We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Hawkdun Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawkdun Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Warm hospitality, lovely modern rooms with nice furnishings, fabulous spa! (The jets are great for massaging the aches from the Otago Central Rail Trail.) Free to wash & dry clothes, including the washing powder. Things to see nearby, too.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajorShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 91 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here with a group. We had a lovely area for breakfast.
New accommodation, clean, modern.
Great host - friendly and helpful.
Just opposite rail trail as you enter Ranfurly from Lauder. Lock up area for bikes.
Large spa room

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buteranfurly, Owner at Hawkdun Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments and we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your Rail Trail adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We found Hawkdun Lodge on the internet and boy are we pleased we did! Fabulous spot in the middle of the Maniototo Basin with amazing surround views that changed throughout the day.
Our bed was superb, the hosts brilliant and the breakfast excellent in the fabulous recreation/breakfast/TV room.We loved hopping in the car and driving to Palmerston, Naseby, the wedderburn Pub ( our favourite) and right in to the back country to watch locals curling on the ice.
Thanks for a great last minute break and rest from our business in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buteranfurly, Owner at Hawkdun Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. We do believe the Maniototo with its traditions and magnificent landscape is a great place to visit. It was lovely to have you to stay and hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Can not recommend this luxury property highly enough. Stayed just the one night and regret not booking more. The accomodation was to the highest standard ,breakfast and wifi included in the tariff, and the host was one of the most obliging and pleasant I have encountered. Look forward to going back. Thankyou very much for a most pleasant stay. David and Jan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBruce18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed at Hawkdun Lodge as part of a group travelling the Otago Rail Trail. Had been advised that this was a Motel style accommodation. Hawkdun lodge gets 5/5 from us. A huge luxurious spa room ( looked like a movie set) and a common breakfast room, beautifully appointed. The rooms were spotless, well resourced and spacious. Underfloor heating in the bathroom was a treat! We were biking and appreciated the lock up bike facility - along with the bike repair bench that we did not need to use. All in all - you would have to be VERY picky not to enjoy a stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazzap54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to find this modern motel style facility while we were driving through Central Otago. Our studio room was immaculate with a most comfy super king bed. The hosts were very friendly, greeting us with a warm welcome upon arrival and took time to say good-bye when we departed. The indoor hot tub was great! Laundry facilities are available at no additional cost. A substantial breakfast of peaches, yogurt, cold cereal, milk, bread with spreads and orange juice was provided at no extra cost. We prefer to stay in facilities that are environmentally friendly and believe that this establishment has some very good strategies in place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We were very happy to see this place after a long day on the rail trail. Hawkdun is a very new motel complex, built to a very high standard. The very friendly owners told me they built it with the aim to match the best levels of international hospitality they had experienced personally and I am happy to say have achieved that. Our room (Eweburn) was spacious and elegant with many touches of luxury that I wouldn't have expected in a small rural town like Ranfurly.

The room alone would have easily been value for money, but the communal lounge (Hawkdun Room) is a real bonus with great cooking facilities and comfortable leather armchairs around the fire and TV. A great space to relax and meet fellow rail trail users.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranfurly
7.3 mi away
Naseby Lodge
Naseby Lodge
#1 of 1 in Naseby
63 reviews
24.1 mi away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 3 in Ophir
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ranfurly Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Ranfurly Motels
#5 of 6 in Ranfurly
4 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kokonga Lodge
Kokonga Lodge
#2 of 6 in Ranfurly
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkdun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkdun Lodge

Address: 1 Bute Street, Ranfurly 9332, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Ranfurly
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ranfurly
Price Range: $100 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hawkdun Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawkdun Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing