We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hakusembe River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rundu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An oasis on the river”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hi I recently stayed at this lodge, it is like an oasis in the dessert and after a long drive it is a very relaxing and tranquil setting, the managers were extremely attentive and catered to our needs we were made to feel very welcome and nothing seemed like too much trouble, the food had much improved from my last visit some 2 years ago with an excellent cheesecake and soups on offer as well as Eland steaks which were lovely.The boat cruise was very peaceful and the sunset magnificent. The Local living museum makes for a short walking trip and for those interested in the Tribal culture of the area very good value for money. i would recommend this lodge to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Hakusembe River Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for the great feedback on your stay and for recommending Hakusembe River Lodge. We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed the lodge and the stunning landscape. We will gladly forward your compliments to the management and the staff of the lodge, who will be very pleased. Thank you again for the great review and we hope to welcome you back at the lodge on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    173
    31
    9
    0
See reviews for
102
176
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
597 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for one night. It is a good stopover before or after crossing the Caprivi. The lodge is on the river bank with an excellent view. The food is good and the staff friendly. The rooms are great and clean with hot water showers. The Lodge has a new manager. He and his wife were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff were not very attentive or have much knowledge about the menu, especially at breakfast. However the location and the view is great. Although the chalets are nice, they are very overpriced.

Room Tip: The gates close at 6pm, so, get there early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Hakusembe River Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great feedback on your stay at the Hakusembe River Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the lodge and the service provided. Your criticism concerning the restaurant staff has been passed on to the management of the lodge and we are sure the service will improve. Thank you very much for the positive review and we hope to welcome you back at the lodge on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great setting. Long single track gravel and sand drive to lodge. Narrow one lane bridge which was blocked for a time by cattle. Most rooms are large and have air con. Some have views of river. Our did not but was still nice. Took sundowner cruise which was OK and fun, this is not a wildlife area so only great views of the sunset and some birds too see. Food was very average was the mediocre breakfast. I think some inspiration in meals is needed at these lodges where you are a captive audience. Still this is about the only good place to stay in the area. Grounds were really nice and well maintained. Staff was excellent. We would indeed stay here again and recommend this to others.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Hakusembe River Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the great feedback and the recommendation. The cook of the lodge has participated in a training a few weeks ago and we are sure that the meals have improved. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and we hope that we can fully covince you of Hakusembe River Lodge on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is part of the Gondwana group and offers good, clean accommodation close to Rundu. The location is not fantastic, but its a much better bet than staying in Rundu. It's also surprisingly quiet and it's easy to forget you're only about 10 km upstream of town.
The staff is friendly and efficient. Food is great.
Overall the package is good.
If you're looking for a lodge close to Rundu, this is good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marki663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Hakusembe River Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hakusembe River Lodge and that you were satisfied with the service at the lodge. We are constantly trying to improve the service at our lodges and are always delighted if we receive positive feedback. We are looking forward in welcoming you back in the near Future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINDHOEK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Booked the chalet on the water, but moved as this was reported being too hot. We then stayed in the family unit. Loved the size of the bed, and mossie nets makes it look very pleasant and gives a wonder ambience. The verandah was ideal to sit and have sundowners - it is situated on the river bank. Unfortunately the manager gave us the family unit knowing the aircon was not working.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river bank are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NidiaWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Hakusembe River Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the Haskusembe River Lodge. Nevertheless, we appreciate your positive review even though there was some trouble with the heat and the air condition. The aircon has been attended to and we spoke to the manager. It is always hard to be prepared for every possible circumstance but we always try to provide a good service and make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are very pleased that you could enjoy the beautiful ambiance of the Northern Namibia.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here one night after travelling through Etosha and before setting off across the Caprivi Strip.
The accommodation was excellent (we stayed in the two story cottage at the end) and the location on the river looking over to Angola was very pretty.
The food was very good - Eland Steaks done on the Barbi !! and Jani and all his staff were great.
But the most interesting thing was the "Big Screen" in the bar which has all the Sport Sattelite channels appear to make it a perfect stopping point for a Saturday Sunday or Tuesday or Wednesday night to watch your favourite team. The staff are keen footie fans so will be happy to oblige

Room Tip: All the cottages face the river but the two story one furthest from the Bar and Restaurant was reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Hakusembe River Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful ambiance at the Hakusembe River Lodge. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. It is always helpful to have first hand opinions on our lodges which can assist us with the improvement of the service and making it a positive experience for our guests.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
246 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Having trundled along a bumpy and dusty road, it was great to arrive at the cool and secluded Lodge alongside the Okavango River. We stayed in the two-storey cottage at the eastern end of the site. It was very spacious and well-appointed, with a decent bathroom. Upstairs was a space with three beds, and totally unused by us! The view from the balcony on the upper floor was spectacular, giving us views along the river to sandbanks full of birds and across the river to Angola, where people were catching fish and washing, and which has a very wooded riverside. The bar and dining area at the other end of the site were very pleasant, and we ate outside as the sun set and the nightjars called. Food and service were good and we had an extremely pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Hakusembe River Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing the memory of a pleasant stay at the Hakusembe River Lodge with us. We are keen to provide an unforgettable experience for our guest and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed the beauty of the Okavango River and the Lodge.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rundu
7.1 mi away
Gondwana Hakusembe River Lodge
7.3 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 13 in Rundu
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 13 in Rundu
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 8 in Divundu
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Rundu
#11 of 13 in Rundu
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Falls Resort
Popa Falls Resort
#5 of 8 in Divundu
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakusembe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakusembe River Lodge

Property: Hakusembe River Lodge
Address: Rundu, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kavango Region > Rundu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rundu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakusembe River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hakusembe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing