We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ranfurly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranfurly Hotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic atmosphere. Welcoming hosts and an all round lovely hotel. The Art Deco architecture of the building is gorgeous. Meals were well priced and yummy. I loced the old hotel of New Zealand feel. Graceful old world charm. I will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junefrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
24
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Today I stopped in at the Ranfurly Hotel for lunch, had an amazing chicken dish with peanut sauce... I was eating alone but was invited to sit with the owners which was a delight as we chatted about the new upgrades there having done to the pub!! I look forward to returning and tasting more of there quality food!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our small group stopped here while passing through town and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, drinks, friendly staff and owners, and, most of all, the food! The hotel is beautiful from the front, nicely painted and very attractive. There are quite a few large wooden tables you can sit at on a nice evening, or a smaller garden type bar also attached to the frontier bar at the back. When we were here there were quite a few locals as well as rail trailers and it is a great spot for both. The chicken in peanut sauce was so yummy,and incredibly generous portions with a large salad and so much tender chicken breast! The fish and chips and vege quesadilla were also very good and at lest 6$ cheaper per meal than other meals we ate while doing the rail trail and also better and larger!
Defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my partner. We were taking part in the rail trail and found this hotel an amazing little hide away. The young chef that was cooking the food did an out standing with the only let down being the dessert (high priced and not home made). The young blonde girl serving us in the restaurant was very bubbly and friendly and constantly checked up on us to make sure we were okay and had everything we needed. We were greeted at the office by another young female who had moved here from Ireland and was also very helpful and bubbly. When she gave us our room key she came around from the office to show us upstairs to our room and also went through the hotel to let us know were to get a meal, relax in the spa bath and have breakfast. When we finished our meal we moved over to the Frontier bar for a few drinks were the girls kept us entertained with funny stories. The staff here has to be the friendliest staff in the Central Otago area.

The rooms are quiet old but the beds are very comfortable. The is share facilities for those who do not have an onsuite room and there is also a spa bath for those who need to rest there bodies after a tough day cycling. The cleaning could be done to a higher standard being a hotel but is overall acceptable.

Looking forward to returning soon and hearing more entertaining stories.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S362646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here on the second night of my cycling the Otago Central Rail Trail. It is a 1930s art deco style hotel which looks good from outside but that is probably the highlight of this hotel. The rooms look like they were last renovated in the 1970s (Im not being cheeky here, they really do) and most have shared bathroom facilities. If you stay here expecting a hotel you will be disappointed, the rooms are more like a backpackers than a hotel. The worst thing about it was the food. My wife ordered an (overpriced) chicken, cranberry and brie burger - the "chicken" in the burger was a deep fried frozen rissole with one small peice of brie and a smear of cranberry. It was inedible.
If you do decide to stay here, do yourself a favour and eat elsewhere. Next time I am in Ranfurly I will stay in one of the motels. There is a good size Four Square Superette about 50m from this hotel, and the rail trail is also about 50m away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Overall we felt the Ranfurly Hotel was good value for what it is - a graceful old country pub that has seen better days. The new owners say they have plans to upgrade it and we wish them the best as it has "good bones" as they say. We found the food in the restaurant surprisingly good. We're vegetarians and couldn't find anything appealling elsewhere and ate in and were pleased with our Moroccan vege parcels. The owners were helpful (especially with bike security) and breakfast set us up fine for a day on the trail.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavatron07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Where to start?!! Although the bar staff were very helpful and friendly the kitchen staff were well below 5 star standard. Raw veg, small portions, over the top prices and cold plates. On top of this 2 of the 6 members at our table had to wait almost half an hour longer than the others to receive there food. The staff behind the bar were very apologetic and kept re-assuring us that our food was on the way and that the wait was due to the over-whelming numbers eating there due to brass monkey weekend, (obviously they are not used to large numbers at this venue). As a bar, it is one of the best I have been to. The atmosphere is enjoyable and friendly. The bar staff were very polite and the 2 hour 'happy hour' was very enjoyable. As for the food,,. no words could describe the disappointment felt not only by our table but also by others eating there at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranfurly
0.3 mi away
Hawkdun Lodge
Hawkdun Lodge
#1 of 5 in Ranfurly
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ancient Briton Hotel
Ancient Briton Hotel
#1 of 3 in Naseby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranfurly Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Inverlair Lodge
Inverlair Lodge
#1 of 2 in Oturehua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
24.2 mi away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 2 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
13.4 mi away
Danseys Pass Coach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranfurly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranfurly Hotel

Property: Ranfurly Hotel
Address: 10 Charlemont Street | Ranfurly, Ranfurly 9332, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Ranfurly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Ranfurly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the historic rural Art Deco hotel of the South Island built in 1934, and conveniently situated on the Central Otago Rail Trail, which has become an icon of this area. Thousands of people bike the trail every year to see wide open spaces and breath-taking scenery. In winter, the snow capped mountains will leave you feeling like you've just found paradise. As an all year round destination the area offers the rail trail, cycling, hiking, fishing, historic gold mining sites and Indoor Curling year round and in the winter Outdoor Curling, ice-skating, and the popular ice-luge . Your hosts, Leonie and Barry along with their staff are looking forward welcoming you. OUR HISTORIC HOTEL OFFERS: •Breakfast, lunch & full a'la carte dining in our Art Deco restaurant/cafe with a wide selection of Central Otago wines • A Sports Bar with 60-inch TV, fantastic bar meals, pool table, self service TAB & gaming machines • Comfortable ensuite & share facilities rooms for up to 35 people (bookings essential during Rail Trail Season)• Guest lounge with TV, a balcony overlooking the main street and tea & coffee making facilities • Wi-fi facilities • Hot spa for those weary bones & muscles • Guest laundry facilities available • A bottle store with a wide selection of beer, wine & liquers. • A Secure place to lock up your bikes. Do consider us for your next stop in this Central Otago Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ranfurly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing