean by the lovely maid each day and towels changed every other day. Bedding every 3 days.
The bathroom door was held on by 1 hinge at the top, we told the hotel the 3 rd night into our holiday. They removed the door for safety but never came and fitted a new one. (To be honest this was much better, gave us more room)
The swimming pool was nice but needed to be cleaned more often. The same dirt and leaves were at the bottom for days.

We met some absolutely lovely people at this property which made our holiday, a lot of them had been to this hotel and loved it, but not us.

We would never return to kalamaki or to zante as it seems to be a dead holiday resort now, it's
Too expensive and the sanitation is still very poor.

Overall the hotel was ok, but if you do book this property please tell them you don't want a low floor room. Oh and don't forget to email the owner otherwise you may get one of the dungeons.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sammi-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for ten nights, travelled with Thomsons, flights from Birmingham. Excellent from start to finish. Flight out to the island ran to time, excellent leg room without paying extra.
Hotel great for what it is - a family hotel. it doesn't claim to be the Ritz and it is friendly and has everything you would need for family holiday.
I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Probably not Room 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosebudLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Just had 11 nights in Kalamaki. Great holiday but beware you could get unlucky with these apartments. Three months before our holiday I wrote to the Ionian Blue asking for a second, third or fourth floor room as my OH is a bird watcher and takes her binos to do some twitching from the balcony. Having received no reply I wrote again. Still no reply so we arrived at the hotel in hope. It was not to be - we were allocated room 109 which is on the ground floor. Before accepting the keys I asked if we could change and asked whether they had noted my e-mail. I'm sorry to say that the receptionist, whilst being lovely, is well practiced at knocking guests back who want to avoid the ground floor. Lines such as 'we've had a few problems with the computer' to 'the owners don't do electronic mail'. Anyhow I know that I have no more right than anyone else to preferential treatment but the regulars seemed to be allocated the higher floors. Nevertheless room 109 isn't bad at all. It could have done with a real good clean - stains all over the paintwork in the bathroom
door.
Room 104 is a dungeon with a patio that faces the car park. Room 101,102 and 103 I would avoid. Otherwise this is a little gem of a place. Would I return to the Ionian Blue? Not sure I would risk getting allocated to room 104. If so I would demand that the Thomson rep find us somewhere else as that room would not be acceptable to spend an holiday in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#22 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionion Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionion Blue Hotel

Property: Ionion Blue Hotel
Address: Kalamaki Zante, Kalamaki 290 92, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ionion Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionion Blue Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing