We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Anvil Bar, Boolteens”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anvil Bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anvil Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Boolteens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trim, Ireland
1 review
“The Anvil Bar, Boolteens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in The Anvil on 29th March, 2014 for just the one night, but we would have loved to stay longer. We arrived quite late to The Anvil after a long and tiring trip, we were warmly greeted by Liz who showed us to our room. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. The room was also lovely and warm, Liz showed us how to regulate the heating. Even though we were late Liz managed to rustle up a lovely meal for us! The pub that night had quite a buzz going on, the clientele ranged in age from the young to the "more mature", the atmosphere was warm and friendly. In fact we managed to locate a friend in the area through a gentleman in the bar!!! We hope to go back during the Summer and stay a little longer. The Slieve Mish Mountains are the back drop to this lovely bar, and if you have ten minutes to spare you can drive to "Inch Beach" where you can have a lovely walk on a beautiful sandy beach in the midst of some of the most beautiful scenery Ireland has to offer!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imelda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    24
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
51
49
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic pub, good food and great hospitality, good beer and wine selection. Liz and Stephen were great publicans who were really jovial with a friendly atmosphere.......it made us Aussies feel really at home.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here in the winter . First of all we rang to book a room when. The manager was so unprofessional and quite rude on the phone. Clearly lacking any hospitality training. The room was absolutely freezing as was the breakfast room that we wore our coats and scarfs and we are ise to cold ourselves. The breakfast was also cold. My husband got a flu from the stay'. There was no atmosphere In the bar but the bar next door was very cosy and welcoming. We were so disappointed especially after reading other reviews. If we return we would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Manager at The Anvil Bar, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Naturally, we are disappointed that someone has left such a review. Actually, we don't believe it to be genuine. To start with, why would anyone continue the booking process over the phone with someone they find to be as rude as their review asserts? As far as the comments about the temperature, each of our rooms has its own, individual electric heating, CONTROLLED BY THE GUEST..... the weather has been very cold, and the room might have been cool when they first arrived, but the electric heat works in all rooms and all of our guests are shown where it is. Our dining room has been cool also, especially early in the morning as you might expect, over the last few weeks, but the breakfast always comes out hot. The bar can be quiet, at times, but after all, it is Winter. We are looking forward to a lovely Spring and Summer and we always have a lively pub when people start to get out and about. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Anvil for 3 nights during our visit from the USA while site seeing in Co. Kerry and we were not disappointed. We arrived late and Liz made us feel welcome. The room was very nice (it was the nicest B&B room we stayed in during our trip)! Breakfast was fine too. We found the Anvil & Castlemaine to be quaint and the perfect location as it was between Dingle & Killarney. It is an easy ride down to Dingle and a very easy to get over the Killarney. The food and beer and atmosphere in the pub is nice as well. I would recommend the Anvil to anyway touring that area of Kerry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed one night when travelling for work in Tralee. Staff were so welcoming, very friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and anything I requested was got for me immediately.
Free wifi in the room with all information and codes printed up to avail of the service. Great views of the mountains from my window and very peaceful.
Room was €40, great value and food traditional home made.
Definitely a home away from home and would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed overnight on the way to Dingle & Killarney etc.back in early july -Liz made us very welcome &and was very helpful with directions etc.The accomodation and meals were great and our stay was most enjoyable.My wife and i would definitely stay here again next time.
Paul &Gwen (Aust)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the family enterprise that is the Anvil Bar for Puck weekend. Liz and her entire family made us feel so welcome, they couldn't have been more warm and helpful. The Anvil has immaculately clean rooms and a bar that is full of craic. We had so much fun during our last night, that we skipped going out to Puck altogether! As it turns out, no matter how busy the bar is downstairs, you won't hear a peep of it from your top floor room. A real gem in the west.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lehane-Davny_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boolteens
0.8 mi away
Murphy's Farmhouse
Murphy's Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Boolteens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
10.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
10.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
6.7 mi away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Tom & Eileen's Farm
Tom & Eileen's Farm
#1 of 3 in Castlemaine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anvil Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anvil Bar

Property: The Anvil Bar
Address: Boolteens, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Boolteens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boolteens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Anvil Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing