We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranfurlys Best B&B”
Review of Maniototo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ranfurly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maniototo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Ranfurly B&B and Inns
Waitakere City, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Ranfurlys Best B&B”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a fabulous home and warm welcome. We loved what you have achieved with your renovations of this beautiful home. We really appreciated the warm room and comfortable bed to rest after a busy day on the trail and curling at Naseby. We enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast and company before hitting the trail again. We would be happy to stay again and have already been recommending you to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering-Westies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

What a welcome at this beautiful grand old home at Ranfurly. Gary and Chris met us at the door like old friends, and the rooms all set with fires burning, tea and home made biscuits. Bedrooms and bathrooms luxurious, with a whole spacious lounge to relax by the fire and a fire in the master bedroom. Breakfast was delicious with full cooked and continental options, silver service. The use of the 4WD made the trip with visits to St Bathans and Naseby. Highly recommended for any visitor to Central and a mandatory stop for rail trailers.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joannelaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniototolodge, Owner at Maniototo Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hey thanks all for your kind words, we aim to please..
We have reached the end of the rail trail season now and it is time for us to have a wee break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I can't imagine a nicer place to spend a night in Ranfurly. Chris and Gary welcomed us into their home with great southern hospitality, super comfy beds, a roaring fire (yes even in March), that highly rated carrot cake and the surprise of a full cooked breakfast to send us on our way the next day. It was lovely to meet them and Baxter , the beagle, would love to stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniototolodge, Owner at Maniototo Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it was our pleasure and would love to have you come and stay with us again in the future.
Gary and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great stop off on the Otago Rail Trail. Chris and Gary were amazing hosts from the use of the hot tub and a cup of tea and yummy carrot cake on arrival to the unexpected and interesting tour of the local district with Gary on the morning we left. They have done a great job restoring their lovely house, very comfortable bedding, beautifully presented breakfast and vast knowledge of the district. The four of us on our cycle trip really enjoyed their company and would highly recommend this as an exceptional stop off in Ranfurly.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniototolodge, Owner at Maniototo Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words.
Was great to have you guys stay with us and hope to be be able to do the same for you again in the future!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Thanks to Chris and Gary for making us so welcome. They have done a fantastic job of restoring the place - keeping to the character while installing "all mod cons". Chris and Gary were very keen to share their knowledge of and enthusiasm for the area. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FutureTravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am a bit of a connoisseur in this matter as I see research on it as being very important as we travel in NZ. Our verdict was simply "the best", and as a reward not only did we get a second piece on arrival but were kindly given some for elevenses by Chris as we set off on our bikes.

Gary was the perfect host, first of all taking us up to see the sunset over the plain from the local historic gold working area, and then giving us lifts to and from the Ranfurly Hotel for dinner. Chris, apart from her dream baking, also turned out to be a very well informed and interesting historian who gave us an insight into the continuing development of Maori and Pakeha cultures.

Our room and the guest lounge were excellent and very tastefully decorated, and each was warmed by a wood burner.

Thanks Chris and Gary for showing how well things can be done.

Room Tip: We were in the verandah room which had windows on two aspects and a wood burner which Gary kindly ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian_and_Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

How can you rate perfection. Both the accommodation and the hosts are excellent. Six of us stayed here while we walked/cycled the Otago Rail Trail.

Chris and Gary are just fantastic hosts who go out of their way to make sure that their guests are completely relaxed and all their needs are taken care of. They have a fabulous knowledge of the area and were on hand whenever we needed them to act as tour guides.

The house is a delight to stay in. The spacious rooms are all tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and kept toastie warm so the cold nights were not a problem. The crisp sheets on the comfy beds were the icing on the cake for us and ensured we had a blissful nights sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was a marathon eating session of perfectly prepared food that set us all up for a full day on the rail trail. We couldn't ask for better.

The place was so fantastic we stayed three nights and enjoyed every one of them. This is a must stay in Ranfurly.

.

.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maniototo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maniototo Lodge

Property: Maniototo Lodge
Address: Cnr Alexander St & Stuart Road, Ranfurly 9353, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Ranfurly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ranfurly
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maniototo Lodge was built in 1904 and beautifully refurbished. We offer comfortable stylish accommodation in a quiet rural setting 150 metres from the Central Otago Rail trail. The Lodge is surrounded by spectacular views of mountains and countryside. Rates: NZ$180 (double Queen/twin share) NZ$120 (single Queen room) Rates include full breakfast Dinner on request at an additional cost ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing