We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay here when in Tlaquepaque”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must stay here when in Tlaquepaque”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my parents here a few times who now live in Mexico. Am reviewing it to let all know that there isn't a better place to stay. Staff is super friendly, owners are most accommodating and attentive to their guests. The rooms are decorated beautifully and can accommodate two persons or a family with children. Breakfast which is included is amazing with freshly squeezed orange juice and delicious fruits! The atmosphere is like paradise. Pool is large and perfect for an afternoon dip. The boutique hotel is nestled in the heart of Tlaquepaque just a short walking distance from all attractions, shopping and dining. If you're in this part of Guadalajara, definitely stay here!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Nataly N,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments :) You bring a great BIG smile to us when we hear such nice things! We hope to greet you again soon and sow you many more new things we are working on...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    100
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
156
260
29
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We regularly stay at Quinta Don Jose when passing through Guadalajara. We always feel safe and welcome here. Great setting, great staff, great margaritas! Nice complementary breakfast. Restaurant is good, too.

Room Tip: Quieter not facing the street. Prefer "on site" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We appreciate your continued preferance and we hope to make "QDJ" better and better everyday :). You will always have your "home away from home" here waiting!

Best regards,

Arturo, Estela and the entire "QDJ" staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I have always wanted to stay here, but I worked at a nearby spa and did not need a place to stay. It was worth the wait. Estella and Arturo manage this hotel very well and the service is top notch. The restaurant is great and the wait staff makes the experience more enjoyable.
Try the chef's tour, but make sure you book it in advance. The chef is seriously talented. I will definately be back to stay. Thank you again for a wonderful experience.

Dr. Perlman

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adjustmedoctorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Dr. Perlman,

I am so glad you stayed with us and thank you so much for your comments. You always have your home away from home here at "QDJ"!!!!

Take care,

Arturo, Estela and the entire "QDJ" staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here in one of their 2 bedroom suites that was just down the street from the Hotel.
All of the employees were very helpful, the included continental breakfast each morning was really good, with fresh baked goods, fruits and fresh juice. The pool area was very nice with shade trees, a nice pond with turtles and fish. The room was very clean and well kept. Would highly recommend this hotel. A one block walk to the shopping historical district..
The attached restaurant was absolutely fantastic, we ate there two nights, service was terrific along with the meals.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmike1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Bigmike3,

It was our pleasure having you here at "QDJ" and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant! We hope to see you again soon and show you many new improvements to come :)

Best regards,

Arturo and Estela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American girl in OZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband, four year old daughter and I stayed here for four nights at the end of March/early April. The property is charming, quiet and a nice retreat from the busy city life. We appreciated the free airport pick up and breakfast each morning. The hotel is a very easy walk to the heart of Tlaquepaque and all the happenings- great location, you can't go wrong with this hotel. There was a mix of families and couples staying at the property during our visit.

All of the staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The front desk assistants were able to arrange taxis and help us purchase our ETN bus tickets over the phone. We also had one of our best meals during our entire trip at their restaurant. Excellent food and service. We enjoyed relaxing outdoors at one of their tables while sipping on some limonada- very relaxing!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and think it's an especially great choice for your first visit to Guadalajara or if you are traveling with children.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HLODOLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Your words bring smiles to our faces! We know our staff is wonderful but it's always nice to hear it from our guests! Without them, we wouldn't be who we are today :) Thank you for the comments on our restaurant. The restaurant is a hard business but with exceptional ingredients and a wonderful chef, we have a special little place here in Tlaquepaque!

We hope to greet you again in the near future!

Arturo, Estela and the entire "QDJ" staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ventana, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was my 3rd trip to the hotel and I'll be back again next year. If you like small hotels with old world charm and friendly staff this place is for you. The rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican style with colorful tiles in the bathrooms. Full bar ( Charlie makes a mean margarita) and restaurant ( great portabella/asparagus appitizer). Continental breakfast included along with a one way trip to or from the airport if your stay is 3 nights or longer. Great shopping and restaurants just 2 short blocks away on Calle Indepencia.

Room Tip: I prefer poolside but the upstairs rooms are nice too. Room # 5 was located upstairs on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1953Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your continued preference! We'll be waiting for you next year :). We hope to have many improvements finished to show you next year. Everyone says hello and Charlie has a nice cold margarita waiting for you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I inquired well in advance before selecting Room 6 which proved to be quiet and private. On arrival at the Tlaquepaque bus terminal the centralized taxi ticket sales vendor inexplicably could not find the Quinta Don Jose in her lengthy handwritten book of Guadalajara area hotels. The queue behind me was growing but as I knew the fares were based on zones I purchased a taxi voucher for Tlaquepaque Centro. When handed our voucher and pre-printed hotel details our assigned taxi driver had no difficulty driving directly to Quinta Don Jose. The hotel front desk was always positive and helpful. There was definitely an older Gringo feel to the clientele and by extension to the hotel. But then it was easy to see why the hotel is such a favorite given its comforts and conveniences, on-site restaurant, pool area, adequate breakfasts, central location and one free airport transfer with a sufficient length of stay. For these reasons it would be difficult to see why anyone would need or wish to stay anywhere else in enjoyable Tlaquepaque.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestEndBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
We appreciate your nice comments and are happy that you chose to stay with us! We know there are many options here in Tlaquepaque and we strive to make our little place a special place to visit! We hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
23.6 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing