We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise :)”
Review of Murphy's Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boolteens
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little paradise :)”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The farmhouse is wonderful, the decore is superb, and Mary Murphy is a very charming lady :) She gave us tips on where to eat, what to see, and we appreciated it very much. The location is excellent for exploring the Dingle peninsula, and there is a wonderful beach only 15 minutes drive away. Would recommend! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraB92Zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    27
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williston Park, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in a family room (parents and 2 teenage sons) on our first night in Ireland. It was basic but very comfortable with a beautiful view. Mary was lovely and gave good tips on locating nearby townland. Breakfast was perfect and we were very happy with our stay. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, delighted you all enjoyed your stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
194 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Mary Murphy has been fantastic from the first time we made contact. She has made us feel welcome and looked after us extremely well. The first night we were on our own and started with tea or coffee and cakes on arrival. We had a great dinner and conversation and help on travel plans. The location is fantastic for the Dingle Peninsula or/and the Ring of Kerry. We did both while here. The location is quiet but as said there are two pubs down the lane. It is a working dairy farm so has atmosphere. It was the best decision we made to stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanMijas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Warm welcome from Mrs Murphy and family - lovely to stay on a working dairy farm - ideal setting as quiet but not remote - five minute walk to Boolteens - two bars to choose from. Walking up the lane from the farm are lovely views and quiet walks.
The farm is an ideal base for exploring the Dingle peninsula, Ring of Kerry etc - stunning scenery,,amazing coastline - roads not too busy despite being summer - just avoid Killarney town around 5pm!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful farmhouse for 4 days and loved every minute of it. It is a working farm with the whole family involved with the day to day operations. We loved the view to the pasture from our room. We could watch them pick up hay in the afternoon. If you took a short walk to the back of the house you could watch the cows get milked in the mornings. Her garden in front was really beautiful. The breakfast selection was the biggest we saw during our stay in Irelandand delicious. Mrs. Murphy was very helpful with suggestions on which tour operator to take for Ring of Kerry as well as providing an extra early breakfast so we could hit the road early for Dingle. If we come back to Ireland we would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LALAPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

first stop on our 13 day self tour of ireland. the rooms were comfortable, breakfast selection was more than adequate. the town was small and we could walk to the pubs and church/cemetary. mary and her daughter made us feel as though we were family, directions, things to see and overall kindness throughout our stay.people in town were extremely friendly and helpful. would definitely stay here when in ireland again. jack the dog is well and as welcoming as the rest of the "murphy's"

Room Tip: pay in euros, folks work hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

What a beautiful area! farmhouse lovely, loved my cuppa & muffin when I arrived, thank you.
I stayed in a single room which has a view out of the window over a flat roof & other room windows - disappointing. The ensuite shower room was truly miniscule ( I thought it was a cupboard door, and at first was wondering where on earth my ensuite was!!). .. you almost touch knees with the shower door when you sit on the loo!! The sink is in the bedroom.. that tells you how small the shower room is!! The room although comfortable and spotlessly clean could do with updating decor wise.
I was disappointed that there was no evening meal available as that was a reason for me booking (as a single traveller). I ate at the Anvil Bar about 4 mins walk away).
I feel it was a little over priced given the view out of the window and the tiny ensuite.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singleparentfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boolteens
5.8 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
124 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
22.8 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
164 reviews
10.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
22.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Farmhouse

Property: Murphy's Farmhouse
Address: Boolteens | Castlemaine, Boolteens, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Boolteens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boolteens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Murphy's Farmhouse is a sixth generation dairy farm nestling at the foot of the Slieve Mish Mountains on the Dingle Peninsula. The farmhouse is ideally located for touring the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula, as Castlemaine village is the gateway between both areas. This traditional and comfortable farmhouse is renowned for its friendly welcome and excellent cuisine providing an extensive range of breakfasts to choose from which will satisfy the most discerning of food lovers. You can look forward to refreshments on arrival. Murphys Farmhouse has 14 en-suite bedrooms with television, tea/coffee making facilities, electric blankets and king size beds. It is ideally located for organised tours. Transport is also available. Location: Murphy's Farmhouse is located 150 metres from Boolteens village where guests can enjoy the local entertainment and music in Murphy's Bar. Boolteens is located along the Dingle Peninsula road 1km from Castlemaine village. For the golfing enthusiast Murphy's Farmhouse is ideally located as it is within a 30 minute drive from the following world renowned golf courses, Killarney, Ballybunion, Barrow, and Dooks. Walking is another activity that the area is proud to offer, Murphy's Farmhouse is perfectly situated for the Kerry Way and the Dingle Way walking routes. For the visitor seeking a more leisurely holiday, Inch Beach - Blue Flag Awarded - provides over 3 miles of safe sandy beach. Kerry Airport - 7 miles. Shannon and Cork Airport - 2 hours drive. Tralee and Killarney provide train services - 20 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Murphy's Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Farmhouse Boolteens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing