We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep Far away as possible ! Expensive and tacky !!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anvil Bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anvil Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Boolteens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carcassonne, France
1 review
“Keep Far away as possible ! Expensive and tacky !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Me and my boyfriend decided to come here to have dinner when on holidays last week. The bar made who was in her 50's or thereabouts was darn right rude offered no help and food took so long to come our way ! Not only that but the place was filthy and in need of a very good clean along with the glasses there . The bathroom consisted of broken tiles and flowers were in food jars not the most appealing !!!. Food was expensive and not as great as expected. Service was unfriendly and VERY unhelpful. Drink also there is quite expensive we paid 5.60 for a wkd and the bar next door to it was only 5. I would advise anyone who wants clean friendly service to KEEP AWAY from this place .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus099, Public Relations Manager at The Anvil Bar, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
This review is a total fabrication! We had no French visitors in our establishment on or around the date stated. We have no broken tiles and put our flowers in vases. The "reviewer" rated the rooms with 1 bullet in spite of the fact that they did not mention our rooms in the "review". Nor did we have any French visitors staying in our B&B accommodation around that time. Review of our CCTV could not identify any issues with any patrons that would indicate that we were having any issues with anyone at that time. We don't know what would motivate someone to speak about our establishment in such terms, but hope that readers will appreciate that this review reflects the opposite of the vast majority of visitors that we have had over the years. We have many repeat visitors and look forward to meeting more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    23
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
51
47
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for 1 night over the bank holiday weekend.
We arrived in the late afternoon and despite Liz and Stephen being very busy preparing for a function, we received a very warm welcome and were shown to our beautiful rooms promptly.
The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Comfortable beds and GREAT showers.There's free WiFi too.
We had dinner in the pub that night as the restaurant was occupied with a large function, but Liz made sure we were well looked after and the food was very tasty. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the busy pub and despite live music playing til closing, it wasn't audible in the bedrooms at all and we had a very sound sleep in the comfortable beds.
The next morning, Liz, up on her feet again, prepared a delicious breakfast before sending us off on a beautiful day in County Kerry.
Great little family business, very well run by Liz and Stephen! Good value too. I'll be back next time I'm down in Kerry for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Many thanks to Liz and Stephen for all they did for us. My wife and I spent a week at The Anvil Bar in May 2013 and had a great time. The pub/hotel makes an ideal base for exploring the wonderful Dingle Peninsula, the Ring of Kerry and Killarney National Park. Liz made excellent suggestions for trips and in fact was just so friendly and hospitable in all respects.

There was no need to go out to a pub or restaurant in the evening because the fare and the friendliness at The Anvil are just great. I never tasted Guinness so good and the food was of very high quality with generous portions. The prices compared very favourably with the other restaurants we tried for lunches. Brilliant breakfast too and they are very flexible with content (and timing!).

The room was clean, modern and tastefully decorated and had TV and hot drink facilities. I also liked that there were ample spare sockets for charging phones etc. The bed was very comfortable and firm, which we like, and sleeping was never a problem. Very quiet. The bathroom was large and well-appointed with a good shower which had a stable and controllable temperature.

The locals were all just so friendly and if you can only visit or stay one night make it a Sunday night for the music and the craic.

We recommend The Anvil Bar without any reservation.

Room Tip: All 6 rooms are very similar and any would be good. We saw them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Anvil Bar Restaurant and Accommodation: If you are looking for a nice play to stay, i highly recommend this place, great food, really wonderful rooms (very posh and the most comfortable beds on our journey around Ireland) The owners are also really friendly and kind and make you feel really welcome. (and only 90euro for three people, a great place to try out 5stars). Near to Inch beach, which is great to visit. check them out at www.anvilbar.com, or email info@anvilbar.com

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris27828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful rooms, friendly helpful staff, ideal proximity to explore lovely west Kerry. And a great pub underneath. What more do you need. We were very pleased to be offered late breakfast. Of course the lateness was required only because of the lively and merry entertainment the night before.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KildareGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice and tidy rooms. Very helpful people. Located close to the road but noise wasn't issue. Friendly atmosphere. We had one of the tyres pothole damaged during our stay but owner Seamus offered help and took the wheel to the garage himself. When our baby got sick his wife helped with getting medicine. Thank you very much, we will never forget that! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixieFixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, North Dakota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

99% of this place is AWESOME. Great rooms, terrific bathroom, gorgeous bar, Seamus is awesome, super nice bartender lady. The next day's full Irish breakfast was everything we were expecting....good stuff. The only thing my party of five didn't love was the supper. Some nice choices on the menu, and we chose quite an assortment of meals, but the non-fish entrees weren't very flavorful. The fresh fish was quite good though. All in all, next time I go to Ireland, staying here will be a priority on my agenda. And did I say Seamus rocks??

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boolteens
0.8 mi away
Murphy's Farmhouse
Murphy's Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Boolteens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
10.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
10.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 8 in Castlegregory
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anvil Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anvil Bar

Property: The Anvil Bar
Address: Boolteens, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Boolteens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boolteens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Anvil Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing