We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okavango River views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rundu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaisosi River Lodge
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Rundu
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Okavango River views”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A quick one night stay on our way to the Caprivi Strip. The room was clean and comfortable and the attached restaurant was very good. The grounds were clean and pretty, we just didn't get to explore too much due to our schedule and time constraints. The Lodge is outside of town so the attached restaurant was helpful in that everything we needed was on the grounds.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
22
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brackenfell
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here at Kaisosi River Lodge on the banks of the Okavango river for one night 'en route' to Victoria Falls. It is a good place for a stopover before exploring the Caprivi region, with spacious thatched chalets right on and overlooking the tranquil Kavango river.

The lodge is about seven or so, kilometers east of Rundu, but the gravel road to the lodge is riddled with corrugations. (A slow drive is highly recommended!)

Sundowners can be enjoyed on the wooden decks next to the swimming pool at the main lodge overlooking the river and Angola on the opposite side. The lodge and the chalets are of a good standard and very clean and good food is served both at breakfast time and dinner.

Several camping sites are available, each with own private ablutions and power points, unfortunately not situated directly on the river shore.

The lodge offers sundowner river cruises every day and it is situated only a few kilometers from the B8 Caprivi highway to Katima Molilo or Chobe National Park.

I can recommend this lodge as a gateway stop to the Caprivi and Victoria Falls!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with a group of fellow travelers. Nice location overlooking the river. The breakfast and sunset cruises were enjoyable, and the service was excellent. Food was good with plentiful portions. Very quiet setting, peaceful and relaxing. I loved the mosquito netting and local crafts decor. Beds were very comfortable. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffydoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Rundu is a typical African town with life spilling out on to the pavements - not the best place to spend the night! However, Kaisosi is a peaceful haven about seven kilometres east of Rundu. It is situated on the southern banks of the Kavango River, on which the lodge organises a sundowner cruise each evening.
There is a choice of accomodation and our room, one of four in a two storey chalet, overlooked the river.
The lodge is family run with obvious attention to detail. The food was good and we enjoyed our breakfast pack the next morning as we drove off at sunrise to traverse the Caprivi Strip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 880Paddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed one night at Kaisosi River Lodge on the way to Divundu area and this was a really great stop over. The location on the Kavango River is perfect, price is reasonable and room is spacious. We had good food and there is a lovely deck looking over the river where we had breakfast watching the birds on the river.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great campsites. You have your own bathroom, picnic table, toilet. I didn't love how lit up it was at night- great for safety, but I was nervous it would be too bright for sleeping. My toddler slept just fine and in the end, I did too. There are many campsites, so it could get noisy if it was full. When we were there, only 2 or 3 of the campsites were occupied, so it was nice and quiet. Pool was lovely. Chicken kabobs at the restaurant were tasty too! Service staff seemed like they didn't really want to be there, but with a cold beer and nice view of the river, it didn't really matter. I would Recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mn2panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the campsite one night and a couple of weeks later stayed in a chalet. Both experiences were very good and a very good value.

The grounds are clean, well-tended, and situated along the river across from Angola -- a welcome respite from the dusty road from Rundu. The staff was welcoming and efficient. We ate a good evening meal at the restaurant. At the campsite, we had a private shower/toilet room.

The resident peacock and free-roaming horse added to the fun.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rundu
9.5 mi away
Hakusembe River Lodge
3.2 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 13 in Rundu
101 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gondwana Hakusembe River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 13 in Rundu
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Falls Resort
Popa Falls Resort
#5 of 8 in Divundu
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#3 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaisosi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaisosi River Lodge

Property: Kaisosi River Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 599, Rundu, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kavango Region > Rundu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Rundu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaisosi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaisosi River Lodge is situated 7 km’s East of Rundu, in the North East of Namibia on the banks of the perennial Okavango River.We offer you complete relaxation and a true African experience. This peaceful oasis, which can be reached in a normal sedan vehicle, is an ideal place for nature lovers and bird watchers.Spectacular sunsets, friendly people, comfortable accommodation and fine cuisine make the Kaisosi River Lodge a must for all travellers. Great spots for fishing and birds watching are available along the river. Magnificent river cruises on the river border between Namibia and Angola can be arranged. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing