We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Third Visit”
Review of El Nahual - CLOSED

El Nahual
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
447 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Our Third Visit”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

While we ate there twice in January of 2012, it appears that I failed to write a review. This trip, we went there for Valentines Day dinner. Number 1, we were surprised what a big day Valentines was in Tlaquepaque and then our waiter surprised us with a perfect command of the English language. I queried him about his accent and it turned out that he had worked in Tucson, AZ at a hotel where my better half stays on business when in Tucson. That night they were offering a choice of four different steaks and one salmon dish. We had the Arrachera steak and the salmon. Our meals have always been superb and the service the same.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricey, Don't Go If You Are Hungry!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on a couple of local recommendations, and we were seeking something slightly upscale with some ambiance.

No reservations were necessary on a Friday night at 7 pm, in fact, we were the only people there....

The place itself is pretty and does have decent ambiance, but once we were seated, it took the waiter almost 15 minutes to appear to even say hello and ask us for drink orders and present us with menus.

Once we placed our orders, it took at least 40 minutes until we got our food. I ordered a caesar salad and tortilla soup, both quite underwhelming. The soup was standard, average tortilla soup that I have had dozens of times all over Mexico. Salad dressing was heavy and lacked the flavors I am used to in a table-make dressing. My husband ordered duck with a cranberry sauce and his overall impression was "just okay,"

Our waiter was a bit cold at first, but seemed to warm up once he discovered we were not just tourists, but long-time residents of Mexico.

Overall, food was very average, nothing great, and pricy for what we got. We will not return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mexicobigcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious, relaxing meal in a lovely setting”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Four of us ate here and everything was delicious. I had the Chile en Nogado, which I loved. Drinks were good also, but the service was extremely slow. We arrived around 7pm. Very few tables were occupied, so perhaps all the staff arrives later. Our waitress seemed to be making the drinks as well as taking our orders. It's a good thing we were not in a hurry as we even waited a long time for her to bring the drinks. Salads, bread and main courses were all excellent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nic60760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited El Nahual on a quiet Thursday night in July, 2012 and, though surprised to find it virtually empty, had a great, ‘we’ll-be-back’ meal there, no small thanks to our excellent waiter, Abraham, who looked after us exceptionally well.

Being vegetarians, we were, as always, limited in our choices. But Abraham steered us toward the corn empanadas, the sopa Azteca and the zucchini flowers which we shared along with three house-specialty marguerites (made with a dash of Galliano). All three dishes were excellent and filling, though we might’ve preferred the zucchini flower dish to be a bit warmer (which could easily have been our fault as we ate it last). The drinks were difficult to limit to three.

The building alone is worth the visit. It’s a beautiful, meticulously decorated old mansion, I think, with superb ornate stone and tile walls, ridiculously gorgeous light fittings and other art. (Don’t know why they have the colour lights out on the terrace, though - they detract from the otherwise-classy ambiance, I think.)

Minor improvements would be slightly brighter interior lighting, especially if it could be localised to the tables, candles as standard on each table and maybe some better music. (We had two rotations of hits such as Smells Like Teen Spirit and Poker Face done as smooth jazz/lounge. Interesting and amusing in moderation but something more interesting and local might suit the mood better.)

We’ll definitely be back during our extended stay in Guadalajara. And we hope Abraham notices our Spanish improving.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Went for lunch, two of the meals came cold...we mentioned it and they were taken away but returned, still cold. Not warm, cold!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KootenayFosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Nahual also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing