We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Football while on Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hakusembe River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rundu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here one night after travelling through Etosha and before setting off across the Caprivi Strip.
The accommodation was excellent (we stayed in the two story cottage at the end) and the location on the river looking over to Angola was very pretty.
The food was very good - Eland Steaks done on the Barbi !! and Jani and all his staff were great.
But the most interesting thing was the "Big Screen" in the bar which has all the Sport Sattelite channels appear to make it a perfect stopping point for a Saturday Sunday or Tuesday or Wednesday night to watch your favourite team. The staff are keen footie fans so will be happy to oblige

Room Tip: All the cottages face the river but the two story one furthest from the Bar and Restaurant was reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Hakusembe River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful ambiance at the Hakusembe River Lodge. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. It is always helpful to have first hand opinions on our lodges which can assist us with the improvement of the service and making it a positive experience for our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 448 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Having trundled along a bumpy and dusty road, it was great to arrive at the cool and secluded Lodge alongside the Okavango River. We stayed in the two-storey cottage at the eastern end of the site. It was very spacious and well-appointed, with a decent bathroom. Upstairs was a space with three beds, and totally unused by us! The view from the balcony on the upper floor was spectacular, giving us views along the river to sandbanks full of birds and across the river to Angola, where people were catching fish and washing, and which has a very wooded riverside. The bar and dining area at the other end of the site were very pleasant, and we ate outside as the sun set and the nightjars called. Food and service were good and we had an extremely pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Hakusembe River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing the memory of a pleasant stay at the Hakusembe River Lodge with us. We are keen to provide an unforgettable experience for our guest and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed the beauty of the Okavango River and the Lodge.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Sadly we only stayed here one night, in a two-storey cottage right by the river, with a fab view of Angola. Downstairs, the cottage had a four-poster king sized bed (we think it's called the honeymoon cottage), a good bathroom, and a very basic kitchen (sink, fridge, and kettle, no hob or other means of cooking), whilst upstairs was a large open plan bedroom with a double and two single beds (very creaky stairs and upstairs floorboards). All comfortable but the kitchen did feel very Spartan.

Outside there was a large terrace downstairs, with a balcony over (which felt a bit precipitous), with table and chairs, a lovely place to watch the light change on the water, and observe the birds flitting around. There are hippos and crocodiles in the river, but we didn't see any here. After dark, we used the TV and small DVD library in our cottage to watch a movie, a novelty on our travels.

We were warmly greeted by the host and shown to the cottage, which was reached through the lovingly tended gardens. Our cottage was at the eastern end of the property; the restaurant was at the western end, but still only a few minutes walk along the riverbank. Dinner was sumptuous, amongst the best we had in Africa, and breakfast was pretty impressive too - we ate outside in the morning sunshine.

We had trouble finding anyone when it was time to leave, it seemed like a very laid back place - but it was very quiet with only one other party staying (there are nine or 10 cottages in total, including one floating on the river!). We loved the tranquillity and birdlife here, and wish we could have stayed longer. As others have noted, Rundu itself is not pretty, but it is an obvious place to stock up and take a break, and Hakusembe is in a brilliant location about 15kms outside town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Spent two nights here in our camper van en route from Etosha to Botswana. Whilst Rundu is nothing to write home about, it's a great place to stock up with food and drink. Hakusembe Lodge was a great place to stay. The staff were very welcoming and the camping area was clean and right on the river front. You could hear the hippos snorting all the time but we only got distant views of them on the Angolan side of the river. The sunsets were spectacular. If you're going in August, do book, as it was completely full.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The position of this lovely camp on the Kavango River was so beautiful and the staff capitalised on it by seating us at meals times’ right on the edge of the river so we could watch the wonderful scenery, the brirds and life on the river.
The rooms were pleasant- basic but adequate (single beds again!), the food delicious and the staff under Edward and Yvonne (what a memory for orders!) were friendly, helpful and most efficient. Matthias (both Barman and cruise guide) was quite knowledgeable about the river and the birds.
The staff were amasing at getting us in and out of the Lodge as the river rises very high during rainy season making the road impassable.
Our only complaint: The mosquitoes were dreadful! Mosquito coils’ under the tables would have been helpful.

Room Tip: The picture above is of the newly built double story 'house'- definately the most luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelhagPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A most wonderful stop over! we wished we had booked for longer. Certainly the best lodge in the region with so much to do and see, birdlife, local culture and a very friendly and accommodating staff. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruthie2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

a waste of a stop. the room was old and musty smelling- no heat, food passable - only 1
hippo to see on the boat cruise so we didn't bother.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryO0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rundu
7.3 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 15 in Rundu
143 reviews
688.7 mi away
Gondwana Hakusembe River Lodge
0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#3 of 13 in Katima Mulilo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#2 of 15 in Rundu
23 reviews
0 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
544 reviews
14.9 mi away
Taranga Safari Lodge
Taranga Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ntaranga
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakusembe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakusembe River Lodge

Address: Rundu, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kavango Region > Rundu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rundu
Price Range: $236 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakusembe River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hakusembe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing