We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are lots of really great hotels and restaurants in Italy but this is not one of them.”
Review of Benito Al Bosco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Benito Al Bosco
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Velletri
Reviewed April 21, 2011

It is rather amazing to know that this hotel has a recommendation from Michelin! I have written to Michelin abiut the reality.
The hotel is difficult to find and on arrival we had a long wait whilst reception chatted on the telephone. Our room was spacious but with a smashed control for the heating, inadequate bedding, no internet connection that worked, a dodgy TV and a useless shower. The balcony had a nice view but desperately needed a clean. The restaurant is an 'in' place for well-off locals because it has a connection to a chef who cooked for celebrities. We found the food ok but nothing special. After waiting over two hours between the first and second courses we then had the experience of our courses not being served at the same time. We could not face a similar wait for dessert and cofee and, so, retired to our room. The service in tha restaurant had been appalling. It seems that the restaurant had a local clentele that it was keen to serve and that hotel guests could be ignored. The attitude seems to be that, "The locals think we are great and so like it or lump it".
Breakfast was simply a 'joke'. There was cereal but no milk until requested, no bread and a set of waiters who were having a great laff, were not unpleasant but who were simply hanging around. I am not sure why they were employed.
Check-out was formal but without any enquiry as to our stay - even when I explained that I had not seen a bill for last night's 'dinner'
If ever a hotel is resting on its laurels - this is it. Doubtless we shall continue to see more comments waxing lyrical about the place but I wonder where some of these come from. There are lots of really great hotels and restaurants in Italy - this is not one of them.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, book for one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Massacio1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2008

I loved this hotel. We actually weren't scheduled to stay here but our other hotel over-sold their rooms so we ended up at the Benito Al Bosco...and I have to say....I've never been so happy to hear the words "over booked" in my whole life! The rooms were amazing and the restaraunt had some of the best Italian food we had eaten since we landed in Rome. We didn't get to use the pool much since we got back to our hotel fairly late every night, but it looked very nice. All in all, I would say this was the best place we stayed at through our time in Italy!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crash9804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Loris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank maria grazia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Loredana7782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank angelomaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank cifra2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velletri
8.0 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Villa Artemis Hotel
Villa Artemis Hotel
#2 of 3 in Velletri
48 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Castel Vecchio
Castel Vecchio
#2 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
406 reviews
8.9 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#2 of 14 in Frascati
506 reviews
8.1 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
#3 of 4 in Grottaferrata
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benito Al Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benito Al Bosco

Address: Via Morice 96, 00049 Velletri, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Velletri
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Velletri
Price Range: $92 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benito Al Bosco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Benito Al Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benito Al Bosco Velletri, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing